Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6 14 15 16 17 18 26 ... LastLast
Results 151 to 160 of 270
  1. #151
    ROG Enthusiast Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by DrSlump76 View Post
    Hi Jackalito,
    why do you say so? Do you have some technical reasons to associate new bioses problems to Ryzen 3000 cpus?

    Thankyou!
    Did You try common sense? . Ryzen 3000 series worked well and stable up to let's say 2311, or even earlier BiOS version, and now it doesn't. So, yes, there are technical issues, thus, it's not good for the 3000 series . Check out the thread mate.

  2. #152
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackalito PC Specs
    Jackalito PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Chrosshair VIII Hero (X570)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4 G.SKILL TridentZ (2x8GB) F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB XFX Speedster Merc 319
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1220
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" 34UC79G-B [2560x1080] LED IPS Curved 144Hz FreeSync
    Storage #11 x SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB. M.2 NVMe PCIe
    Storage #21 x SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1TB. SATA3; 1 x HDD Toshiba X300 5TB. 7200 RPM SATA3
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer II 280
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850 Modular 850W 80 PLUS Gold
    Keyboard Logitech Gaming G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Stealth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech PRO X/Z625 2.1 Speaker Set
    OS Windows 10 x64 PRO for Workstations x64 (20H2)
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 UPS APC Back 1400VA
    Accessory #2 Fan Cases: 3x Noctua NF-P14s Redux 140mm PWM
    Jackalito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by DrSlump76 View Post
    Hi Jackalito,
    why do you say so? Do you have some technical reasons to associate new bioses problems to Ryzen 3000 cpus?

    Thankyou!
    These new BIOSes contain an updated AGESA whose main purpose is to bring a better support for Zen 3 (Ryzen 5000 series). If ain't broken, don't try to fix it, buddy

    2702 flashed earlier today, and working as expected so far. Waiting for new AGESA code by next month
    Last edited by Jackalito; 11-26-2020 at 03:10 PM.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

  3. #153
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Just wanted to update on my situation. I am still running the BIOS beta version 2502 downloaded from the link in the first page and managed to sucessfully set my memory to 3800 CL14 using the safe presets for subtiming tuning using the DRAM calculator and FCLK at 1900 mHz. However, trying to OC the memory to 4000 MHz is stable with the FCLK at 1900 with the downside of higher latencies (71 ns, compared to 59 ns achieved with 3800 MHz and FCLK 1900 for 1:1:1). Although AIDA 64 shows the memory bus at 2000 MHz it is incorrect given that ryzen master shows it was actually 1900. Setting manually in the BIOS the FCLK to 2000 to reach parity of the IMC with the DRAM results in the inability of the system to boot. The culprit is clearly to me the FCLK being unable to run any higher than 1900, at least for now.
    Any ideas on what to do to push the FCLK beyond 1900 and stable?

    Thanks.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos cachemem3800safe.png  

    cachemem4000cl16.png  

    Last edited by Scary_chicken; 11-26-2020 at 04:14 PM.

  4. #154
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackalito PC Specs
    Jackalito PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Chrosshair VIII Hero (X570)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4 G.SKILL TridentZ (2x8GB) F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB XFX Speedster Merc 319
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1220
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" 34UC79G-B [2560x1080] LED IPS Curved 144Hz FreeSync
    Storage #11 x SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB. M.2 NVMe PCIe
    Storage #21 x SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1TB. SATA3; 1 x HDD Toshiba X300 5TB. 7200 RPM SATA3
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer II 280
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850 Modular 850W 80 PLUS Gold
    Keyboard Logitech Gaming G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Stealth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech PRO X/Z625 2.1 Speaker Set
    OS Windows 10 x64 PRO for Workstations x64 (20H2)
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 UPS APC Back 1400VA
    Accessory #2 Fan Cases: 3x Noctua NF-P14s Redux 140mm PWM
    Jackalito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Scary_chicken View Post
    Just wanted to update on my situation. I am still running the BIOS beta version 2502 downloaded from the link in the first page and managed to sucessfully set my memory to 3800 CL14 using the safe presets for subtiming tuning using the DRAM calculator and FCLK at 1900 mHz. However, trying to OC the memory to 4000 MHz is stable with the FCLK at 1900 with the downside of higher latencies (71 ns, compared to 59 ns achieved with 3800 MHz and FCLK 1900 for 1:1:1). Although AIDA 64 shows the memory bus at 2000 MHz it is incorrect given that ryzen master shows it was actually 1900. Setting manually in the BIOS the FCLK to 2000 to reach parity of the IMC with the DRAM results in the inability of the system to boot. The culprit is clearly to me the FCLK being unable to run any higher than 1900, at least for now.
    Any ideas on what to do to push the FCLK beyond 1900 and stable?

    Thanks.
    We need newer AGESA revisions in order to facilitate overclocks of 1900+ more easily. Depending on the quality of your IMC you should be able to reach it once the new code is published.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

  5. #155
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula 2701 beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    148

    Those BIOS drive me nuts...

    Here's the story so far... had 2 kits 2x8Gb of G.Skill, 1 was 4000 and one 4133. Worked smoothless @3600 CAS14 until BIOS 2206, then no more luck.
    Sold the 4133 kit and grabbed another 4000, identical model (the older is december 2019, the newer november 2020).
    With the new kit I can run 12 hours of Kharu @3800 CAS14 before getting an error, rock solid @3800 CAS16.
    If I add the older kit, then comes the nightmare... can't even run 3800 CAS16, need to raise them up to CAS18.
    That's absolutely a non sense, unless I'm missing some specific BIOS setting for 4 DIMMs configurations... but if they exist, I guess Calculator would have shown them.

    So, my final word is the same: those BIOS are HORRIBLE for 4 DIMMs rig.

    Gonna give a try to v2702, but I guess nothing will improve.

    Baio
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  6. #156
    ROG Enthusiast Array Jackalito PC Specs
    Jackalito PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Chrosshair VIII Hero (X570)
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)16GB DDR4 G.SKILL TridentZ (2x8GB) F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB XFX Speedster Merc 319
    Sound CardRealtek ALC1220
    MonitorLG Ultrawide 34" 34UC79G-B [2560x1080] LED IPS Curved 144Hz FreeSync
    Storage #11 x SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB. M.2 NVMe PCIe
    Storage #21 x SSD Samsung 850 EVO 1TB. SATA3; 1 x HDD Toshiba X300 5TB. 7200 RPM SATA3
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer II 280
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850 Modular 850W 80 PLUS Gold
    Keyboard Logitech Gaming G513 Carbon
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Logitech G Pro X
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Stealth
    Headset/Speakers Logitech PRO X/Z625 2.1 Speaker Set
    OS Windows 10 x64 PRO for Workstations x64 (20H2)
    Network RouterASUS RT-AC87U
    Accessory #1 UPS APC Back 1400VA
    Accessory #2 Fan Cases: 3x Noctua NF-P14s Redux 140mm PWM
    Jackalito's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    52

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Those BIOS drive me nuts...

    Here's the story so far... had 2 kits 2x8Gb of G.Skill, 1 was 4000 and one 4133. Worked smoothless @3600 CAS14 until BIOS 2206, then no more luck.
    Sold the 4133 kit and grabbed another 4000, identical model (the older is december 2019, the newer november 2020).
    With the new kit I can run 12 hours of Kharu @3800 CAS14 before getting an error, rock solid @3800 CAS16.
    If I add the older kit, then comes the nightmare... can't even run 3800 CAS16, need to raise them up to CAS18.
    That's absolutely a non sense, unless I'm missing some specific BIOS setting for 4 DIMMs configurations... but if they exist, I guess Calculator would have shown them.

    So, my final word is the same: those BIOS are HORRIBLE for 4 DIMMs rig.

    Gonna give a try to v2702, but I guess nothing will improve.

    Baio
    4-DIMM configurations seem problematic with the current AGESA and the latest BIOS releases published by ASUS. Hopefully it'll get better with new firmware. That's one of the reasons why I'm not having major issues, I only sport 2 RAM sticks.
    In space no one can hear you scream.

  7. #157
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    So far so good, i have had trouble getting all 4 sticks of 8 GB memory higher than 3600, at 3800 now. Screenshots should say the rest, overall stable. But when crash does happen bios does act funny, sometimes wont boot to vga, sometimes stuck on hdd, sometimes i have to clear cmos and reload my saved profile, but overall it does not happen unless i push the system past where it's at now.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cinbench.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	230.7 KB 
ID:	87022Click image for larger version. 

Name:	geekbench.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	41.6 KB 
ID:	87023Click image for larger version. 

Name:	membench.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	113.0 KB 
ID:	87024Click image for larger version. 

Name:	memcpu.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	293.8 KB 
ID:	87025Click image for larger version. 

Name:	timspy.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	12.4 KB 
ID:	87026

  8. #158
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array MultiDoc PC Specs
    MultiDoc PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Crosshair VIII Impact
    ProcessorAMD 5950X (Burrow CPU pump/block/reservoir combo)
    Memory (part number)Crucial BL2K32G36C16U4B
    Graphics Card #1ASUS 3090 TUF OC (EKWB waterblock)
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG35VQ
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 2TB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom loop, dual 240mm radiators: XSPC Ultra Slim + 2xNF-A12x15 & Alphacool XT45 + 2xNF-A12x25
    CaseNcase M1 v6.1
    Power SupplyCorsair SF750
    Keyboard Wooting One Premium
    Mouse Logitech G703
    Headset Audeze LCD-GX
    Mouse Pad OcUK 3XL extended
    Headset/Speakers Soundblaster Katana X
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64
    Network RouterNetGear R7000
    Accessory #1 Logitech C920 HD Pro Webcam
    Accessory #2 2 x Samsung 870 EVO 4TB
    Accessory #3 EKWB VTX pump fitted in the Burrow CPU pump/block/reservoir
    MultiDoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    77

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Those BIOS drive me nuts...

    Here's the story so far... had 2 kits 2x8Gb of G.Skill, 1 was 4000 and one 4133. Worked smoothless @3600 CAS14 until BIOS 2206, then no more luck.
    Sold the 4133 kit and grabbed another 4000, identical model (the older is december 2019, the newer november 2020).
    With the new kit I can run 12 hours of Kharu @3800 CAS14 before getting an error, rock solid @3800 CAS16.
    If I add the older kit, then comes the nightmare... can't even run 3800 CAS16, need to raise them up to CAS18.
    That's absolutely a non sense, unless I'm missing some specific BIOS setting for 4 DIMMs configurations... but if they exist, I guess Calculator would have shown them.

    So, my final word is the same: those BIOS are HORRIBLE for 4 DIMMs rig.

    Gonna give a try to v2702, but I guess nothing will improve.

    Baio
    If your ram sticks are dual rank then they overstress the IMC, for 4 sticks to work properly make sure that each stick is single rank or use 2 sticks that are either single or dual rank
    Asus Crosshair VIII Impact, 5950X, Crucial Ballistic 2x32GB @ 3600MHz, 2 x Corsair MP600 2TB, 2 x Samsung 870 Evo 4TB, Asus 3090 TUF OC, Asus ROG Swift PG35VQ, Panasonic UJ265 ODD, Ncase M1 v6.1, Corsair SF750, Logitech G703, Wooting One, Soundblaster Katana X, Audeze LCD-GX, Logitech C920 HD Pro, Win 10 Pro x64

  9. #159
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Baio73 PC Specs
    Baio73 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula 2701 beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900XT
    Memory (part number)4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire RX 5700 XT
    MonitorLG 34GK950F
    Storage #1Samsung 980PRO nVme 512Gb
    Storage #2ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i Pro RGB
    CaseLian Li 011D XL
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech G513
    Mouse Logitech G903 + Powerplay
    Headset G933 Artemis Spectrum
    Mouse Pad Logitech G840 XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech G560
    OS Windows 10 64bit
    Network RouterLynksys EA6500
    Accessory #1 Corsair Commander Pro
    Accessory #2 10xCorsair QL120 RGB fan

    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    148

    Quote Originally Posted by MultiDoc View Post
    If your ram sticks are dual rank then they overstress the IMC, for 4 sticks to work properly make sure that each stick is single rank or use 2 sticks that are either single or dual rank
    Thanks for reply.
    No, they are 4 sticks of single rank RAM, according to Thaiphoon.

    Baio
    Last edited by Baio73; 11-26-2020 at 11:50 PM.
    CASE Lian Li 011D XL CPU AMD Ryzen 3900XT COOLER Corsair H150i Pro RGB MOBO Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula RAM 4x8 G.Skill F4-4000C17D-16GTZR PSU Corsair AX860i VGA Sapphire RX 5700 XT DISPLAY LG 34GK950GF AUDIO Logitech G560 SDD Samsung 970PRO NVVe 512Gb - ADATA SX8200PNP NVMe 2Tb NPUT Logitech G903 + Powerplay - G513

  10. #160
    ROG Enthusiast Array uplink PC Specs
    uplink PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB [2 modules pending] F4-3800C14D-16GTZN running at D.O.C.P. with FCLK @ 1900 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG RTX 3090 Strix OC
    Sound CardOnBoard S/PDiF
    MonitorAsus ROG XG27UQ [used to have Asus ROG PG27UQ]
    Storage #1Corsair MP600 512GB
    Storage #2Corsair MP600 1TB
    CPU CoolerAsus ROG Ryujin 360
    CaseStreacom BC-1
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 1200
    Keyboard Logitech MX Keys [used to have Asus ROG Claymore]
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 3 [used to have Asus ROG Spatha]
    Headset Sony WH-1000XM4 [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    Mouse Pad Benq B&H BenQ ZOWIE G-SR [used to have Asus ROG Balteus]
    Headset/Speakers Plantronics/Poly Voyager Legend [used to have Asus ROG Centurion]
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2
    Network Router3x Asus ZenWiFi AX XT8

    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    60

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Baio73 View Post
    Those BIOS drive me nuts...

    Here's the story so far... had 2 kits 2x8Gb of G.Skill, 1 was 4000 and one 4133. Worked smoothless @3600 CAS14 until BIOS 2206, then no more luck.
    Sold the 4133 kit and grabbed another 4000, identical model (the older is december 2019, the newer november 2020).
    With the new kit I can run 12 hours of Kharu @3800 CAS14 before getting an error, rock solid @3800 CAS16.
    If I add the older kit, then comes the nightmare... can't even run 3800 CAS16, need to raise them up to CAS18.
    That's absolutely a non sense, unless I'm missing some specific BIOS setting for 4 DIMMs configurations... but if they exist, I guess Calculator would have shown them.

    So, my final word is the same: those BIOS are HORRIBLE for 4 DIMMs rig.

    Gonna give a try to v2702, but I guess nothing will improve.

    Baio
    Hey there buddy,

    I'm running 4 single sticks of GTZR or whatever the mem is, 3800 CL14. Two kits.

    So try following:

    Push there 2701 BiOS, clear CMOS, set leave everything as it is, try this:
    1. pick D.O.C.P. for RAM.
    2. downclock RAM to 3200 MHz
    3. pick 1600 MHz FCLK
    4. check out whether the timings autodetected by BiOS's DB fit the description, at least first five values or whatever.

    Boot it.

Page 16 of 27 FirstFirst ... 6 14 15 16 17 18 26 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •