Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    CPU Use for Armoury Crate

    Why does AC need to use 3-5% CPU load for the lighting service ?

    Anything other than dark or static and CPU load for the light service seems ridiculously high.

    Item Version
    ---- -------
    Armoury Crate UWP App 3.2.4.0
    ROG Live Service 1.1.10.0
    AURA Service (Lighting Service) 3.04.24
    Armoury Crate lite service 3.2.4
    ASUS AIOFan HAL 1.1.15
    ASUS AURA Extension Card HAL 1.0.24
    ASUS AURA Motherboard HAL 1.0.69.0
    AacVGA 0.0.3.1
    KingstonDram 1.0.28
    AURA DRAM Component 1.0.54
    ENE RGB HAL 1.1.28.0
    PHISON HAL 1.0.6.0
    Patriot Viper DRAM RGB 1.0.9.1
    Patriot Viper M2 SSD RGB 1.0.6.3
    Universal Holtek RGB DRAM 1.0.0.1
    WD_BLACK AN1500 1.0.12.0

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    No really - honest question that I think requests a response from ASUS.

    Why in the industry where tiny % of performance sells a motherboard/CPU is software that eats 3-5% CPU load reasonable ?

    Sure I can turn off the lighting feature but its a big feature - just look at the size of the AURA logo on the box & advertising and tell me its not important...
    Last edited by RocketSurgeon; 12-21-2020 at 04:47 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Good News - Seems to be fixed now

    This CPU consumption was annoying me as well, not very energy efficient!

    I just installed the version from this year (2021) and the issue seems to be gone now.

    Make sure you are using static colour setting for. Changing colours all the time seems to still take ~1% CPU per device (still a waste of power).

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2021-08-19 11_43_15-Armoury Crate Versions.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	62.3 KB 
ID:	89662
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 2021-08-19 09_02_21-Task Manager-AAC.jpg  

    2021-08-19 09_02_44-Task Manager-IdleTime.jpg  

    Last edited by MycGyver; 08-19-2021 at 04:34 PM. Reason: add version image

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array ThrashZone PC Specs
    ThrashZone PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS z490 maximus XII Apex 2nd x299 Rampage VI Apex
    Processori9-10900k & i9-9940x
    Memory (part number)Trident-Z 3600c16 2nd Trident-Z 3600C16 both Samsung B-Dies
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080ti FTW3 water block 2nd Titan Xp copper water block
    MonitorAOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz & ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
    Storage #12-Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2 & 2.5" ssd's 850 pro's for os 850 evo for games
    Storage #22-LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
    CPU Cooler2-240GTX with Heatkiller-4-Pro/ vrm water block Both&x299 2-280GTX 2-D5's before and after rads
    Case2- Corsair 450D with second floors for 240GTX & 280GTX rads enclosed and filtered on top
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000P2 2nd EVGA 1200P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum 2nd Logitech G710+
    Mouse 2-Red dragon Perdition
    OS Win-7 & win-10 pro on both systems Win-7 everyday os
    Accessory #1 Optimus Foundation copper plexi 2nd Optimus SigV2
    Accessory #2 ModmyMods clear coolant
    Accessory #3 ModMyMods 3/8-5/8" clear soft tubing/ MORA 360 Pro x2
    ThrashZone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    416

    HI,
    Not sure ai suite 3 was any lower on resources but I'm sure the damage/ fragments it causes is just as bad if and when the user tries to remove it is the same lol

    Stunning part to me is asus bios setting installing this software by default lol talk about malware cripes

    Why is asus pushing this software so hard is the question.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •