Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Can I safely sell my CPU ready for Zen 3?

    I want to sell my 3900X in preparation, and the price will only decline next month as retailers will force them down. I have an X570-I Gaming ITX board on BIOS 2606, will that support Zen 3 or do I have to wait?

    Thanks.*

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    212

    You'll most likely have to do a BIOS update for ZEN 3 in order to use it.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    752

    Quote Originally Posted by cljustin@ROG View Post
    You'll most likely have to do a BIOS update for ZEN 3 in order to use it.
    Yes, but it has already happened.

    OP - 500 Series Motherboards should get a BIOS Update with the release for 5000 series CPU's on November 5th (long gone and happened).
    Once you have flashed BIOS based on AGESA 1.0.8.0 (or newer) you will be able to POST/boot series 5000 processors.

    https://www.pcworld.com/article/3585...mds-zen-3.html
    Last edited by RedSector73; 10-22-2020 at 12:28 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Ok so I can safely sell the 3900x and when I get the Zen 3 CPU I’ll just need to upgrade the bios again, but I can do it with it and not need the older CPU.Â*

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    752

    Quote Originally Posted by Greenstumps View Post
    Ok so I can safely sell the 3900x and when I get the Zen 3 CPU I’ll just need to upgrade the bios again, but I can do it with it and not need the older CPU.Â*
    Install the latest BIOS which is 2606 and your good to sell it and put in Ryzen 5000 series
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/RO...HelpDesk_BIOS/

    It does not appear like you can flash without a CPU to me.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Yeah it’s on 2606, so I’ll sell my 3900X now..... though I dunno why I’m bothering as I upgraded at the start of the year and haven’t gotten round to using it yet lol.Â*Â*

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Yes, the 5000 are supported by now on your motherboard (chipset). There are tons of OEMs testing and preparing for release day, so a bios needs to be available now.

    Plus, youtubers generating content for videos on release day will need it as well. I'm sure if you read the last few BIOS release notes, that zen 3 was supported a while ago.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    752

    Quote Originally Posted by MarkJohnson View Post
    Yes, the 5000 are supported by now on your motherboard (chipset). There are tons of OEMs testing and preparing for release day, so a bios needs to be available now.

    Plus, youtubers generating content for videos on release day will need it as well. I'm sure if you read the last few BIOS release notes, that zen 3 was supported a while ago.

    Anything above AGESA 1.0.8.0 (or newer) will be able to POST/boot series 5000 processors, as already mentioned.
    The chipset will be A520, B550 & X570. Selected X470 & B450 will be able to support via one way BIOS update some time early next year.
    https://www.amd.com/en/chipsets/a520

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •