Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Problems with Armoury Crate after BIOS Update

    Hi Folks,

    This is my first posting here at the Asus ROG forums. I have a Asus ROG-STRIX-Z390-H-GAMING Motherboard with the latest BIOS 2808 installed. Prior to this I had the Armoury Crate software installed on my iBuyPower PC and it mostly worked. Since the BIOS update I get this error in the Armoury Crate software saying, "Prerequisite update - Please connect to the Internet, and check update in Update Center to get the prerequisite update to enable this function." I'm connected to the Internet, I go to the Update Center, there's nothing to update. The software cannot see the AURA device any longer. I uninstalled the software and reinstalled it and it still doesn't work. As a result I cannot control the AURA Effects. Any ideas on why this isn't working properly? Thanks in advance for any and all help provided.

    Roger

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    368

    That kind of thing is pretty typical in my experience, and that of lots of others who post here. As someone wise here has written, the less Asus "bloatware" you install and run, the better off you are. I have taken that advice to heart and not looked back--and that in mind, I have reinstalled Windows (via "Reset" in Windows) which got rid of every last trace of it. Honestly, I have never been happier. I do run Tweak II though, but have rarely had trouble with it. As for fan control, your fans can be controlled via the Bios. As for RGB lighting and digital displays and such, you can simply no longer pay the slightest attention to any of it--and as a consequence you no longer have to pull your hair out or waste your time.

    Hopefully this helps. It is the ultimate solution.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    That kind of thing is pretty typical in my experience, and that of lots of others who post here. As someone wise here has written, the less Asus "bloatware" you install and run, the better off you are. I have taken that advice to heart and not looked back--and that in mind, I have reinstalled Windows (via "Reset" in Windows) which got rid of every last trace of it. Honestly, I have never been happier. I do run Tweak II though, but have rarely had trouble with it. As for fan control, your fans can be controlled via the Bios. As for RGB lighting and digital displays and such, you can simply no longer pay the slightest attention to any of it--and as a consequence you no longer have to pull your hair out or waste your time.

    Hopefully this helps. It is the ultimate solution.
    Hi Super Gnome. Thanks so much for the fast reply, information and suggestions. I'll definitely look to get rid of all the Asus software when I reinstall Windows 10. You mentioned a program called Tweak II. Could you please let me know where I can get this from? Thanks again.

    Roger

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    368

    Quote Originally Posted by FriendOfJah View Post
    . You mentioned a program called Tweak II. Could you please let me know where I can get this from? Thanks again.

    Roger
    Hey Roger,

    Glad to be of assistance. As for Tweak II, it is Asus software you can use to tweak your curves, etc, if you have an Asus GPU (or two). If you don't have any there is no need at all for it.

    If you do have an Asus GPU it is fine to use. Otherwise you ought to go with your GPU maker's software.

    Here is a link: https://www.asus.com/supportonly/GPU...Desk_Download/

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    Hey Roger,

    Glad to be of assistance. As for Tweak II, it is Asus software you can use to tweak your curves, etc, if you have an Asus GPU (or two). If you don't have any there is no need at all for it.

    If you do have an Asus GPU it is fine to use. Otherwise you ought to go with your GPU maker's software.

    Here is a link: https://www.asus.com/supportonly/GPU...Desk_Download/
    Thanks so much for the reply. Yes, I have an Asus GEForce RTX 2060 Super GPU. I'll definitely check this out.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    HELP - I CANNOT POST ANY NEW THREADS!

    i keep getting this error message:

    Access Denied
    timestamp: 2020-09-03 16:39:46
    event ID: 168175646167713249323516421062592687016
    client IP address: 71.228.89.116
    URL: https://rog.asus.com/forum/newthread...stthread&f=303
    Please take a screenshot and contact your administrator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •