Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    New build not posting, please help!

    Hi,

    I'm building a new PC and I am running into an issue I can't solve. If anybody can offer some help or advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

    My components:

    Asus Rog Strix X570-i Gaming
    AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    16gb x 2 G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600mhz cl16
    RTX 3070

    When I try to boot, I get no signal on my monitor, and the POST state LED is yellow, indicating a DRAM issue.

    I've tried
    - Reseating both ram sticks
    - Only using 1 ram stick (tested both sticks individually, in both slots)
    - Reseating CPU
    - Connecting to monitor with both display port cable and hdmi cable
    - Using a different graphics card
    - Checking PSU connections
    - Clearing CMOS (via jumper short circuit)

    RGB on motherboard, ram, gpu is all lighting up. All fans are running fine.

    When I ordered the motherboard, it specifically said it would support zen3, but I am unable to check which bios version I have, and to my understanding I can't update bios without having a functional cpu and actually booting up, which I can't. Would an unsupported cpu produce a yellow DRAM error?

    Is a DRAM issue enough to not even get a video signal? I would expect to atleast get some more helpful error messages, but all I have is the yellow led indicator.

    Does anybody have any idea what could be the cause of this issue, or suggestions to how I can proceed in figuring this out?


    Best regards,

    John
    Last edited by Krigeren; 12-06-2020 at 03:27 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Could it be your memory? Is it on the QVL list? But you are right to think it could be something else.

    Have you tried different monitor (HDMI) cables? Are all of your cables all the way in? Are all of your GPU power cables connected?

    Are you getting any error codes, visual or otherwise? Have you connected the little speaker to your motherboard that will give you beep codes?

    Also, could you test the memory (and other components) in another rig?
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 12-06-2020 at 04:44 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Also, according to AMD for your CPU:

    System Memory
    System Memory Specification
    Up to 3200MHz
    System Memory Type
    DDR4

    https://www.amd.com/en/products/cpu/amd-ryzen-9-5900x

    I'm not sure if you have a problem here or not but it states up to 3200 and your memory is 3600 Mhz.

  4. #4
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I couldn't find the QVL list for this motherboard, but I've tried a different set of ram running 3200mhz, and it failed with the same error. Vendors are G.Skill and Crucial, so I find it hard to believe they would not be supported.

    I have tried different cables, yes, both display port and HDMI. I've checked all connections thoroughly. All GPU cables all connected.

    I'm not getting any error codes besides the yellow light indicating a DRAM issue. I have not connected a speaker, and it seems it was not included in either the motherboard accessories or my case accessories.

    I have tested the GPUs in another rig and they work fine. I can't test CPU and RAM in another rig, but 4 sticks of ram can't all broken. Could be the cpu, but it seems more likely to be the motherboard if anything is dead on arrival.

    My main theory is it's a BIOS issue, even though it was specifically listed as supporting zen 3. Current plan is to get a hold of a zen2 processor, and hopefully be able to use that to update it.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB | SSD Corsair MP510 240GB | SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 21H1/VB/19043.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    304
    Posts
    563

    Hi,

    If it helps you, at the top right of each ASUS motherboard, there is a label with the serial number of the board and the buit-in BIOS version (the last 4 digits being your BIOS version), if the version is equal to or greater than 2606, the motherboard is Ryzen 5xxx compatible, if the version is lower, the motherboard is not Ryzen 5xxx compatible out of the box and the BIOS must be updated.

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    If it helps you, at the top right of each ASUS motherboard, there is a label with the serial number of the board and the buit-in BIOS version (the last 4 digits being your BIOS version), if the version is equal to or greater than 2606, the motherboard is Ryzen 5xxx compatible, if the version is lower, the motherboard is not Ryzen 5xxx compatible out of the box and the BIOS must be updated.
    That IS helpful! It's an ITX board, and while I could not find a sticker in the top right, there was one between the cpu socket and ram slots, and the last four digits are 1407, which matches a BIOS version for this board. So my main suspicion is confirmed. Thanks stranger!

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Braegnok PC Specs
    Braegnok PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10900K
    Memory (part number)F4-4000C15Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3090 FE
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG35VQ
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Pro
    CPU CoolerOptimus Signature V2
    CaseTT A700 TG
    Power SupplySeasonic SSR-1000TR
    Keyboard Das Keyboard 4 Ultimate
    Mouse G502 Lightspeed
    Headset SteelSeries Arctis Pro
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Braegnok's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    169

    USB BIOS Flashback, no CPU or memory needed,..

    https://rog.asus.com/technology/repu...ios-flashback/

  8. #8
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Braegnok View Post
    USB BIOS Flashback, no CPU or memory needed,..

    https://rog.asus.com/technology/repu...ios-flashback/
    It doesn't seem my motherboard has this function. I have EZ flash 3, EZ update, and Crash free BIOS 3. I don't have a hardware flash button.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    bios update maybe.

    Quote Originally Posted by Krigeren View Post
    Hi,

    I'm building a new PC and I am running into an issue I can't solve. If anybody can offer some help or advice, it would be greatly appreciated.

    My components:

    Asus Rog Strix X570-i Gaming
    AMD Ryzen 9 5900x
    16gb x 2 G.Skill Trident Z Neo 3600mhz cl16
    RTX 3070

    When I try to boot, I get no signal on my monitor, and the POST state LED is yellow, indicating a DRAM issue.

    I've tried
    - Reseating both ram sticks
    - Only using 1 ram stick (tested both sticks individually, in both slots)
    - Reseating CPU
    - Connecting to monitor with both display port cable and hdmi cable
    - Using a different graphics card
    - Checking PSU connections
    - Clearing CMOS (via jumper short circuit)

    RGB on motherboard, ram, gpu is all lighting up. All fans are running fine.

    When I ordered the motherboard, it specifically said it would support zen3, but I am unable to check which bios version I have, and to my understanding I can't update bios without having a functional cpu and actually booting up, which I can't. Would an unsupported cpu produce a yellow DRAM error?

    Is a DRAM issue enough to not even get a video signal? I would expect to atleast get some more helpful error messages, but all I have is the yellow led indicator.

    Does anybody have any idea what could be the cause of this issue, or suggestions to how I can proceed in figuring this out?


    Best regards,

    John
    probably you have to update bios to support the 5000 series.
    you need to have atleast 2606
    check this list.
    https://rog.asus.com/motherboards/ro.../helpdesk_cpu/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •