Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 84
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    hi
    vf8 will always be the last pt, the max potential freq
    if you dont have a pt there, how would u expect to be able to adjust v for your oc freq?
    Since 52 is turbo on a 10700k, shouldn't its voltage be controlled by additional turbo voltage instead of a VF point?
    yes it is controlled by additional turbo voltage AND VF point, it is the sum of the 2.
    i dont see why raising vf7 makes 52x then not stable? just raise vf7 as needed, dont change the adaptive voltage u have set, dont adjust vf8 and let the pcu sort it out
    the processor's PCU will compare the resultant of VF7 vs VF8 and apply VF8's resultant volt if its higher.
    Like I said, I would expect to adjust for oc frequency > 51x with adaptive "additional turbo voltage" only.

    In the case of my chip, 51x all-core, I am stable with a VF7 +.02 and a VF8 of -.09. Going to 52x, I am also stable at al lower voltage for 52x, but if I set Vf8 to that, my 51x drops too low as it is interpolated. I only have the choice of increasing Vf7 or Vf8 (well both) well beyond they point they are stable in order to make interpolated 51x stable. IME there should not be overlap of these features.

    EDIT:

    Would add that part of the problem is my (and I think others) chips VF curves don't match reality. I think this is a great feature you have added , I just have issues applying it to my chip.

    I am also happy to see PPD added. I have set it to 0 with significant improvements to my latency.
    Last edited by geneo; 11-11-2020 at 03:05 AM.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    95
    Posts
    768

    no, like u said u want to use adaptive for 52x so go ahead and do that,
    up vf7 to whatever is need to stabilize 51x. leave vf8 alone do nothing here
    the vf offsets u set " well beyond they point they are stable" did u check the actual voltage to see that there really is a diff, if they are really "well beyond they point they are stable"

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    no, like u said u want to use adaptive for 52x so go ahead and do that,
    up vf7 to whatever is need to stabilize 51x. leave vf8 alone do nothing here
    the vf offsets u set " well beyond they point they are stable" did u check the actual voltage to see that there really is a diff, if they are really "well beyond they point they are stable"
    I think -.09 VF8 for 51x is a clue, I will take some screen captures 52 vs 51 to illustrate when I get a cchance.

  4. #14
    ROG Enthusiast Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3080 Ti TUF OC
    MonitorLG 38GN950-B
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-1000
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    43

    In my experience with Apex and a 10900K, is that overclocking using the v/f point table is very difficult when you also overclock the cache, AND dual rank memory at high speeds. Anything less than Load Line Calibration 6 quickly becomes unstable too. ( I run 2 x 16GB dual rank modules at 4500C18)

    So is this OCTVB feature more for people who don't overclock cache and don't run rank dual memory at high speeds?

    Added a screenshot to show my settings, for those who wonder if I'm talking BS. CPU allcore 5.0, cache 4.7 and Adaptive voltage. Would be nice if the new BIOS would allow me to still have 5.0 allcore + higher speeds at light work loads!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Memtest-4500-18-19-19.jpg  


  5. #15
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    95
    Posts
    768

    Quote Originally Posted by Betroz View Post
    In my experience with Apex and a 10900K, is that overclocking using the v/f point table is very difficult when you also overclock the cache, AND dual rank memory at high speeds. Anything less than Load Line Calibration 6 quickly becomes unstable too. ( I run 2 x 16GB dual rank modules at 4500C18)

    So is this OCTVB feature more for people who don't overclock cache and don't run rank dual memory at high speeds?

    Added a screenshot to show my settings, for those who wonder if I'm talking BS. CPU allcore 5.0, cache 4.7 and Adaptive voltage. Would be nice if the new BIOS would allow me to still have 5.0 allcore + higher speeds at light work loads!
    did u try the +1boost with cstate enabled?

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3080 Ti TUF OC
    MonitorLG 38GN950-B
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-1000
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    did u try the +1boost with cstate enabled?
    No. I am asking about the new BIOS and gathering information before i try it. Sorry if my post was unclear. Running 0088 atm.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    95
    Posts
    768

    well i sure do think with your current setting and just do a +1boost should get u 5.1 at times and be stable,

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Either I always have >3 cores active, or there's something "off". Used the +1 with a purely "AI Optimized" OC profile, but I only ever see 5100 as max freq on any cores, even when idle on desktop versus the 5400 MHz max for <= 3 cores. Not sure if this is due to VF curve computation or what. Without the +1 profile, I do see 5300 Mhz occasionally as expected.





    This is with a 10900K and 140mm AIO cooler, only other setting is XMP profile for 3600 CL16 DRAM. Running on Z490I. (yes, not quite enough for this CPU but I'm a crazy person with a mITX )

    EDIT: Either I misremembered or the new bios changed something, because even without the OCTVB enabled I can never trigger the higher multiplier on 3 or even 4 cores alone. 5 core multiplier and up will trigger however. Not a big deal, but strange nonetheless...
    Last edited by morello1n; 11-12-2020 at 06:05 PM.

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Betroz PC Specs
    Betroz PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XII Apex
    Processori9 10900K
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill TridentZ F4-4000C17D-32GTRGB
    Graphics Card #1Asus 3080 Ti TUF OC
    MonitorLG 38GN950-B
    Storage #1Intel Optane 900p
    Storage #2Adata SX8200 PRO
    CPU CoolerLiquid Freezer II 360
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P500A
    Power SupplySeasonic TX-1000
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset Sennheiser 660S
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Betroz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by Shamino View Post
    well i sure do think with your current setting and just do a +1boost should get u 5.1 at times and be stable,
    I tried the new BIOS and feature. It works for light loads, but high CPU load games like Battlefield 5 multiplayer, don't really benefit - at least not with my Liquid Freezer II 360 AIO cooling. Keeping temps under 70C at all times is difficult. Maybe the feature is more suited for people with a custom loop

  10. #20
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    95
    Posts
    768

    Quote Originally Posted by morello1n View Post
    Either I always have >3 cores active, or there's something "off". Used the +1 with a purely "AI Optimized" OC profile, but I only ever see 5100 as max freq on any cores, even when idle on desktop versus the 5400 MHz max for <= 3 cores. Not sure if this is due to VF curve computation or what. Without the +1 profile, I do see 5300 Mhz occasionally as expected.





    This is with a 10900K and 140mm AIO cooler, only other setting is XMP profile for 3600 CL16 DRAM. Running on Z490I. (yes, not quite enough for this CPU but I'm a crazy person with a mITX )

    EDIT: Either I misremembered or the new bios changed something, because even without the OCTVB enabled I can never trigger the higher multiplier on 3 or even 4 cores alone. 5 core multiplier and up will trigger however. Not a big deal, but strange nonetheless...
    do u have csates enabl;ed?

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •