Page 19 of 27 FirstFirst ... 9 17 18 19 20 21 ... LastLast
Results 181 to 190 of 270
  1. #181
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)2x8 Corsair 4000C19D
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO 512Gb NVMe
    Storage #2WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Elite Capellix
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    On the CH8, I've read the Cstate has been said to be too aggressive that some CPUs either blue screen or reboot due to the CPU core voltage being lowered too much when the CPU is not under load.

    It should be under Advanced, AMD CBS, NBIO Common Options, SMU Common Options, DF Cstates. Could set this to Disabled.
    Source: https://www.overclock.net/threads/as...hread.1728796/
    Gonna give it a try... but disablilng it means the CPU is always stuck at maximum power consumption?

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Elite Capellix MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 2x8 Corsair 4000C19D PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - WD Black SN850 2Tb NVMe NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  2. #182
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Gonna give it a try... but disablilng it means the CPU is always stuck at maximum power consumption?

    Baio
    Good question Baio, I'm not 100% sure but I believe the answer is yes with the advantage of your system no longer has to wake from cstate. The additional power use only matters for laptop `imo and be interested if this solves the issue for you.

  3. #183
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by Spook161 View Post
    I can say that I have tried the "Safe" calculator settings... 14-15-15-15-30.... with my 3600 B-die, at 3600/1800 2x16Gb Neo kit, and the system wouldn't boot.
    Same for me with with Neo Z 3600 CL16 B-Die's - Safe mode settings would not boot. I tried multiple times, along with bumping voltages as well. I finally just reverted to my RipJaws 3200 CL14 4x8's running DCOP only and bailed on the 4x16 Neo's. (3900X)

    At some point, a 5900 or 5950 will find it's way into my board, so would like to get back into some 2x16, 2x32 or 4x16, but am lost on what to look for at this point. Basically just want to run 3600/1800 for content creation, not really needed excessive memory OC for gaming or anything. Neo Z, Royal, or other?
    Last edited by 78Staff; 12-01-2020 at 03:24 AM.

  4. #184
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by wyliec2 View Post
    After having issues with 2311, 2402, 2701 and 039 (Stilt) - WHEA Errors and restarts, I've reverted to 2206.

    I have a Crosshair VIII Formula with 3950X and planning to upgrade to a 5000 series CPU at some point.

    After several weeks of chasing issues and changing BIOS versions, I've been rock-steady for 48 hours with combination of 20+ hours at 80-100% CPU running encodes and 6 hours idle time. No WHEA errors or restarts (hoping I'm not jinxing myself)....

    I see ASUS now has BIOS 2702 published - not sure if it's anything different than 2701 other than production version...???

    Waiting and watching for the time being....no hurry given 5000 series availability!

    2206 is the last bios before the 5000 series changes, correct?

  5. #185
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    2206 is the last bios before the 5000 series changes, correct?
    2311 was first BIOS with changes added in for 5000 series. Why are you asking this ?
    I can run the 2702 BIOS, and we have similar systems, anyway 1302 was very stable BIOS for 3000 series but PBO really didn't work back then `imo.

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    ...would like to get back into some 2x16, 2x32 or 4x16, but am lost on what to look for at this point. Basically just want to run 3600/1800 for content creation, not really needed excessive memory OC for gaming or anything. Neo Z, Royal, or other?
    Some Generalised Information:-
    B-die is best for tinkering and overclockers tend to prefer it because it is more tolerant and able to adapt with predictable results and generally it's expensive (I think worth it). You can use SK Hynix, Crucial / Micron or Samsung (the only real manufacturers of RAM dies) and *generally any die for set and forget installations and maybe able to tighten timings a little to achieve better than average speeds using tools such as Ryzen Dram calculator.

    *4x8 is sometimes harder to run but a kit specifically approved for use on AMD such as g.skill NEO branded would work out of the box. 4x8 will give you dual rank (it's fairly rare to see 8gb stick dual rank to start with).

    *2x16 will most likely give you dual rank RAM (although should verify) and g.skill NEO branding are all approved for all Ryzen CPU's

    *RAM can be verified for use, in three ways.
    (1) Motherboard Manufacturer RAM QVL list.
    (2) RAM Manufacturer QVL list.
    (3) AMD RAM QVL list.
    https://www.amd.com/en/products/ryze...-gen-amd-ryzen – not sure they have done 5000 series list but given the memory controller is identical fairly safe bet.

    All lists are a valid way to have approval but not all RAM will be listed on all three. Ideally, as a popular song goes, 2 out of 3, aint bad. But even one is better than none and I would avoid not listed.

    If your heart is fixed on Samsung b-die (newegg or amazion is likely source for a decent price) and this tool https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/ in advanced mode can provide answers about if it is or isn't.

    Specifics:-
    I would be looking at 3600 kit CL16 2x16.
    You can run DDR4 3200-3600 CL16 as an ideal in 2x8, 2x16, 4x8 (see note)

    Note:- For any 4xRAM config be sure it has verification to run and be aware mixed kits are currently having more than usual troubles for the 5000 series and even 3000 series on latest BIOS.

    Some known examples below,
    2x16
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232860? – bdie kit
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232861? – Hynix
    4x8
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232895? – bdie kit

    Last thing, only listed g.skill Neo as become little rusted on it and there are many many many kits which work. Once upon a time, I was rusted on Corsair (with Intel prior to problems with Ryzen) and before that really liked and used to use OCZ & Mushkin. I've used Patriot Viper memory (4133 b-die), Team Group RAM and Crucial / Micron memory, all with Ryzen's without issues.

    Hope you find this helpful.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-01-2020 at 03:59 AM.

  6. #186
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    2311 was first BIOS with changes added in for 5000 series. Why are you asking this ?
    I can run the 2702 BIOS, and we have similar systems, anyway 1302 was very stable BIOS for 3000 series but PBO really didn't work back then `imo.
    Curiosity, mostly. I'm on 2502 (release, not beta) now and am stable with a 3900x but only b/c I moved back to single rank dimms. I am reluctant to change anything at this point until I am forced to either by upcoming CPU change - Although I was hoping to order some replacement memory on cybermonday (today) but have no idea what to buy now. My previous "designed for Ryzen" Neo Z B-dies didn't work out well at all in 4x16.

  7. #187
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post

    Specifics:-
    I would be looking at 3600 kit CL16 2x16.
    You can run DDR4 3200-3600 CL16 as an ideal in 2x8, 2x16, 4x8 (see note)

    Note:- For any 4xRAM config be sure it has verification to run and be aware mixed kits are currently having more than usual troubles for the 5000 series and even 3000 series on latest BIOS.

    Some known examples below,
    2x16
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232860? – bdie kit
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232861? – Hynix
    4x8
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/...2E16820232895? – bdie kit

    Last thing, only listed g.skill Neo as become little rusted on it and there are many many many kits which work. Once upon a time, I was rusted on Corsair (with Intel prior to problems with Ryzen) and before that really liked and used to use OCZ & Mushkin. I've used Patriot Viper memory (4133 b-die), Team Group RAM and Crucial / Micron memory, all with Ryzen's without issues.

    Hope you find this helpful.
    Thanks, I appreciate the writeup. The first newegg linked Neo Z CL16's are the ones I had. Two dimms ran find, but 4 dimms I ran into all kinds of issues with the 2311 and above - same as others -unable to post with DCOP settings, event 41's etc which we've now found to be most likely issues with the IMC and 4x dual rank dimms.

    I may re-order them, and just stick with 2x16. I was just disappointed I couldn't make the jump to 64GB with those dimms.

  8. #188
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Can you try this, the latest BIOS, your 4 DIMMS... make sure keep them grouped to original kits (serial number identity kits 1 up n down of each other normally). OK first kit, from CPU in slots 2 & 4 other kit in slots 1 & 3.

    Now with DOCP profile active, use
    SOC voltage 1.1, or 1.125 or 1.15 and see if can get boot, no luck swap the kits over, so that 1&3 now in 2&4 then retry SOC voltages given.

    Some other observations I've made, it appears to me the kit in slots 2&4 is read for DOCP profile and 1&3 is assumed identical. There is always differnces between the kit, we need the worse one if that was such a thing in 2&4 for the RAM training with DOCP read.

    Hopefully this gets it going.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-01-2020 at 04:55 AM.

  9. #189
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Can you try this, the latest BIOS, your 4 DIMMS... make sure keep them grouped to original kits (serial number identity kits 1 up n down of each other normally). OK first kit, from CPU in slots 2 & 4 other kit in slots 1 & 3.

    Now with DOCP profile active, use
    SOC voltage 1.1, or 1.125 or 1.15 and see if can get boot, no luck swap the kits over, so that 1&3 now in 2&4 then retry SOC voltages given.
    I don't have the Neo Z's anymore unfortunately... I'm running my old RipJaws 3200 C14's in 4x8 now, which are stable at DOCP.

    But I was thinking of trying the Trident's again - either the Trident Neo or Neo Z 3600 C16's (is there really any difference - reviews state both run on Ryzen fine, the "For Ryzen" set is just marketing) or maybe just get a 2x32 C18 set and avoid the 4 dimm issue altogether.

  10. #190
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Honestly, 3600 CL16 is good enough. CL14 is extra few FPS and might shave a bit more off time dependant applications like rendering. CL18 kits we need to move away from CL xx gauge and look at the real latancy NS response time ... confused yeah me to... trying to say CL18 or even CL22 kits can be great as well.

    This article explains why it bad measure, but we all use CL xx.
    https://www.crucial.com/articles/abo...ed-and-latency

    This site often has RAM kits actual NS rated speed
    https://pcpartpicker.com/

    2x16 is simply way to get rank2 advantage (as most are rank2 not rank1). While I run 4x8 not in habit recommending what is not work to keep running BIOS to BIOS. I know, I tinker and like it but I know not everyone likes doing this and would not do this on work type machine.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-01-2020 at 05:21 AM.

Page 19 of 27 FirstFirst ... 9 17 18 19 20 21 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •