Page 6 of 27 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 270
  1. #51
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    148
    Posts
    2,038

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    Tested good with MemTest86 and MemTest64. I see several references to Karhu memory test but have not used it. I've also used Aida64 cache and mem benchmark although I'm not sure how valid is is as a testing tool.

    IS this strictly a 4 dimm issue? My next test case will be to pull 2 dimms - I don't recall having any of these issues before going to 4 dimms, but was on older bios version as well... 2103 I believe. Worst case I can change to 2x32's, but I don't want to do that/spend the $$ if I'll face the same issues I am facing now with 4x16's. I also want to stay 59xx compatible as I plan on upgrading cpu.

    EDIT - i went ahead and bought Karhu, seems to be recommended over the MemTest86. Will run it and report back.

    And now that I think about it, before the Trident Neo I ran 4x8 of Ripjaws 3200 CL14 with no issues. I only upgraded to the Neo to get 3600/1800 FCLK, but I never had any issues with the RipJaws either...




    Yes, use Karhu or Google Stress App Test. Memtest86 is redundant.

  2. #52
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    FLCK improvement request

    When we can expect Bios versions with FCLK improvements?

    2402 was already pushing but without real performance gain. Now we see already 2033Mhz on e.g. ASUS B450-F Gaming (v8501) Boards.
    It's a real disappointment!

  3. #53
    ROG Member Array dordoka PC Specs
    dordoka PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (no wifi)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)BLE8G4D36BEEAK.M8FE1 x 4
    Graphics Card #1Zotac RTX 3090 Trinity 24GB
    Sound CardFocusrite Scarlett 2i2 3rd Gen
    MonitorLG 27GN950
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i Platinum
    CaseCorsair 680X Crystal
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova G2 1000W 80 Plus Gold
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament Edition
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate
    Headset Sennheiser HD 650
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus
    Headset/Speakers KRK Rokit 5
    OS Windows 10 Professional

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Hey dordoka, I would not be using BETA BIOS to install Windows 10. Try Version 2204 or 2206 for Windows Install

    Here is the procedure for install of windows on nvme drive.

    1 - Make sure you unplug all SATA and USB drives, the M.2 drive has to be the only drive installed.
    2 - Go into the bios, under the boot tab there is an option for CSM, make sure it is disabled.
    3 - Click on secure boot option below and make sure it is set to other OS, Not windows UEFI.
    4 - Click on key management and clear secure boot keys.
    5 - Insert a USB memory stick with a UEFI bootable iso of Windows 10 on it.
    6 - Press F10 to save, exit and reboot.
    7 - Windows will now start installing to your NVME drive as it has its own NVME driver built in.
    8 - When the PC reboots hit F2 to go back into the BIOS, you will see under boot priority that windows boot manager now lists your NVME drive.
    9 - Click on secure boot again but now set it to Windows UEFI mode.
    10 - Click on key management and install default secure boot keys
    11 - Press F10 to save and exit and windows will finish the install.

    Once you have Windows up and running, shutdown the PC and reconnect your other SATA drives.
    Hey RedSector. Sorry for taking so long to reply, I have been making more tests.

    I tried your suggestion, but the outcome was the same.

    Nevertheless, all my previous attempts were done using the latest Windows 10 update (20H2, October 2020).

    Yesterday I tried reinstalling, following exactly the same steps and with the same hardware, but using Windows 10 build 2004 instead (May 2020 update) and... low and behold, everything runs perfectly so far. It's been running finde for about a total of 10 hours, surviving cold and hard reboots, shutdowns, coming out of sleep, etc. I will keep trying, but apparently there's something very wrong with Windows 10 20H2, at least with my hardware.

    Thanks again for your help.

  4. #54
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VII Hero WiFi
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 7 3800X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ Neo RGB 2x16GB 3600MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Dual RTX 2060 O6G
    Graphics Card #2Asus Radeon R3 230
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    MonitorAOC 27"
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 240
    CaseLian-Li Dynamic O11 XL + NZXT Noctis
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud + ROG Strix Go 2.4
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    Headset/Speakers ROG Magnus
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus DSL-AC88U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    604

    Quote Originally Posted by the_patchelor View Post
    When we can expect Bios versions with FCLK improvements?

    2402 was already pushing but without real performance gain. Now we see already 2033Mhz on e.g. ASUS B450-F Gaming (v8501) Boards.
    It's a real disappointment!
    I think it is not Asus issue, but AGESA (AMD) issue. AMD will relase new AGESA code soon what I know
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  5. #55
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    27

    My Formula random reboots with 2502 :/
    The beta 2402 works fine but the event log errors...

    I also have issues that Aura sync will not find my G-Skil mem anymore. They are just in the ugly rainbow mode

    So I did go back to 2402... Feels odd that 2502 are released as a final version when it seems to be even more buggy than the beta one :/

    System: AMD 5950x, G-skil 32Gb (4x8) CL 16 trident... Assus Viii Formula board. Nvidia 3090 Strix oc.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by jnormen View Post
    My Formula random reboots with 2502 :/
    The beta 2402 works fine but the event log errors...

    I also have issues that Aura sync will not find my G-Skil mem anymore. They are just in the ugly rainbow mode

    So I did go back to 2402... Feels odd that 2502 are released as a final version when it seems to be even more buggy than the beta one :/

    System: AMD 5950x, G-skil 32Gb (4x8) CL 16 trident... Assus Viii Formula board. Nvidia 3090 Strix oc.
    Hah, look at You.

    Mine is AMD R9 5950X, G.Skill Ryzen Neo 5000 s 2 x 8 GB CL14 3800 MHz, Asus VIII Formula and ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC, ROG Ryujin 360, Thor 1200, benchtable...

    So if You would, I have a few questions. I've tested 4 RAM kits, because I'm desperate.

    My max. score in:

    3D Time Spy - CPU - 13100 pts [duh, all reviewers say that it's 15 - 18k :/]
    CPUz - Singlethread- I've seen nice 688 pts, but mine is hovering from 620 - 660 mostly
    CPUz - Multithread - I've seen really low 13k, but most of the time it hovers from around 11400 - 12000 [duh, reviewers had 15,5 - 17k :/]
    Geekbench 5.3.2 - Singlethread - okay, here I've seen almost 1700 so this is okay
    Geekbench 5.3.2 - Multithread - tops I've seen 13k, reviewers hit 15 - 17k

    Am I the only one with these massive discrepancies? My temps are great, I use everything on auto, because when I tune stuff, it goes to hell.

    The only thing I use is D.O.C.P. and FClock at 1900 MHz [since RAM are 3800 MHz native].

    How about You? How do You fare?

    Please let me know.

    With best regards

    uplink

    P.S.: I've tried memory set to a) D.O.C.P. + 1900 MHz infinity fabric, this is the best setting, b) tried 14-15-15-15-34-46. works, but pefromrance is horrid, c) tried all JEDEC configurations, performance is horrid :/

  7. #57
    ROG Enthusiast Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Just tried 2502 and it's a total disaster, I can barely boot the system with fail safe settings :/

  8. #58
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by uplink View Post
    The only thing I use is D.O.C.P. and FClock at 1900 MHz [since RAM are 3800 MHz native].

    How about You? How do You fare?

    Please let me know.
    Go into PBO and enable this and go retest.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20201027_231245.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	133.3 KB 
ID:	86883

    I needed to manually set 1.125v SOC to get 3800 native than after sucessful RAM training 1.1v SOC will work.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 11-17-2020 at 03:06 AM.

  9. #59
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I can't even get 1900 FCLK with a 5900X. Latest bios on VIII Hero Wifi and 3800mhz c14 g.skill. Loaded DOCP changed FCLK to 1900 and I get an error of 07 or something similar on boot. Sad times.

  10. #60
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by uplink View Post
    Hah, look at You.

    Mine is AMD R9 5950X, G.Skill Ryzen Neo 5000 s 2 x 8 GB CL14 3800 MHz, Asus VIII Formula and ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC, ROG Ryujin 360, Thor 1200, benchtable...

    So if You would, I have a few questions. I've tested 4 RAM kits, because I'm desperate.

    My max. score in:

    3D Time Spy - CPU - 13100 pts [duh, all reviewers say that it's 15 - 18k :/]
    CPUz - Singlethread- I've seen nice 688 pts, but mine is hovering from 620 - 660 mostly
    CPUz - Multithread - I've seen really low 13k, but most of the time it hovers from around 11400 - 12000 [duh, reviewers had 15,5 - 17k :/]
    Geekbench 5.3.2 - Singlethread - okay, here I've seen almost 1700 so this is okay
    Geekbench 5.3.2 - Multithread - tops I've seen 13k, reviewers hit 15 - 17k

    Am I the only one with these massive discrepancies? My temps are great, I use everything on auto, because when I tune stuff, it goes to hell.

    The only thing I use is D.O.C.P. and FClock at 1900 MHz [since RAM are 3800 MHz native].

    How about You? How do You fare?

    Please let me know.

    With best regards

    uplink

    P.S.: I've tried memory set to a) D.O.C.P. + 1900 MHz infinity fabric, this is the best setting, b) tried 14-15-15-15-34-46. works, but pefromrance is horrid, c) tried all JEDEC configurations, performance is horrid :/

    I tried D.O.C.P profiles but felt the system get slower. Cinebench gave me not so good results.
    So I put it to auto and manually set ram to 3600 Mhz. Did not change the volts or FClock at all (default 1800 I guess).

    I do set enable on PBO the two first. Rest as auto and then I got better numbers. In test.
    But with 2502 I get random reboots without doing anything. I can get it when I check eventlogs, I can get it wile computer is idle etc...

    My CB scores with 2402 beta that do not reboot my computer, only put annoying log messages in event logs say:

    CB R15 Multi: 4528-4571
    CB R20 Multi: 10586

    I do not even know if this are grete number or not. I can only compare with my ol i9 9900k and then this is better.
    But I saw other with higher numbers with PBO only on...

    But still, so annoying to have a beta bios to get the system run stable and the laterst stable bios is as unstable as the version before the beta.
    had same issue with that one with random reboots. :/

Page 6 of 27 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 16 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •