cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maximus Hero X (Wi-Fi) optional Win 10 drivers suggested

Saltgrass
Level 13
I am not really an expert of knowing exactly what drivers should be used with what systems but win 10 Optional Updates which seem to related to the Intel Series 200 chipset while I have an 8th generation processor and Series 300 chipset, look a little strange..

Anyone know if this is reasonable or has Intel having some type of problem. Is this a situation where chipsets may have commonalities with prior chipsets and this is one of those?

Thanks for reading.

Maximus Z790 Hero,
Intel i9-13900k
Intel BE200
6 REPLIES 6

howxcore
Level 10
those are generally older than the ones that are provided in this forum which are the latest.

howxcore wrote:
those are generally older than the ones that are provided in this forum which are the latest.

I think I will wait to see what happens. I had previously looked up the Xeon driver and it may be some type of branding update for Intel. But the other ones, may be OK but I have the latest drives from this site so why are other ones being offered.

I think tomorrow I will look again for the chipset drivers on this system and install them myself if they are new. Then I will be able to tell if the optional ones go away, the drivers offered may be normal..

Thanks for the response..
Maximus Z790 Hero,
Intel i9-13900k
Intel BE200

Saltgrass
Level 13
Just in case someone else notices this, today I install the April 2020 chipset drivers from the ASUS download site. The driver versions of the devices mentioned stayed at a 1968 date. The optional updates continued to show in Windows Update..

I read a Microsoft article which explained some OEMs will install 200 series chipset drivers on 300 series chipsets for compatibility or stability issues, which basically said it was OK to do that.