Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array flyinion PC Specs
    flyinion PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GL703GE-ES73
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VIII non-WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)GSkill DDR4-3600 Trident Z Neo CL18
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Super FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorAsus PG279Q & LG 34GN850
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 970 Plus 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung Evo 860 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop, cuplex kryos next, AC ST30 V2 360 & ST30 420, aquacomputer D5 PWM, AC 250mm res
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe 2 (719)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Gold 1000W
    Keyboard Steelseries M750 TKL
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 700
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro + GameDAC
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QcK Limited
    Headset/Speakers Kanto YU2 with old Yamah HTIB sub
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterGoogle WiFi
    Accessory #1 Honeycomb Alpha flight yoke, Logitech rudder pedals
    Accessory #2 Blue Yeti X
    Accessory #3 Asus BW-16D1X-U blu-ray burner

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    117

    Crosshair VIII Hero fan setup for "CPU" fan when using custom loop

    Hi guys, trying to figure out the best way to configure my fan tuning for using a custom loop instead of air or AIO. I have been using a single rad until this weekend when I added a second and a temp probe to the loop. I had the rad fans daisy chained to the CPU_FAN header. I'd like to set everything to be controlled based on the temp sensor in the loop. In the BIOS of course there is no option for this unless connected to the AIO header instead. In the AI Suite fan control you can set the CPU fan header to be a "Water Cooler" but then you can't set the fan speed at all. Should I plug these fans into the AIO port and try that? Or can you disable the error about having no CPU fan and I should just have all the fans on regular headers? I do have the PWM feed from my D5 connected to the W_PUMP header.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    166
    Posts
    2,080

    Hello,

    The best method is to use either the Water Out or Water In temp headers to install a 10K Ohm sensor to monitor coolant temp. That way, via Q-FAN configuration in the UEFI you can adjust the fan curve based on coolant temperature. You can ignore CPU fan speed and run all radiator fans off the available chassis fan headers.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array flyinion PC Specs
    flyinion PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)GL703GE-ES73
    MotherboardCrosshair Hero VIII non-WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 3700X
    Memory (part number)GSkill DDR4-3600 Trident Z Neo CL18
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Super FTW3 Hydro Copper
    MonitorAsus PG279Q & LG 34GN850
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 970 Plus 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung Evo 860 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop, cuplex kryos next, AC ST30 V2 360 & ST30 420, aquacomputer D5 PWM, AC 250mm res
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Luxe 2 (719)
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra Gold 1000W
    Keyboard Steelseries M750 TKL
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 700
    Headset Steelseries Arctis Pro + GameDAC
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QcK Limited
    Headset/Speakers Kanto YU2 with old Yamah HTIB sub
    OS Win10 Pro
    Network RouterGoogle WiFi
    Accessory #1 Honeycomb Alpha flight yoke, Logitech rudder pedals
    Accessory #2 Blue Yeti X
    Accessory #3 Asus BW-16D1X-U blu-ray burner

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    117

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello,

    The best method is to use either the Water Out or Water In temp headers to install a 10K Ohm sensor to monitor coolant temp. That way, via Q-FAN configuration in the UEFI you can adjust the fan curve based on coolant temperature. You can ignore CPU fan speed and run all radiator fans off the available chassis fan headers.
    Thanks. I do have a temp sensor installed as of this weekend when I rebuilt the loop to add that second rad. So, you're saying remove the fans I have connected to the CPU_FAN header and just disable the warning in the BIOS for that and connect them to a different header instead? I had definitely thought about it but wasn't sure if you could actually disable the BIOS freaking out about no CPU fan signal. Is there a way to make it treat the pump RPM as the "hey there's no cooling" if that fails for instance vs a CPU fan failing? I seem to remember there wasn't but figured I'd double check. I have my PWM D5 sending a PWM feed to the W_PUMP header

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array plazing PC Specs
    plazing PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorRyzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3200C16D-32GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1ZOTAC AMP! GTX 1070Ti
    MonitorLenovo Legion Y27q-20
    Storage #1ADATA XPG SX8200NP
    Storage #2Seagate Constellation ES.3 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Loop
    CaseFractal Design Define R6
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 Mk2 LP RAPIDFIRE
    Mouse Logitech G600
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Accessory #1 Fiio Q1 DAC/AMP

    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I just connect the pump to CPU header, so if the pump not running it'll fail to boot. Rads fan to the chassis header.

    My pump is set to static 60%, and fans based on temperature probes at my gpu terminal

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •