Page 25 of 27 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 LastLast
Results 241 to 250 of 270
  1. #241
    New ROGer Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3202 bios
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3900X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Royal 3600 C14's (2x16) arrived this week, so far so good. They are 1.45v vs 1.35 at DCOP, I guess the tighter timings require more voltage? Probably wasting them somewhat as I am running pretty much stock DCOP and basic 13% AI3 based OC. But I may tweak the settings somewhat down the road.

    Loaded up bios 3003 (from 2702), running for almost 2 days now with no issues - but again running I'm 3900x and DCOP settings, nothing fancy. I've given up on 4 dimms for now. IF it all gets sorted out I may try to run 64GB again with 4x16's (for content - LR and PS mainly, but also run some VM's as well), but otherwise any cpu/gpu upgrades seems to be a ways off anyway based on lack of availability of the 5950x and 6x00 series

  2. #242
    New ROGer Array DrSlump76 PC Specs
    DrSlump76 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG CROSSHAIR VIII IMPACT
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M2C3466C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 GAMING OC
    MonitorLG 27UL500
    Storage #1Corsair Force MP600
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 860 EVO
    CPU CoolerWraith Prism
    CaseInWin A1+
    Power SupplyInWin 650W 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair A70
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Windows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Sorry RedSector73, you're right.
    This is my config:
    https://valid.x86.fr/912ctc

    So, if i correctly understood, yout system is stable when you enable the "idle states " fixes.
    What's the latest bios you can run stable on your system without disabling or limiting power saving features?

    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    @DrSlump76 can you fill your system specifications, otherwise I have to pull out my trusty magic eight-ball and guess and .....

    WHEA errors may/may-not be a RAM issue. I have a clue for this one, disable c-states has been the resounding sucess at stopping these errors. Which suggests that for some reason CPU power is going too low when idle. Disabling c-states (power saving feature) seems to be a temp fix for WHEA problems and will see slightly higher idle temp as well.

    Found the post of changes made for WHEA errors, as follows:-

    What seems to have resolved this issue for me is:

    1. Updating to bios 3003
    2. Disable CPU C-States & DF Cstates under Advanced-> AMD CBS
    3. Set "Power Supply Idle Control" option from AUTO to "Typical Idle Current";
    4. Enable CPPC & CPPC Preferred cores (not sure how much this affects stability);

    I can replicate the hard reboots consistently, by enabling/defaulting the above settings.

    To be safe I also did the following in windows:

    5. Disable all power saving features in windows and set to max performance;
    6. Update all windows drivers.
    7. Run "sfc /scannow" followed by "Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth" to ensure my windows installation was not corrupted.

    I've never personally had the WHEA error issue but since YMMV this is a suggested temp fix.

  3. #243
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    878

    @DrSlump76 I'll state it again never had BIOS issue, 3303 is working as intended without applying any c-state fix, this has worked for others with issues.

    Please fill in your PC specs, it helps us, to help you.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 12-12-2020 at 04:55 AM.

  4. #244
    ROG Member Array WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi) w/BIOS 3003
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)4 x 8GB PVS416G440C9K (non-QVL) @3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080Ti Gaming OC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAcer x27
    Storage #1Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    Storage #22 x Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
    Headset/Speakers 2 x PSB Alpha PS1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by DrSlump76 View Post
    Sorry RedSector73, you're right.
    This is my config:
    https://valid.x86.fr/912ctc

    So, if i correctly understood, yout system is stable when you enable the "idle states " fixes.
    What's the latest bios you can run stable on your system without disabling or limiting power saving features?

    Thanks
    Just a heads up that in "2. Disable CPU C-States & DF Cstates under Advanced-> AMD CBS" you might want to try disabling C-states first and see if that fixes your issue/s as the cost is a relatively minor impact of around 7W to 8W on your fabric power consumption at idle. Disabling Global C-State Control will adversely affect the performance of your CPU.

  5. #245
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Updated to 3003 and still get random reboots i never get blue screens just a reboot power cycle my specs are
    Crosshair viii hero
    5900x
    4 x 8gb gskill 3600 c16
    Rtx 3080 fe
    Corsair rmi 850w

  6. #246
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    878

    Quote Originally Posted by WhoSaidThat View Post
    Just a heads up that in "2. .... Disabling Global C-State Control will adversely affect the performance of your CPU.
    How does low power state effect performance, care to explain this statement ?

  7. #247
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Anyone know a fix for these reboots its getting a joke now, brand new build and I cant game without worrying if my system will just reboot

  8. #248
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by steverebo View Post
    Anyone know a fix for these reboots its getting a joke now, brand new build and I cant game without worrying if my system will just reboot
    How old is your PSU? Just had an AX1200 go south on me after moving to a 3080 Aorus. Wouldnt throw bluescreens just hard reset. Also was annoying to nail it down as I could stress test the CPU and GPU all day seperately but as soon as I fired up a game it would randomly reset. Sometimes instantly sometimes after 5-10 minutes. Replaced it with an AX850 Titanium and haven't had a problem since. My AX1200 was just over 10yrs old so it served me well.

  9. #249
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Psu is less than a year old I've had no issues with it yet it it whines a little but that's normal for this model. It was previously running a 10900k @ 5.2Ghz and rtx 2080 ti with no issues

    Is there any way of confirming the psu?

    I can game for 6 hours sometimes without an issue or I can game for an hour and boom restart

  10. #250
    ROG Member Array WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    WhoSaidThat PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VIII Hero (Wifi) w/BIOS 3003
    Processor3900X
    Memory (part number)4 x 8GB PVS416G440C9K (non-QVL) @3600
    Graphics Card #1Asus STRIX 2080Ti Gaming OC
    Sound CardAsus Xonar Phoebus
    MonitorAcer x27
    Storage #1Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    Storage #22 x Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
    CPU CoolerNoctua D15S
    CaseSilverstone FT02
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Tournament
    Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
    Headset/Speakers 2 x PSB Alpha PS1
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    How does low power state effect performance, care to explain this statement ?
    It's from info provided by The Stilt on overclock.net:

    "So regarding the idle restart issue, aka "Event 41" problem:

    Based on the testing, disabling option called "DF CStates" found in AMD CBS-menu (Advanced / AMD CBS / NBIO Common Options / SMU Common Options) should solve the issue.

    The CBS-menu also contains a second C-State related option (Global C-State Control) that has some redundant functionality and can be used as well however, if this option is used it will negatively affect both the CPU power consumption and performance as well. Because of that, the "Global C-State Control" setting should remain at the default "Auto" setting, while the "DF CState" -setting should be disabled.

    Unless the user encounters the idle restart symptom associated with the "41 code" events in the Windows Even Viewer, there is no need for the user to change this setting.

    Both the problem and the fix are universal, and not either ASUS or Crosshair VIII specific."

Page 25 of 27 FirstFirst ... 15 23 24 25 26 27 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •