Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    G712LW, i7-10750H RAM run at 2933mhz

    Hello why in last bios update 310 my ram memory is not on 3200mhz and stay ot 2933mhz, before buy laptop i read in asus web 3200mhz will be available in bios update july but thats not true ? My laptop its G712LW model.. pls help.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    What's your bios number?

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by danielDex View Post
    What's your bios number?
    He said 310 in the first line - the latest one, from July. Welcome to the Strix SCAR III, where ASUS advertises 3200 MHz on the website, but not what you actually get. Multiple users have brought this to their attention, but so far no fix. And if you wanna upgrade RAM, make sure it's compatible. I bought RAM that requires 1.35v, and now ASUS has a little caveat on the SCAR III page that says it's only compatible with 1.2. There's not a lot of info about compatible upgrades out there, so do your research.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Yes i take hyperx 3200mhz with xmp automatically clock on 3200mhz but work only on 2933 and this ram its 1.2v working perfectly but... Asus need to fix that..

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by ivoccaa View Post
    Yes i take hyperx 3200mhz with xmp automatically clock on 3200mhz but work only on 2933 and this ram its 1.2v working perfectly but... Asus need to fix that..
    That's good to know, I had looked into the HyperX instead of the Ballistix, went with the Ballistix cuz of the timings.

    The page for the Strix SCAR III advertises its ease upgradability, but it turns out that it's very limited in what you can actually upgrade it with. Adding SSDs are giving people issues, and finding larger 3200 MHz RAM is a shot in the dark, and with restocking fees, it's very upsetting and displeasing to go through these experiences.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    So the part #/model # for the stock ram that comes with my G732LWS is 8ATF1G64HZ-3G2J1. It's made by Micron Technology. I'm trying to find a 16GB equivalent, but it's been hard to determine what the equivalent is. There's many 8ATF1G64HZ-XXXXX part #s. So far, in talking with mhdandb, he's pointed out that the -3G2xx is CL22, -2G3xx is CL17, and -2G6XX which is CL19.

    I believe the corresponding 16 GB sticks are MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2XX, for example MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2E1. But notice in the 3G2XX part the 8GB is J1 and the 16 is E1. I'm not sure if that makes a difference in compatibility.

    Futhermore, when you look at prices, you'll find that the MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2E1 is retailing for around $160 PER STICK. I have yet to find a website that sells it a lower price for more than 1 stick, example https://www.arrow.com/en/products/mt...ron-technology

    However, on Amazon, I've found https://www.amazon.com/1x16GB-Micron.../dp/B079TYTDYF for $60. Again, notice that it's -2G3B1. The CL is 17 on these.

    The most important question I have, if anyone can help me in my research (I'm not technical enough to know how to read the RAM spec sheets to see if they're similar in compatibility), is can I use that $60 stick? I'd obviously like to save money where possible. Second, anyone know why the -3G2E1 is so expensive, especially with higher CL?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    I need to stop smoking so much. I am sorry, I didn't notice at first that you said the i7-10750H. From my research on the 10th gen i7s, the 10750 runs only up to 2933MHz. You would need the model with the i7-10875H to achieve 3200MHz.

    Also, my posts about the RAM may not be relevant to your laptop model. Mine is a G732LWS, different line than yours.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    106

    Quote Originally Posted by craig_cabbage View Post
    So the part #/model # for the stock ram that comes with my G732LWS is 8ATF1G64HZ-3G2J1. It's made by Micron Technology. I'm trying to find a 16GB equivalent, but it's been hard to determine what the equivalent is. There's many 8ATF1G64HZ-XXXXX part #s. So far, in talking with mhdandb, he's pointed out that the -3G2xx is CL22, -2G3xx is CL17, and -2G6XX which is CL19.

    I believe the corresponding 16 GB sticks are MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2XX, for example MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2E1. But notice in the 3G2XX part the 8GB is J1 and the 16 is E1. I'm not sure if that makes a difference in compatibility.

    Futhermore, when you look at prices, you'll find that the MTA16ATF2G64HZ-3G2E1 is retailing for around $160 PER STICK. I have yet to find a website that sells it a lower price for more than 1 stick, example https://www.arrow.com/en/products/mt...ron-technology

    However, on Amazon, I've found https://www.amazon.com/1x16GB-Micron.../dp/B079TYTDYF for $60. Again, notice that it's -2G3B1. The CL is 17 on these.

    The most important question I have, if anyone can help me in my research (I'm not technical enough to know how to read the RAM spec sheets to see if they're similar in compatibility), is can I use that $60 stick? I'd obviously like to save money where possible. Second, anyone know why the -3G2E1 is so expensive, especially with higher CL?
    The amazon ram is DDR4 2400 clock speed to the arrow.com DDR4 3200 you should use the same memory modules when possible to prevent hardware conflicts (this also answers your question on pricing difference)
    the stock system memory you have should be a 3200 ddr4 16GB stick from micron technology use CPU-Z to get correct information on your "currently" installed ram.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by KorosuKivy View Post
    The amazon ram is DDR4 2400 clock speed to the arrow.com DDR4 3200 you should use the same memory modules when possible to prevent hardware conflicts (this also answers your question on pricing difference)
    the stock system memory you have should be a 3200 ddr4 16GB stick from micron technology use CPU-Z to get correct information on your "currently" installed ram.
    Ah, I always miss something, should've clearly seen that it was 2400MHz. I'm a moron.

    And mine came with 2x8GB - the 8ATF1G64HZ-3G2J1 I referenced in my post.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Lightbulb Best RAM option for 2933

    so guys to summarize what do you guys think its the best upgrade?
    Also i am looking into SSDs and was thinking of the Samsung 970 EVO Plus

    any advice?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •