Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    62
    Posts
    78

    BIOS 2402 BETA Released

    FWIW - The descriptions for the C8 Hero and Hero WIFI are slightly different.

    Version 2402 Beta Version
    2020/11/04 20.13 MBytes
    ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO BIOS 2402
    1. Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.1.0.0 Patch C


    Version 2402 Beta Version
    2020/11/04 20.13 MBytes
    ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI) BIOS 2402
    "1. Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.1.0.0 Patch C
    2. Improve system stability
    3. Improve DRAM compatibility

  2. #12
    ROG Junior Member Array danelite PC Specs
    danelite PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI) x570
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)CMT32GX4M4Z3200C16
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080 Ti SC2
    MonitorLG 27GL850-B
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 Force Series Gen4 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hy​dro X Seri​es
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 500D RGB SE
    Power SupplyCorsair HXi 1000 W 80+ Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB PLATINUM
    Mouse Corsair DARK CORE RGB PRO SE
    OS windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    as for 4 DIMMS setup I'm on BIOS 2311 seem ok after resetting windows its just edge is not right. have not tried any games yet. all stock settings just D.O.C.P. is all

    i found that its edge for the most part.

    Error code: STATUS_ACCESS_VIOLATION

    Edge Version: 86.0.622.63 and 86.0.622.68
    windows 10 Version: 20H2
    OS build: 19042.610
    Last edited by danelite; 11-12-2020 at 01:52 AM.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array DrSlump76 PC Specs
    DrSlump76 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG CROSSHAIR VIII IMPACT
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M2C3466C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 GAMING OC
    MonitorLG 27UL500
    Storage #1Corsair Force MP600
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 860 EVO
    CPU CoolerWraith Prism
    CaseInWin A1+
    Power SupplyInWin 650W 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair A70
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Windows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Random restarts with bios 2311 and 2402

    Good morning,
    as declared in the message object i'm having problems with the latest two bios relased from asus.
    My motherboard the ROG Crosshair VIII Impact, with 32GB Corsair memories and a Ryzen 3800X CPU.
    The only way to make my config with these two bios stable is to leave ram configuration at default.
    The best feature of the latest bios is the pbo enanche function that brings the 3800x on par with Intel 9700K processor (single thread).
    With other bios my sistem is rock solid with the following settings, please give it a look:

    https://valid.x86.fr/4cwj7h

    Any suggestions?

    Thankyou very much

  4. #14
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    more 4 dimm woes

    Also seeing random reboots/Event 41's with 4 DIMM on CH VIII running 2402. 3900X, config is 4x16 Trident Neo Z 3600 CL16's B Die. I have just recently upgraded from 2x16 to 4x16. Running 2 Dimms on 2204/2206 was rock solid. I don't really OC much as I do mostly content related work, but previously ( with the 2x16 dimms) was able to run a 5-way optimized OC of 13% without any issues using standard DCOP settngs. Now I can't OC at all with the 5 way tool with 4 dimms, it won't post afterwards. Additionally, before all this I ran 4x8 RipJaws 3200 CL14's and they were rock solid as well.

    Now, with any of of the 2xxx bio's and NO overclocking, 4 DIMMs at 3600 produces random restarts. I've tried all sorts of setting changes from here and also the large CH VIII thread over on OC.net - but can't keep the system stable. Most of the suggestion resolves around manually setting memory speed/timing vs using dcop setting, upping the mem voltage (I've gone up to 1.37 so far) disabling PBO FMAX, and setting DF CStates to disabled (specially for Event 41 issue).

    Another option some have resorted to is going all the way back down the 1302 BIOS, which may be the last stable 4 dimm bios "out of the box", so to speak - but when I try to downgrade to 1302 it fails saying not a valid file. I've re-downloaded it multiple time from ASUS but alwasy get that error. Or do I need to use the BIOS flashback option to go back that far?

    Lastly, I've tried Ram calc settings, and even with Safe settings, it won't post. But standard memory testing ie memtest64 all sticks pass.

    Would prefer to get newer bios working, as plan is to move to 5900 or 5950x as soon as I can get my hands on one, and would prefer to keep the 64GB for content work. Worst case, I suppose I could change to 2x32GB, but to be honest, I really shouldn't have too do this. Plus I don't see any 2x32 on the QVL.

    I'm going to do some more testing, I see Shamino dropped a new bios revision that may help with DRAM issues... Hopefully can get this figured out without backing to very old bios or changing the 2x32.

    Edit - also new guy here, working on profile
    Last edited by 78Staff; 11-11-2020 at 09:50 AM.

  5. #15
    New ROGer Array OldTechie PC Specs
    OldTechie PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair Hero VIII (non-WiFi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3700X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16Q-64GVK
    Graphics Card #1Strix Geforce GTX 970
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorHannsG HG281D
    Storage #1Inland Premium nvme 1TB
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB spinner
    CPU CoolerAMD Wrath Spire
    CaseCoolermaster HAF912
    Power SupplySeasonic 750W Bronze MD12
    Keyboard Generic
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    OS Windows 10 LTSC 1809

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Hi there.
    I'm not really new on this board, but I just got through a mandatory "account update" from Asus. I was active on the old forum about 15 years ago.
    Having used Asus boards for as long as I remember, my first Asus board was an AMD K5 platform (yes I'm that old).

    Ok that said, I'll join this thread with the 4-dimm troubles.
    Last year I bought the ROG Crosshair Hero VIII and a 3700X. Paired it with Gskill F4-3200C16Q-64GVK, 4 x 16GB modules, dual rank.
    This is actually Samsung OEM "C-die", Taiphoon misidentifies them as B-die.
    Granted, they were not on the Asus QVL as 4-dimm setup (they are as 2-dimm though) but Gskill listed the kit on their site as compatible with my board.

    So I bought the kit and sure enough, any 2-dimm setup worked great (DOCP), but all 4 installed was hell on earth. They just won't run at the rated 3200Mhz.
    Anything over 3000Mhz will not boot at all, at any voltage, even with relaxed timings. The board tries to start three times and finally enters fail-safe mode.
    I spent months trying to tweak the setup, finally settled for 3000Mhz cas14 at 1.36v with decoupled Fclock maxed out at 1866.
    I've contacted G-Skill several times about this issue and they confirm the 4-dimm setup was tested and working at rated speeds. They didn't specify the settings nor BIOS revision used.

    Just a reminder that Ryzen Dram calculator is utterly useless for this memory. And no, the "Samsung OEM" profile does not correspond to Samsung C-die.

    Although I'm stable with this setup, at 3000Mhz my mem scores are pretty low. I'd really like to have them running at 3200Mhz until I'm able to buy a decent 2x32GB kit.

    Btw, BIOS version is 2311, haven't tested the betas yet.

    Cheers.
    Last edited by OldTechie; 11-12-2020 at 05:17 PM.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi) w/BIOS 3003
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)4 x 8GB PVS416G440C9K (non-QVL) @3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080Ti Gaming OC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAcer x27
    Storage #1Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    Storage #22 x Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
    Headset/Speakers 2 x PSB Alpha PS1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by OldTechie View Post
    Hi there.
    I'm not really new on this board, but I just got through a mandatory "account update" from Asus. I was active on the old forum about 15 years ago.
    Having used Asus boards for as long as I remember, my first Asus board was an AMD K5 platform (yes I'm that old).

    Ok that said, I'll join this thread with the 4-dimm troubles.
    Last year I bought the ROG Crosshair Hero VIII and a 3700X. Paired it with Gskill F4-3200C16Q-64GVK, 4 x 16GB modules, dual rank.
    This is actually Samsung OEM "C-die", Taiphoon misidentifies them as B-die.
    Granted, they were not on the Asus QVL as 4-dimm setup (they are as 2-dimm though) but Gskill listed the kit on their site as compatible with my board.

    So I bought the kit and sure enough, any 2-dimm setup worked great (DOCP), but all 4 installed was hell on earth. They just won't run at the rated 3200Mhz.
    Anything over 3000Mhz will not boot at all, at any voltage, even with relaxed timings. The board tries to start three times and finally enters fail-safe mode.
    I spent months trying to tweak the setup, finally settled for 3000Mhz cas14 at 1.36v with decoupled Fclock maxed out at 1866.
    I've contacted G-Skill several times about this issue and they confirm the 4-dimm setup was tested and working at rated speeds. They didn't specify the settings nor BIOS revision used.

    Just a reminder that Ryzen Dram calculator is utterly useless for this memory. And no, the "Samsung OEM" profile does not correspond to Samsung C-die.

    Although I'm stable with this setup, at 3000Mhz my mem scores are pretty low. I'd really like to have them running at 3200Mhz until I'm able to buy a decent 2x32GB kit.

    Btw, BIOS version is 2311, haven't tested the betas yet.

    Cheers.
    Have you tried this?

    Load BIOS defaults.
    Set your FCLK and memory speeds to something reasonable.
    Set PBO Fmax to DISABLED. You'll lose some performance but might be able to boot at higher memory speeds. I was able to boot at 3733 with 4 sticks of non-QVL B-Die.

    Assuming it boots okay and you don't have errors, increase FCLK and memory speed in increments.

    If this doesn't work, then you might consider more tweaking - voltages etc. I ended up removing 2 sticks, but I'll probably try 4 again with one of these new BIOSes. If I do I'll (eventually) post my results here.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula BIOS 3402
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)2x8 Corsair 4000C19D
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM 700 RGB
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    157

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    I had some USB problems with the latest AGESA 1.1.0.0 bios for the B550-F, after testing lots of things I found out the new bios needs higher VDDG than what was needed before. Just raising VDDG with 30mV cured all problems and everything is rock stable again. 3800MHz mem 1:1:1.
    Do you mean both VDDG CCD and VDDG IOD?
    And how do you monitor those values?

    Baio
    Last edited by Baio73; 11-15-2020 at 07:47 AM.
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Elite Capellix MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 2x8 Corsair 4000C19D PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay + Corsair MM700 RGB - G513

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    Also seeing random reboots/Event 41's with 4 DIMM on CH VIII running 2402. 3900X, config is 4x16 Trident Neo Z 3600 CL16's B Die... snipped for brevity
    Since posting this I've mostly been in the 2501 beta thread. After trying multiple bios' and various recommended settings, the fix for me was swapping back to my RipJaws 3200 CL14 kit. It's a 4x8 kit also, but running rock solid under 2206 and now 2502 release. Can't explain why, both are Samsung B Die, RipJaw 3200 C14 vs Neo 3600 C16. 3600's I could never get stable at 3600. 3200's are rock solid.

  9. #19
    New ROGer Array OldTechie PC Specs
    OldTechie PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair Hero VIII (non-WiFi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3700X
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16Q-64GVK
    Graphics Card #1Strix Geforce GTX 970
    Sound CardOnboard
    MonitorHannsG HG281D
    Storage #1Inland Premium nvme 1TB
    Storage #2Toshiba 3TB spinner
    CPU CoolerAMD Wrath Spire
    CaseCoolermaster HAF912
    Power SupplySeasonic 750W Bronze MD12
    Keyboard Generic
    Mouse Logitech G400s
    OS Windows 10 LTSC 1809

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    Since posting this I've mostly been in the 2501 beta thread. After trying multiple bios' and various recommended settings, the fix for me was swapping back to my RipJaws 3200 CL14 kit. It's a 4x8 kit also, but running rock solid under 2206 and now 2502 release. Can't explain why, both are Samsung B Die, RipJaw 3200 C14 vs Neo 3600 C16. 3600's I could never get stable at 3600. 3200's are rock solid.
    I've just posted an answer in the 2501 bios thread.
    The issue is probably related to dual rank memory modules.
    You can easily differentiate single rank vs dual rank using this formula:
    Look up the memory chip width in bits and multiply this by the number of chips on the module.
    If it equals 64, it's single rank. Likewise, if it equals 128, it's dual rank.

    Cheers.

  10. #20
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by OldTechie View Post
    I've just posted an answer in the 2501 bios thread.
    The issue is probably related to dual rank memory modules.
    You can easily differentiate single rank vs dual rank using this formula:
    Look up the memory chip width in bits and multiply this by the number of chips on the module.
    If it equals 64, it's single rank. Likewise, if it equals 128, it's dual rank.

    Cheers.
    Makes sense - Thiaphoon reports my RipJaws as single rank - I don't know what the Neo Z's (F4-3600C16D-32GTZN) were but suspect they would have been dual rank. It's interesting that info is hard to find, it's not listed on Newegg or GSKill's site that I could find - which makes searching for/buying single rank a bit harder. I don't have my Thaiphoon report on them anymore I deleted it - figured I didn't need it anymore lol. But the GTZR version (essentially the same I think minus the "for Ryzen" branding is dual rank per the b-die page.

    I'll look for some 2x32's as you mentioned in the other thread. Assuming Dual Rank will be fine with 2 dimms installed.

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •