Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Lightbulb GL502VMK 120hz display?

    ***GPU dead? see update further below***

    the factory-built 60hz LP156WF6-SPB6 IPS display of my GL502VMK-FY292 just cracked, so until i get a new one with rtx30 next year, i need to replace the display.
    looking at ipc-computer/sparepartworld, they actually list two 120hz displays for the GL502VM series, but without any exact model numbers:
    https://www.ipc-computer.eu/asus/not...y-43938329/nup
    https://www.ipc-computer.de/asus/not...splay-34384367

    considering they have no "IPS" in their names, while some other displays they offer do, these seem to be TN panels.
    upgrading to a 120hz display certainly would be preferable, but if the display is a much worse (in terms of color accuracy, contrast etc.) TN one instead of the original IPS one, i'd probably stick to the original one.


    so, has anyone upgraded the 60hz IPS FHD display of a GL502VM to a 120hz one, and are there any compatible 120hz IPS displays that would fit into the GL502VMK, best with GSYNC as well?

    I found these:
    https://www.panelook.com/B156HAN04.3...iew_32205.html
    https://www.panelook.com/B156HAN04.5...iew_33006.html

    these seem to be no IPS panels, but still good specs otherwise:
    https://www.panelook.com/N156HCE-GA2...iew_30978.html
    https://www.panelook.com/N156HHE-GA1...iew_33306.html

    so, which one shall i go for? any confirmed successes/fails with one of these, or confirmed successes with other 120hz displays?

    thanks!

    UPDATE:
    seems like not only the display cracked, but also some more serious damage happened...
    after some troubleshooting like BIOS reset, boot rebuild etc. since an external display remained black as well and windows wouldnt launch, i managed to get the external display to work again, and even to launch windows (10 enterprise) again. during the login screen it constantly froze, though, so i booted in safe mode, uninstalled the display and gpu drivers, and was able to boot in normal mode again without freezing (it actually only was visual freezing since i could remotely connect to the laptop and operate it from another one).

    now what really is weird... automatic gpu driver installation succeeded and after a reboot i was able to launch windows again and the gpu seemed to work (msi afterburner showed clocks, usage, temps etc.); was even able to game a bit for stress testing. but after installation of the most recent nvidia driver the new internal display remains black, and even the external one again is black.

    so... gpu is ok while it is using the old automatically installed drivers, but it has issues with newer nvidia drivers. internal display doesnt work at all, backlights are off constantly. external display works with software mode or automatically installed gpu drivers, but not with any newer manually installed ones.

    my suspiction: either the internal display cable, or its connector on the motherboard, or a capacitor in-between, or the gpu itself (gtx1060) is faulty.
    i read in this forum that the gl502vm series have soldered gpus, so replacing it is no option?

    any help?
    thanks
    Last edited by necrophyte; 10-07-2020 at 03:53 AM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    95

    Quote Originally Posted by necrophyte View Post
    the factory-built 60hz LP156WF6-SPB6 IPS display of my GL502VMK-FY292 just cracked, so until i get a new one with rtx30 next year, i need to replace the display.
    looking at ipc-computer/sparepartworld, they actually list two 120hz displays for the GL502VM series, but without any exact model numbers:
    https://www.ipc-computer.eu/asus/not...y-43938329/nup
    https://www.ipc-computer.de/asus/not...splay-34384367

    considering they have no "IPS" in their names, while some other displays they offer do, these seem to be TN panels.
    upgrading to a 120hz display certainly would be preferable, but if the display is a much worse (in terms of color accuracy, contrast etc.) TN one instead of the original IPS one, i'd probably stick to the original one.


    so, has anyone upgraded the 60hz IPS FHD display of a GL502VM to a 120hz one, and are there any compatible 120hz IPS displays that would fit into the GL502VMK, best with GSYNC as well?

    I found these:
    https://www.panelook.com/B156HAN04.3...iew_32205.html
    https://www.panelook.com/B156HAN04.5...iew_33006.html

    these seem to be no IPS panels, but still good specs otherwise:
    https://www.panelook.com/N156HCE-GA2...iew_30978.html
    https://www.panelook.com/N156HHE-GA1...iew_33306.html

    so, which one shall i go for? any confirmed successes/fails with one of these, or confirmed successes with other 120hz displays?

    thanks!
    Mate, sounds like you're venturing in undiscovered territory lol Best of luck if you do have any luck on this let us all know.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    updated OP with new situation

    @admin: would be nice if you could update the title accordingly (add "defective gpu?"), as i cannot edit anything in advanced mode. thank you!
    Last edited by necrophyte; 10-07-2020 at 03:58 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by KorosuKivy View Post
    Mate, sounds like you're venturing in undiscovered territory lol Best of luck if you do have any luck on this let us all know.
    luckily, only the backlight controller was defective, got it repaired, so now everything is fine!

    took the N156HHE-GA1display: https://www.panelook.com/N156HHE-GA1...iew_33306.html

    works great, 120hz enabled, only missing feature is G-SYNC. it doesnt even get detected in nvidia control panel.
    did a complete cleanup of monitor & gpu drivers using DDU, but G-SYNC still remains undetected (456.71).

    since G-SYNC worked without issues before, and this display supports G-SYNC in other notebooks, seems to be a whitelist issue maybe?

    any ideas how to get G-SYNC again?
    thanks

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •