Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    ROG Maximus XI Hero - power cable question

    Hello all, I'm working on my first build and I seem to have hit a snag. My motherboard power socket doesn't match up with any of the cables that came with my PSU, Seasonic Focus PX 850. I'm attaching a pic from my mobo manual.

    The pic shows that socket shapes for my 8-pin cable should be

    Top row:
    Rounded
    Square
    Square
    Rounded

    Bottow row:
    Square
    Rounded
    Rounded
    Square

    But the 8 pin CPU to PSU cable that came with my PSU is

    Top row:
    Rounded
    Rounded
    Square
    Rounded

    Bottom row:
    Rounded
    Rounded
    Rounded
    Square

    I hope this makes sense. It's been so freaking hard to find any mention of these different socket shapes. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos _20201215_163803.jpg  


  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    Hi i_Humanoid

    Your motherboard has an 8 pin and a 4 pin cpu power connector.

    An 8 pin cpu power cable should fit into the 8 pin cpu power connector, the 4 pin is optional.

    Make sure it is an 8 pin cpu power cable and not an 8 pin pcie power cable.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cpu power.png 
Views:	38 
Size:	497.6 KB 
ID:	87208

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Make sure it is an 8 pin cpu power cable and not an 8 pin pcie power cable.
    Hey thanks for responding and for moving this to the correct place.

    Yeah the one I mentioned actually says CPU on one side and PSU on the other, idiot proof 😂. But yeah they just aren't the ones I need for this board. So I'm guessing I need to purchase new ones, but I don't know how to specify those connection shapes.

    It's also really confusing that this doesn't seem to be a very common problem. Like I did a lot of research and I was sure Seasonic and this mobo were pretty well known. It's so frustrating.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Wangeyed PC Specs
    Wangeyed PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z390-F
    Processori5 9600K
    Graphics Card #11080 ti

    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    50

    Quote Originally Posted by i_Humanoid View Post
    Hey thanks for responding and for moving this to the correct place.

    Yeah the one I mentioned actually says CPU on one side and PSU on the other, idiot proof 😂. But yeah they just aren't the ones I need for this board. So I'm guessing I need to purchase new ones, but I don't know how to specify those connection shapes.

    It's also really confusing that this doesn't seem to be a very common problem. Like I did a lot of research and I was sure Seasonic and this mobo were pretty well known. It's so frustrating.
    it should fit you checked you got all the cables with your psu?, all cpu power connectors are the same, other than yours has an extra 4 pin for overclocking

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Wangeyed View Post
    it should fit you checked you got all the cables with your psu?, all cpu power connectors are the same, other than yours has an extra 4 pin for overclocking
    I did. It came with 2 bags of cables, tons. But none that match up. So are you saying the shape mismatch doesn't matter?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    You didn't mention if you tried connecting it, just making sure as you're just comparing them.

    The latch on the end of the cpu power cable should be at the top when connecting it, it should go right in and latch on to the connector. (the 8 pin connector circled in yellow).

    Are the cables 2x4 pin? If they are make sure the C meets the PU.

    The actual pinout in the picture could be wrong, but you can bet the cable will fit into the connector. Go ahead and connect it, and just like that I'm feeling confident it is connected.

    If you have any questions feel free to ask.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    If you have any questions feel free to ask.
    No, I hadn't tried plugging it in because I read on some other forum or post somewhere that those shapes matter, they're to prevent you from frying your board. But...

    I just plugged it in and it fit. So I booted up into bios (which is whole other thing I have to research entirely) but right away I noticed my cpu/memory temperature is in red @ 88°C. And I know that's high. Why whould it be that hot as soon as I turn it on?

    I don't have a CPU fan yet because the one I bought just didn't fit with everything else in my case, but I didn't expect it to be running so hot so quick. I have 5 fans total and my GPU has a RAD.
    Last edited by i_Humanoid; 12-17-2020 at 01:31 AM.

  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Steelseries Prime+
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    Mouse Pad Steelseries QCK Prism XL
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,437

    Ok, you know it works !

    Are you saying you don't have a cpu cooler installed? This is the reason for the high cpu temp. Don't run your pc without a cooler.

    What cpu cooler do you have that doesn't fit?

    List your case and your cpu cooler please.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array ROG_Sic PC Specs
    ROG_Sic PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K @5.0Ghz
    Memory (part number)GSkill Trident Z RGB F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3080 Ti
    MonitorAcer Nitro XV272U 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus / 860 Evo SSD
    Storage #2WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken Z63
    CaseLian Li 011D Mini
    Power SupplyCorsair SF750 Platinum
    Keyboard Ducky Shine Zero
    Mouse Razer Viper Ultimate Ultralight Wireless
    Headset Astro A40 TR / ATH-M50X
    Mouse Pad Razer Pro Glide
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 THX
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1 Build 19043
    Network RouterNetGear Nighthawk AC1900
    Accessory #1 Logitech C920 Pro HD

    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by i_Humanoid View Post

    I don't have a CPU fan yet because the one I bought just didn't fit with everything else in my case, but I didn't expect it to be running so hot so quick. I have 5 fans total and my GPU has a RAD.
    OMG. What the heck u smoking bruh running it w/o a cpu cooler?!

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Ok, you know it works !

    Are you saying you don't have a cpu cooler installed? This is the reason for the high cpu temp. Don't run your pc without a cooler.

    What cpu cooler do you have that doesn't fit?

    List your case and your cpu cooler please.
    OK I'm upp and running. I ended up getting the Cooler Master MasterAir MA620M. And obviously my temps are in check now.

    Next up I'll need to investigate bios and relearn windows (I won't bother you guys with either).

    I do however have one more thing I would really appreciate some help with, my fans. I have 6 plus the two on the CPU rad. There are so many different names on these 4pin headers but they all look the same. Like CPU fan is obviously where I plugged in the CPU fan but the two right next to it say CPU_OPT and AIO_PUMP. Can either of those just power a fan?

    I was thinking about getting one of those hub /controllers but I just wanted to get this thing running. Anyone have a recommendation?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •