Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation ASUS ROG Strix G15 screen goes black for 1 0r 2 seconds

    ASUS ROG Strix G15 screen goes black for 1 0r 2 seconds.
    I just bought the ROG Strix G15 and I noticed whenever I turn it on and goes to the lock screen, the screen on my laptop goes black for 1 or 2 seconds and it goes back up again. The same thing happens when I plugged and unplugged it in the charger.

    Is this normal? Please help. This is my first gaming laptop.

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi DocRDX,

    Is the complete model name G513QE?
    Please refer to the following link.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1037691/
    Thank you.
    Last edited by STARRAIN@ROG; 09-09-2021 at 07:24 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    37

    Quote Originally Posted by DocRDX View Post
    ASUS ROG Strix G15 screen goes black for 1 0r 2 seconds.
    I just bought the ROG Strix G15 and I noticed whenever I turn it on and goes to the lock screen, the screen on my laptop goes black for 1 or 2 seconds and it goes back up again. The same thing happens when I plugged and unplugged it in the charger.

    Is this normal? Please help. This is my first gaming laptop.
    I own a older model. ASUS ROG Strix Scar 3, it also has this feature. From what I know, the screen going black for a few seconds is a feature of changing of refresh rate of your monitor.

    This is to save power on battery mode by your laptop switching to a lower refresh rate and switching back to a higher refresh rate on plugged in.

    If you want to disable this feature and always run it on max refresh rate, you can go to the "Intel Graphics Control Panel" by searching on your laptop. Then disable "Display Refresh Rate Switching" under the "Power" section. But, by using this, your battery will drain faster, based on my experience.

    Hope this helps.
    Last edited by JonTeoh; 09-06-2021 at 07:41 AM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by STARRAIN@ROG View Post
    Hi DocRDX,

    Is the complete model name G513QE?
    Please refer to the following link.
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1037691/
    Thank you.
    My model name is G512LI

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Exclamation

    Quote Originally Posted by JonTeoh View Post
    I own a older model. ASUS ROG Strix Scar 3, it also has this feature. From what I know, the screen going black for a few seconds is a feature of changing of refresh rate of your monitor.

    This is to save power on battery mode by your laptop switching to a lower refresh rate and switching back to a higher refresh rate on plugged in.

    If you want to disable this feature and always run it on max refresh rate, you can go to the "Intel Graphics Control Panel" by searching on your laptop. Then disable "Display Refresh Rate Switching" under the "Power" section. But, by using this, your battery will drain faster, based on my experience.

    Hope this helps.

    Does it happens every time we start our laptop without connecting the charger ?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    66
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi DocRDX,

    May I have a video about the black screen in lock screen?
    Thank you.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    hey, I have the same issue but there's not an option of changing the DDRS settings.

    Quote Originally Posted by JonTeoh View Post
    I own a older model. ASUS ROG Strix Scar 3, it also has this feature. From what I know, the screen going black for a few seconds is a feature of changing of refresh rate of your monitor.

    This is to save power on battery mode by your laptop switching to a lower refresh rate and switching back to a higher refresh rate on plugged in.

    If you want to disable this feature and always run it on max refresh rate, you can go to the "Intel Graphics Control Panel" by searching on your laptop. Then disable "Display Refresh Rate Switching" under the "Power" section. But, by using this, your battery will drain faster, based on my experience.

    Hope this helps.
    please help, I can't find the settings. It's not in System>Power

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •