Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    ASUS Z-390E unable to boot with 3600MHz memory

    Having some issues posting with 32GB 3600MHz ram and tried the following below to no avail:

    - Tried XMP I and II using the respective settings on both with no success.
    - Set the ram overclock to manual and input the timings no change.
    - Updated to the latest bios and turned the CPU OC off and back on.
    - Tried changing the voltage to 1.4 for the DRAM.
    - Changed overclock to auto and dram frequency to auto this just booted the ram to 2400MHz
    - Changed dram frequency back to 3600MHz and doesn't post and goes through the reboot loop.
    - Tried loading one stick at a time in each slot and was only able to lead 1 stick of 16GB using 3600MHz on XMP II before blue screening in Windows, XMP I did not post. Added another stick using XMP II and again would not post.

    Hardware specs: i7-9700K / ASUS Z-390E HyperX Predator Black 32GB kit 3600MHz DDR4 CL17 DIMM XMP Desktop PC Memory (HX436C17PB3K2/32) (on the QVL list for this motherboard) Samung SSD EVO 850

    It seems the max dram frequency speed I can set it to without blowing up is 3200MHz. Is there a setting that needs to be set to run ram over 3200MHz?

    Currently out of options with things to try, any suggestions or a guide from someone that has the same CPU/board and ram speed that has this working would be appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.36v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-34 1.5v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    194

    Look into adjusting VCCIO/VCCSA voltages, max safe for daily use is around 1.3v (try not to exceed). This board also prefers 4 sticks vs 2, not sure what your memory configuration is.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array dfaovred PC Specs
    dfaovred PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rog Strix Z390-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)32GB HyperX Predator RGB DDR4 3200MHz
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Rog Strix 2070 Super OC
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 2TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X52
    CaseNZXT H440
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite RGB
    Mouse Logitech G403
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    Mouse Pad HyperX
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500
    OS Windows 10 (2004)
    dfaovred's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    77
    Posts
    124

    What memory slots on the board are you using, you should be using slot 2 and then slot 4.

    Slots - DIMM_B2 and DIMM_A2

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by dfaovred View Post
    What memory slots on the board are you using, you should be using slot 2 and then slot 4.

    Slots - DIMM_B2 and DIMM_A2
    Both are in the A2 and B2 slots.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Enderwiggin03 View Post
    Look into adjusting VCCIO/VCCSA voltages, max safe for daily use is around 1.3v (try not to exceed). This board also prefers 4 sticks vs 2, not sure what your memory configuration is.
    Tried -
    VCCIO/VCCSA to 1.25 and 1.3
    CPU OC to 5.0 across all cores
    CPU voltage to 1.35
    DRAM voltage to 1.4
    DRAM frequency to 3600MHz

    Still won't post using 3600MHz.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.36v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-34 1.5v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    194

    Might be the IMC on the CPU. You still haven't said if you're running 2 sticks or 4 sticks. The Z390 series from Asus has T-Topography which is better suited for 4 sticks. Also, you might have to do manual timings etc if that kit isn't on the QVL. I have a 4266mhz CL 19 setup (2 kits of 2x8GB) and the best I can do is 4000mhz at CL 16-17-17-35 @ 1.45v, my VCCIO/VCCSA reported is 1.264v/1.280v, same board you have with the latest bios.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by Enderwiggin03 View Post
    Might be the IMC on the CPU. You still haven't said if you're running 2 sticks or 4 sticks. The Z390 series from Asus has T-Topography which is better suited for 4 sticks. Also, you might have to do manual timings etc if that kit isn't on the QVL. I have a 4266mhz CL 19 setup (2 kits of 2x8GB) and the best I can do is 4000mhz at CL 16-17-17-35 @ 1.45v, my VCCIO/VCCSA reported is 1.264v/1.280v, same board you have with the latest bios.
    2 sticks of 16gb ram are in the A2 and B2 slots per the manual specifications that I mentioned previously to another reply in the thread.

    The ram I have tried is on the QVL list (as 2 sticks of 16gb). I have tried to use manual timings to the original timings on the ram kit, but it appears that any dram frequency above 3200MHz will result in a post failure.

    Which ram are you using? And CPU?

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    Enderwiggin03 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-E Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900k @ 5.1Ghz on all 8 cores 1.36v
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR @ 4000Mhz CL16-17-17-34 1.5v
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 2070 XC Ultra
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster X AE-5
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo 500GB m.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 1TB SATA
    CPU CoolerEVGA CLC280 with 4x NF-A14 iPPC-3000 PWM (push/pull)fans
    CaseFractal Design R6
    Power SupplyEVGA G3 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Mouse Pad Logitech Poweplay
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    194

    Quote Originally Posted by ridethewhirlwinds View Post
    2 sticks of 16gb ram are in the A2 and B2 slots per the manual specifications that I mentioned previously to another reply in the thread.

    The ram I have tried is on the QVL list (as 2 sticks of 16gb). I have tried to use manual timings to the original timings on the ram kit, but it appears that any dram frequency above 3200MHz will result in a post failure.

    Which ram are you using? And CPU?
    G.Skill F4-4266C19D-16GTZR, 2 kits, CPU is an i9 9900k

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •