Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Need help downgrading bios Crosshair VIII 2103.

    Hi, so I've been potentially having problems with my bios (PPT won't go above 142W, Asus has been 'working' on it but for nearly 2 months... So I'm going to see if it is a bios issue by downgrading). However I've not had much success with downgrading. I've gone over numerous posts about downgrading. One method where you change the .CAP files to .ROM and flash through a shell but I had problems with that where only 1 file would show up on the UEFI USB when there were 8. Then I tried doing the flashback method after reformatting the USB drive, putting the renamed bios file on with nothing else and then shutting down the computer, inserting the USB into the rear bios USB port and pressing the flashback button for 3 seconds. However it just stays a solid green colour. So I'm not sure what to do at this point...

    I'm trying to downgrade from bios version 2103 to 1302.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    361

    The "CAP" part may or may not need to be added by you. It depends--that is, some system setups automatically add that part. Second, format your USB stick to default (it should match what it says in your manual if there is anything about it there).

    Also, there are two ways to do it from a USB stick. One is via the Bios, using the EZ update feature, under "Tools." The second is using the special Bios USB flashback port, if your motherboard has one.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 08-27-2020 at 11:52 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    725

    The USB stick needs to be formatted FAT32 ideally less than 8gb stick.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1038568

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I've already formatted the USB to FAT32 and tried the default format type already. Also the bios EZ flash method doesn't work for downgrading. However as far as I know the USB Flashback method does work for downgrading. The file type of the bios is also renamed correctly and is a .CAP file.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    725

    Quote Originally Posted by Scottx125 View Post
    I've already formatted the USB to FAT32 and tried the default format type already. Also the bios EZ flash method doesn't work for downgrading. However as far as I know the USB Flashback method does work for downgrading. The file type of the bios is also renamed correctly and is a .CAP file.
    Well flashback does work on my motherboard, a CH8 wifi to downgrade or upgrade.
    Make sure you have downloaded the right file for your motherboard in the first place.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-28-2020 at 01:14 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Well flashback does work on my motherboard, a CH8 wifi to downgrade or upgrade.
    Make sure you have downloaded the right file for your motherboard in the first place.
    Yep I've double checked. It definitely is the correct bios for my motherboard. I have the non-wifi version. Is it possible some part of the bios is corrupt causing these issues? Including my CPU PPT issues?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    725

    Quote Originally Posted by Scottx125 View Post
    Yep I've double checked. It definitely is the correct bios for my motherboard. I have the non-wifi version. Is it possible some part of the bios is corrupt causing these issues? Including my CPU PPT issues?
    Try using WinRAR to unpack the files.

    BIOS flashback is able to flash even corrupted BIOS. (I know this from experience many years ago when I had power out during BIOS flash)
    The next step (guessing here) would be to remove CPU and ram and then flashback BIOS.

    However, you might want to get ticket support or the moderators here to confirm your options first. You have reached the limits of my knowledge about this specific subject.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 08-28-2020 at 09:24 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I had the same issue - my solution was to update bios to 2206 and then flashback to 1302. Worked for me! With the exception of 1302 - I have to either set my infinity clock to 1600mz or less to boot or reduce ram to 3200 - my ram is NEO 3600 16 G Skill. If infinity fabric is left on auto it also wont boot FYI. Just poor bios updates - strange how they got it right in 1302 and managed to screwed it up in previous and subsequent!
    Last edited by rapidfire8; 08-28-2020 at 04:34 AM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Ok, something really weird happened. So I tried a few more times and nothing worked. Turned on my computer and for some reason the PPT power setting started working again 0.o... But now quick boot if enabled causes my CPU to go into permanent hibernation mode where it locks the voltage to 0.95v and all core under load is only 500mhz... Wtf.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by rapidfire8 View Post
    I had the same issue - my solution was to update bios to 2206 and then flashback to 1302. Worked for me! With the exception of 1302 - I have to either set my infinity clock to 1600mz or less to boot or reduce ram to 3200 - my ram is NEO 3600 16 G Skill. If infinity fabric is left on auto it also wont boot FYI. Just poor bios updates - strange how they got it right in 1302 and managed to screwed it up in previous and subsequent!
    I think I've got my current bios sort-of working again. Gonna wait till they release a new decent bios and then just upgrade to that.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •