Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Trying to install second m2 SSD

    Hi, with the maximus ix hero I am booting from a 250gb PnY NvME SSD in m2_1. I have been for awhile everything works fine. I just got a 960 EVO and i pop it into m2_2 and I cant get into BIOS or windows. It gets stick on the "Push delete or f2 to enter bios....Overclock 19%" screen. And it will just sit on that screen forever. I tried delete and f2 of course nothing works. The moment I unplug the 960 from m2_2 I can boot into bios or windows or wherever. The only other SATA port Im using is a 1 tb HDD. But thats plugged into SATA_3. So as far as im aware sata3 isnt turned off when using both nvme slots. I tried searching this and theres a couple like it but I cant seem to find anything close. Please help.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    156

    Quote Originally Posted by IIEleven11 View Post
    Hi, with the maximus ix hero I am booting from a 250gb PnY NvME SSD in m2_1. I have been for awhile everything works fine. I just got a 960 EVO and i pop it into m2_2 and I cant get into BIOS or windows. It gets stick on the "Push delete or f2 to enter bios....Overclock 19%" screen. And it will just sit on that screen forever. I tried delete and f2 of course nothing works. The moment I unplug the 960 from m2_2 I can boot into bios or windows or wherever. The only other SATA port Im using is a 1 tb HDD. But thats plugged into SATA_3. So as far as im aware sata3 isnt turned off when using both nvme slots. I tried searching this and theres a couple like it but I cant seem to find anything close. Please help.

    Try swapping the PNY to M2.2 and see if it boots. If it does then you know that M2.2 socket is OK. Then put your 960 in M2.1, remove the PNY from M".2 and try to boot to BIOS. If it doesn't boot then there is a good chance that the 960 is faulty. If you can get to BIOS then put the PNY back in socket M2.2 and see if it will boot again. I take it that you are on the latest Bios (1301).

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by no1yak View Post
    Try swapping the PNY to M2.2 and see if it boots. If it does then you know that M2.2 socket is OK. Then put your 960 in M2.1, remove the PNY from M".2 and try to boot to BIOS. If it doesn't boot then there is a good chance that the 960 is faulty. If you can get to BIOS then put the PNY back in socket M2.2 and see if it will boot again. I take it that you are on the latest Bios (1301).

    So the pc will not boot with the new ssd in any slot. It will boot with the old boot drive ive been using in either ssd slot. so im guessing its a bad ssd. is there any other ways to check this? I cant even get into bios with it. I was thinking maybe if I had the PC already turned on and logged into windows then putting the ssd in, i could maybe get a read on it. Or is that dangerous? And yes im using bios 1301
    Last edited by IIEleven11; 11-29-2020 at 12:11 PM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Can a mod move this please

    Can a mod move this somewhere more people will be able to see it/help? Or i can just re write it in a diff part of the forums

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array no1yak PC Specs
    no1yak PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X I Wi-Fi/ Hero IX
    Processori9 9900KF/ i7 7700K both @ 4.7Ghz
    Memory (part number)Gskill F4-3200C16D / Corsair 2400 LPX
    Graphics Card #1Evga GTX 1070 SC ACX3 / Evga 1060 SC
    Sound CardEssence One DAC Muses edition
    MonitorEizo CG275W/ Dell U2719D
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO Plus NVMe / 950 Pro
    Storage #2Samsung EVO 950 Pro M.2 + 850 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair 150i pro/Noctua NHu-14S
    CaseCorsair 500D/ Corsair 450D
    Power SupplyEvga 650 P2 /Corsair HX750
    Keyboard Cherry MX6
    Mouse Corsair M65
    Headset/Speakers Corsair SP2500 + Senn HD650 + HD 600
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 20H2

    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    156

    Quote Originally Posted by IIEleven11 View Post
    So the pc will not boot with the new ssd in any slot. It will boot with the old boot drive ive been using in either ssd slot. so im guessing its a bad ssd. is there any other ways to check this? I cant even get into bios with it. I was thinking maybe if I had the PC already turned on and logged into windows then putting the ssd in, i could maybe get a read on it. Or is that dangerous? And yes im using bios 1301
    Not a good idea to insert the 960 while the PC is powered on, you could damage the MB. Can you try that drive in another machine, a friends or family. Failing that just RMA the drive or return it to where you purchased it from.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Ya i dont have another pc to try it in and i got it on offerup froma private seller. I guess ill try and return it to him, thank you

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •