Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Setup u.2 RAID on X299 SAGE WS

    Ok, there is nothing printed on how to do this. No youtube, nothing. I have setup hardware raids for decades. Whats the deal with this?

    I see two devices in the NVMe list. I simply need to RAID0 them together.

    I enable RST... easy.

    I go to the setup wizard, and no devices appear.

    I see lots of settings for m.2 RAID. Nothing in BIOS referring to u.2.

    I need some basic direction here, please.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    No one else using u.2?

    At this point, it would be nice to even get to use one of them.

    I see them in BIOS. In AHCI mode, they still dont show. They are found in BIOS, but nowhere else.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Where do I go for help with this?? Its very fundamental, and there is nothing to help anywhere.

    HOW DO YOU GET A U.2 DEVICE TO WORK!!

    Its as basic as that.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    So, noone is using u.2??

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG35VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerWatercool MO-RA3 420 Pro
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Accessory #1 D5-Dualtop Modul & Heatkiller Tube 150
    Accessory #2 Optimus Signature V2 CPU block
    Accessory #3 Optimus Absolute GPU block
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    138

    Quote Originally Posted by martinav View Post
    Ok, there is nothing printed on how to do this. No youtube, nothing. I have setup hardware raids for decades. Whats the deal with this?

    I see two devices in the NVMe list. I simply need to RAID0 them together.

    I enable RST... easy.

    I go to the setup wizard, and no devices appear.

    I see lots of settings for m.2 RAID. Nothing in BIOS referring to u.2.

    I need some basic direction here, please.

    Thank you.
    Hello Martinav,

    For you to do a RAID with NVMe SSDs, you need the drives to be mapped to the chipset or to a storage controller that supports the feature.

    Skylake-X CPUs support either 28 or 44 PCIe lanes direct to the CPU, this does not allow RAID configuration with NVMe drives, if the drives are mapped to the CPU.

    You may want to double check with Asus about this, since it may vary between motherboards if additional lanes are provided by the chipset, it's critical when setting up NVMe RAID to understand whether those U.2 slots are mapped to the CPU or the Chipset.

    Another option to consider, if Intel VROC is supported via RSTe, and Intel VROC_HW_Key on your board. NVMe RAID type and function will depend on the Intel VROC_HW_Key installed.


    Hope this helps, Good Luck
    Last edited by Braegnok; 12-02-2020 at 08:55 PM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •