Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Using the RTX 3070 with the G20CB (180 W + 230 W Power adapter)

    Hey everyone! Thinking of upgrading from my GTX 1080 to the RTX 3070 after almost 4 years. I've read so far that the 3070's TDP is 220W, and I was wondering if you guys also think it's possible with the 230W power adapter of the G20CB.

    I've been reading this helpful thread for months now, and I've been heavily inspired to follow in their G20 upgrade footsteps with the CPU and GPU.

    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by coldsilver_2020; 09-11-2020 at 08:13 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 3080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerASUS ROG Strix LC II 360 AIO (3x LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplySeasonic - PRIME TX-1000 (80+ Titanium) - New version that doesn't trip from transient spikes
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterRAXE500 — Nighthawk AX12 12-Stream AXE11000 Tri-Band Wi-Fi 6E Router
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 10 LIAN LI UNI FAN SL INFINITY 120 (Includes AIO fans)
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    58
    Posts
    425

    If you want the power supply to last then the quick answer is no. If the power supply had 70 more watts then there would be no issue.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by coldsilver_2020 View Post
    Hey everyone! Thinking of upgrading from my GTX 1080 to the RTX 3070 after almost 4 years. I've read so far that the 3070's TDP is 220W, and I was wondering if you guys also think it's possible with the 230W power adapter of the G20CB.

    I've been reading this helpful thread for months now, and I've been heavily inspired to follow in their G20 upgrade footsteps with the CPU and GPU.

    Thanks in advance!
    Hi, I'm in the same situation but with a GTX980.
    The RTX 3070 seems very attractive but I'm afraid this will not compatible on a G20CB (180 W + 230 W Power adapter).
    I hope someone will confirm that is possible.

    In parallel, I'm studying to move my config in an ATX box.
    I realized the Mobo has a very "special" format then cannot be fixed on it. Also, it is not compatible with an ordinary PSU..
    The "less cost" solution is to buy a new mobo, new DDR (yes, the G20 are using sodimm...), new ATX box, new PSU and just keep the cpu and ssd/hdd...
    In fact, I just have to buy a new complet PC if I want to play with this RTX 3070.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by Drizztorbber View Post
    Hi, I'm in the same situation but with a GTX980.
    The RTX 3070 seems very attractive but I'm afraid this will not compatible on a G20CB (180 W + 230 W Power adapter).
    I hope someone will confirm that is possible.

    In parallel, I'm studying to move my config in an ATX box.
    I realized the Mobo has a very "special" format then cannot be fixed on it. Also, it is not compatible with an ordinary PSU..
    The "less cost" solution is to buy a new mobo, new DDR (yes, the G20 are using sodimm...), new ATX box, new PSU and just keep the cpu and ssd/hdd...
    In fact, I just have to buy a new complet PC if I want to play with this RTX 3070.
    hi, not necesairly. You just need to get better osu for example 330w dell one and make sure you will choose card which will fit into case, by far i found 2 of them 3070fe and gigabyte 3070 eagle/3070 eagle oc. Those 2 with better supply will work no problem.Â*

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Just throwing this out there but the G20 can run the GTX1080 and some of the power consumption comparisons I've been looking at put the RTX cards as being more efficient with power consumption.

    https://www.anandtech.com/show/13762...-6gb-review/14

    The article above shows the RTX 2060 and 2070 using a lower power consumption than the GTX1060.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array XeonInside PC Specs
    XeonInside PC Specs
    MotherboardH170-P/G20CB/DP-MB rev 1.06
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)32G DDR4@2666MHz CL16
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3070 TURBO

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    It's possible! I managed to get my hands on a 3070 turbo and with a extionsion 8pin cable it works! However with the stock 230w birck it's only like 95% stable under full load and I swaped it for a 280w brick it now runs very stable.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Yeah the 280w power brick is definitely a must and also download throttlestop and msi afterburner to regulate your TDP to make sure it doesnt have any random shutdowns under full load. It takes a bit of trial and error but you can even OC with it. I have a 2080TI and a 9900k in a G21 with two 280w power bricks and it just requires some tinkering to get both OC and TDP to make the system stable at full load.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Where do you get a 280W power brick? Is this from Asus and do you guys have a link and/or part number? Thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •