Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    thanks for the replies and info

    what memory kit do you recommend? I need 32GB, looking at 2x16GB samsung b-die kits, is bdie still preferred?

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi) w/BIOS 3003
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)4 x 8GB PVS416G440C9K (non-QVL) @3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080Ti Gaming OC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAcer x27
    Storage #1Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    Storage #22 x Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
    Headset/Speakers 2 x PSB Alpha PS1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by ffletchs View Post
    thanks for the replies and info

    what memory kit do you recommend? I need 32GB, looking at 2x16GB samsung b-die kits, is bdie still preferred?
    The new QVL for the C8H Wifi (my board) has some 2x16GB Team modules rated for 3600 at 14-15-15-35 and 1.45V. It's Samsung memory and looks like B-die. As to whether B-die is still the most desirable, I can't comment.

  3. #13
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Its not the Corsair memory - Its the Beta BIOS

    Hi
    I hasve the same issues, but its not your Corsair memory.
    The beta BIOS for the crosshair and the new 5000 Ryzens is not working peoperly.
    I got the memory running at 3600 DOCP profile, but then you get hundrets of WHEA errors in Wondows, and all is buggy.
    I hope Asus supplies a fixed BIOS ASAP

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    not sure why but its going much better now, before (with Ryzen 3900x) i was max able to run 3733@dram calculator settings

    after I installed 5900x it wasn't even stable at stock XMP

    removed 2 sticks and was able to get to 3800@dram calculator settings with 2 sticks, put the other to stick in and now I'm running 3800 with 4 sticks, still testing stability, its been running prime95 large FFT's for an hour

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    update, its back to utter instabililty was good for 1-2 days, now same settings are completely unstable, something is very off with this beta bios

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by ffletchs View Post
    thanks for the replies and info

    what memory kit do you recommend? I need 32GB, looking at 2x16GB samsung b-die kits, is bdie still preferred?
    Sorry missed this. G.skill NEO branded. b-die is best to overclock or play with but set and forget any of the NEO Range would be fine in size you want.

    2x16 DDR4@3600 would be ideal choice.

    F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Last edited by RedSector73; 11-12-2020 at 08:44 AM.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    5000 series chips with the right memory modules should be able to hit 1900FCLK and possibly higher. You may need to try as much as 1.15v VSOC depending on the CPU sample.


    Have not experienced any idle instablity or boost issues on the 5950X personally.

    Attachment 86759
    I tried some b-die memory and all the bioses (2311/2402/2502) are giving me the same result,
    after bios flash/bios clear/load defaults, it appear stable for first few reboots/hours, DOCP works fine, some mild mem OC/memory timing also works fine.

    then ill get a reboot in windows and fails to boot back to windows with same memory settings going back to stock DOCP will not boot, only very relaxed timins (auto 22-22-22-52) at 3200 or slower will post again to windows

    reflashing the bios/bios clear/load defaults and machine is back to normal, I can enable DOCP and even oc again

    to me it looks like some (hidden?) setting is set to some incorrect value or these new bios'es are very immature
    CPU SOC voltage on auto sometimes sets to 0.98V, sometimes ~1.08V and seen it set to ~1.15

    Memory im testing is
    Corsair CMK16GX4M2Z3600C18 (4x8, also tried 2x8) Micron E-die
    T-force TDPPD432G3600HC16GDC01 (2x16GB) Samsung B-die
    same results with both

  8. #18
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Thats what I bought 2 days ago

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Sorry missed this. G.skill NEO branded. b-die is best to overclock or play with but set and forget any of the NEO Range would be fine in size you want.

    2x16 DDR4@3600 would be ideal choice.

    F4-3600C16D-32GTZN
    F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC

    Haven't killed any zombies in 2 days tryna set this amd **** up stable

    Holy frack

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    53

    Bios 2702 seems better to me, its not failing randomly and then no bios settings will post to windows like the other "new" bioses

    I'm able to run at DOCP atleast now, although the bios doesnt seem to like DRAM voltage higher than ~1.39V, then it fails to post to Windows

    hoping these issues will be fixed with the new AGESA thats coming

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    My b-die on that bios is running 1.5v natively@3800

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •