Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array zocker PC Specs
    zocker PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z490-H GAMING
    Processori9-10850K
    Memory (part number)32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
    Graphics Card #1RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorAcer Predator XB273K
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO NVMe M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 860 EVO 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua DH15-S
    CaseENTHOO 719
    Power Supplybe quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1000W
    Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapid Fire
    Mouse ROG Gladius II
    Mouse Pad HyperX HX-MPFS-S-L FURY S Speed Edition Pro
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterFritzbox 6590
    zocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    137

    Hi, i am on a 10940x + 3090 FE + 32GB + APEX VI, and i have the same Perfonance downgrade.
    10 FPS downgrade is too much.
    Is the 3105 Bios slow too?!
    Last edited by zocker; 12-05-2020 at 03:31 AM.
    i9-10850K
    ROG STRIX Z490-H GAMING
    RTX 3090 Founders Edition
    32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX
    Samsung SSD 960 EVO 250GB
    Sound Blaster ZxR

  2. #12
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Hi

    Have to bump my thread, there is a "New" bios i havent tryed jet..... at the end of last year 3301 was Release... If i find Some time next weekend i will try it

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    90

    Quote Originally Posted by scryed View Post
    hi and greetings from germany

    as first sorry for my engl but i hope this is understanable , so i did a update from bios v3006 to 3201 , no problems with the update , had no problems with 3006 and also 3201 works fine so far

    did no major changes within the bios while i was on 3006 and now 3201 both have the same settings allmost everything is stock , only xmp was switched on and turned of some rgb , and i made sure the every other setting within the bios is the same

    this bios had a major impackt on my frames i lost round 2000 graphics score benchmarking 3dmark time spy

    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/1.../spy/15296456#

    this 8 benchmarks show , the first to the left is on 3006 , the next 6 are 3201 , the last to the right is the second bios on my board what i updated to 3006

    the same witth other benchmark for example the valley benchmark , the left is 3006 and the right is 3201

    Attachment 86854


    my pc settings

    ASUS ROG Rampage VI Apex
    Ram 32 gig quad kit 3000mhz
    nvidia 3090 fe

    as first i thougt the while on the new bios the pcie x 16 3.0 dosent work fine , while running a game ans also gpu-z it jumped to 16 3.0 but sometimes it diped down to 2.0 ........ i tought nothing of it may the dip is when the card is not pushed enough .... this dips are just a part of a second went down and right backl up so i think this is normal behavior

    edit

    like i said i compared both bios setting i did with 3006 and 3201 everything is set so the same .
    I am on an Omega, and with the last 3 bios versions performance took a big hit. Unless you were having problems with 3006, just flash it back to 3006.

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    @RichKnecht thanks for the reply ..... its sad to hear that it is the same on other models too and yes i will go back to 3006

    HEY !!!!!!!!!!! are there no mods or employees from asus / rog in this forum ...... what the hell

    is asus mocking its users or try to drive them away ?

    anyway the same **** lilke last year ............... new year and new bios so why dont i try this out .............. and beware it is the same extrem loss in gpu power ... and the bios discription is mocking its user

    Version 3301 2020/12/28 2. Improve system performance.
    Version 3201 2020/11/10 1. Improve system performance and stability.
    Version 3105 2020/08/05 3.Improve system performance
    Version 3006 2020/02/14 Improve system performance and stability

    here i did a 3dmark test this morning , first went back to bios1 (fortunately the board hath 2 bios) bios 1 still had 3201 after this i updated to 3301 and compared it with 3006

    the first is 3006 , second is 3201 and the third is 3301
    https://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/1.../spy/17678130#


    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	****.jpg 
Views:	11 
Size:	222.9 KB 
ID:	87642

    if there is some bios setting to turn on or turn of ust tell us .................

    Edit

    Just wild guessing maybe there are Some Power save Funktions at work.... I should take a Look in how much Power the gpu draws with each bios (from the pcie Port and each Power plug on the gpu)

    If a bios hath a low inpact on the CPU because Intel and so, but Not the gpu
    Last edited by scryed; 01-23-2021 at 05:46 PM.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    96
    Posts
    480

    Its the MC patches. Ever since the words Spectre and Meldown were introduced every Microcode update takes a performance hit trying to dodge exploits. Look over in the modded BIOS section where Newer BIOS with some rewards have been molded with older microcode's to improve performance and drop temps.
    Something else to keep in mind are Nvidia driver versions, updates are not always a good thing.

    Just because the BIOS is newer doesn't mean its better.
    Last edited by BigJohnny; 01-27-2021 at 09:22 AM.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    No thats Not IT 100% nothing to do with MC patches

    First the Microcode Updates should if they ever do inpact only the CPU and i can tell you i have a few Intel CPU and i had never any noticeable inpakt on my PC..... Maybe on a older cpu but Not a X299 Board + CPU or newer

    And would you have take a closer Look on my Benchmarks you would have seen that there i no inpakt on CPU performance only the Performance of the gpu takes a massive Hit

    If you would have take a even closer look you would have seen that the graphics score went down arround 2500 points and that is massive that means 26 fps.... In others Benchmarks 10 fps also in games arround 10 - 15 frames los

    And please bios Updates are important, better compatibly with RAM, New Features and safty, sometimes even Support for New Cpus

    There is something other at play.....

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 10900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 860 EVO SSD 2Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 21277
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    713

    I'm going to simply remain in the " If it ain't broke. Don't Break it" mode with these Bios updates. I'm on 3105 but afraid to downgrade to 3006 ince I have a newer CPU and I don't know when the Microcode update changes occurred to the newer processors.
    Intel Core i9 10900X @4.7ghz @1.182v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 3105]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 30909 FE
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Ok if you running 3105 it could allready be slower and you maybee play with 10 frames and more less than nessesary but i wont know that because i went from 3006 to 3201 to 3301 and this both are slower.....

    v3006 should be not a Problem for your CPU because iam running a 10940x same Generation like your CPU anyway like you wont downgrade because it could affect your ferfomance i wont Upgrade for now because i dont know if 3105 would affect my gpu any higher does it

    I know i repeat myself alot every bios i tryed never did anything to my CPU performance, no changes in any CPU releated Benchmarks but gpu Performance went down by alot

    I know you shouldnt change a running System but every now and than a Update could bring better Performance, better RAM compatiblity and sometimes New CPU and Features and also safty stuff....

    A while ago i opent a Support Ticket and got a awenser that they will Look into it but it could take some time

  9. #19
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Good morning......

    New bios v. is released, if iam not to lazy i will try this one, unfortunatly on Asus Homepage are no Release notes atached

    Does anyone know if Asus intend to make X299 Boards rBar compatibel?

    Version 3404
    2021/03/25

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Quote Originally Posted by scryed View Post
    Good morning......

    New bios v. is released, if iam not to lazy i will try this one, unfortunatly on Asus Homepage are no Release notes atached

    Does anyone know if Asus intend to make X299 Boards rBar compatibel?

    Version 3404
    2021/03/25
    New 3404 Bios supports rBar on x299 motherboards like Apex

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •