Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Vulcan on Consoles ?

    I noticed that not alot of these Vulcan threads are being answered but i thought id give it a shot. Here is my question. Is there any know way of using my Vulcan's on my ps3? i already use them for getting sound but i want to use the mic for chat too. Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,403

    My understanding is that the PS3 does not have a microphone jack, correct? In that case I think you'd need some sort of USB adapter and you'd probably have to use one that is sold as a PS3 accessory. Most USB adapters probably wouldn't be supported.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    firsts things first, thanks for the reply it made me happy to see that we have an active forum here.
    I looked up the usb stuff available and found something that just might do the trick. I watched a video on yuotube(im not sure if its ok to post here) where a guy uses a usb adaptor that has 1 x line-in/mic and 1 x line-out port on it. He sows that the ps3 DOES show the usb device in the settings. I cant say if it realy does work but its worth trying. I found one for a good price and have ordered it. Once i try it out ill post back here to share with all of you. Fingers crossed!!!! If this does work it will be EPIC!!! ROG on PS3!!!

    Again, thanks for the uber advice!

  4. #4
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    294
    Posts
    7,403

    Yes you can post Youtube links. Mainly we just don't want advertising or illegal activities.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  5. #5
    Helium Chilled Array _ PC Specs
    _ PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G46VW
    MotherboardRampage IV Gene
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (CMD32GX3M4A2133C9)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 780 Ti
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX III
    MonitorASUS VG248QE with GSync mod
    Storage #1Plextor PX-M2 SSD 120GB
    Storage #2G.Skill Phoenix Blade 480GB PCIe SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 240M
    CaseCooler Master HAF-X
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750
    Keyboard Corsair K90
    Mouse ROG Gladius
    Headset ROG Orion
    OS Windows 8.1 Update 1
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC66U
    _'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    119
    Posts
    5,750

    The ThunderFX coming soon will enable you to do exactly this: Vulcan on PS3/Xbox.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    thanks for the info on ThunderFX, ill look that up now. I used the stuff in the video and it works!(Cant give link coz my broswer wont open youtube now, ill link it as soon as i fix it) but the only downer is that the mic is very VERY low and people have trouble hearing me over game-sounds. It need a booster or something. something ill be looking into. But it will do for now coz i love how the game sounds on this beast of a headset.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Could someone from Asus please tell us if the ThunderFX will be released on its own. Coz i read that it will be bundled with a Mobo. Please let us know if will be getting it solo. Thanks in advance

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Deletive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    well, most headsets work with a Astro mixamp, but those are quite costly

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •