Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    performance issues

    I feel like my pc is underperforming in games, i dont think i have a bad pc setup but maybe not top nodge for gaming.
    for example in csgo, a month ago i had STRIX-GTX980TI-DC3OC-6GD5-GAMING gpu and ran the game around 170-200 fps on low settings with 1280x960 resolution, now i have ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 OC Edition 24GB GDDR6X and nothing have changed.

    Adding photos of my settings and hardware.

    Any help is very much appreciated =)
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 20201220_213516.jpg  

    20201220_213557.jpg  

    20201220_213612.jpg  

    20201220_213630.jpg  

    20201220_213642.jpg  

    Skjermbilde.jpg  

    Skjermbilde2.jpg  

    Skjermbilde3.jpg  

    Skjermbilde4.jpg  

    Skjermbilde5.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array KotOr368 PC Specs
    KotOr368 PC Specs
    MotherboardApex IX,X,XI,XII,XIII
    Processori7-7,8Gen,i9-9,10,11Gen
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti FTW3
    MonitorASUS PG278QR
    Storage #1Intel SSD 545s
    Storage #2Mx500 2TB + Segate 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15s Chroma
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 TG Dark
    Power SupplySeasonic 850W Titanium
    Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins
    Mouse A4tech BLOODY J95
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    OS W10 x64

    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    76

    First GJ on that 3090.
    Second. Well Threadripper 1st gen isn't very good for gaming. And as you said after upgrade you didn't notice any improvement. I betcha you are CPU bottleneck. CS:GO is heavy CPU game so if you would have something like 10900k or 5900x it would be better. You can download MSI afterburner Let it be on background and play some match with bots then go check your CPU and GPU utilization (Usage) and i would bet your GPU would be low and CPU high. Watch this video for little bit https://youtu.be/u4dwmyS8Dl4?t=748 (12:28-13:05)

    This doesnt change that CS:GO is CPU heavy game but, you can apply this to most games
    Lower resolution = High CPU usage / Low GPU usage
    High resolution = Lower CPU usage / Higher GPU usage
    Last edited by KotOr368; 12-20-2020 at 11:14 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by KotOr368 View Post
    First GJ on that 3090.
    Second. Well Threadripper 1st gen isn't very good for gaming. And as you said after upgrade you didn't notice any improvement. I betcha you are CPU bottleneck. CS:GO is heavy CPU game so if you would have something like 10900k or 5900x it would be better. You can download MSI afterburner Let it be on background and play some match with bots then go check your CPU and GPU utilization (Usage) and i would bet your GPU would be low and CPU high. Watch this video for little bit https://youtu.be/u4dwmyS8Dl4?t=748 (12:28-13:05)

    This doesnt change that CS:GO is CPU heavy game but, you can apply this to most games
    Lower resolution = High CPU usage / Low GPU usage
    High resolution = Lower CPU usage / Higher GPU usage
    Thank you
    Ahh i understand. Well, nothing to say besides poor choice of cpu by me then :/

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Jesseinsf PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)N/A
    MotherboardASUS ROG Maximus XI Extreme (Z390)
    ProcessorIntel Core i9 9900K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMW128GX4M4E3200C16 - 128GB (4x32)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA - GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FE
    Sound CardOnboard TOSLINK to powered speakers
    MonitorMSI Creator PS321URV (32 in 4k HDR600)
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro M.2 PCIe SSD 1TB
    CPU CoolerLian Li Galahad 360 (3x Uni fan SL120)
    CaseLian Li PC-011 Dynamic XL Black (ROG Certified)
    Power SupplyCooler Master V1200 Platinum
    Keyboard RAZER HUNTSMAN ELITE - LINEAR OPTICAL SWITCH (Red) w/ PBT Keycaps
    Mouse Razer Basilisk Ultimate with Charging Dock
    Headset Bowers and Wilkins P9 Signature
    Mouse Pad LOFTMAT (16x13 inch) Cushioned Gaming Mat - "The Gaming Slim"
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo Transparent One Encore with Rel HT/1003 Subwoofer
    OS Windows 11 Pro for Workstations 64-bit
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AC5300 (Using Spectrum 400MB service)
    Accessory #1 Microsoft Xbox Elite Wireless Controller Series 2
    Accessory #2 2x Logitech BRIO ULTRA HD PRO WEBCAM
    Accessory #3 7 Uni Fan SL120 fans for PC case
    Jesseinsf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    368

    What KotOr368 said is 100% corrects when it comes to CPU and GPU.

    This is my opinion on storage, If I were you I would get rid of any HDDs and SATA SSDs and use PCIe NVME SSDs only. You can get three 2TB 970 EVO NVMe SSDs with a total of 6TB. Utilize the DIMM.2 and the onboard NVMe PCIe port. This would allow all three storage devices to have direct connection to the CPU (bypassing the Chipset). Sometimes having a lot of internal storage devices can have an effect on performance.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Jesseinsf View Post
    What KotOr368 said is 100% corrects when it comes to CPU and GPU.

    This is my opinion on storage, If I were you I would get rid of any HDDs and SATA SSDs and use PCIe NVME SSDs only. You can get three 2TB 970 EVO NVMe SSDs with a total of 6TB. Utilize the DIMM.2 and the onboard NVMe PCIe port. This would allow all three storage devices to have direct connection to the CPU (bypassing the Chipset). Sometimes having a lot of internal storage devices can have an effect on performance.
    I have 3 nvme drives and the rest is ssd. I have 1 external old drive where i copy all the stuff that i absolutely dont want to loose nomatter what
    Yeah im having a new issue as well, something makes either my games crash all the time. But it's not allways the same thing. Sometimes it's the game, gpu driver, network card and so on. i Cant figure out what it is. Everything started when i was formatting every disk on the pc, i used to use samsung magician and Over-Provisioning on all the disks, i did not turn that off before i ereased the hard drives, and i used something from a site called parted magic.
    After that i lost 10% of the storage on every disk, cant find it in disk managament, tried different software but nothing, BUT after that i have not managed to play one single day without something allways going wrong, crashes, bluescreen and so on. All the good stuff.
    I fear that i have ****ed up all my drives because of that.
    Maybe i just have to buy a new disk, remove every single one of the old ones and hope for the best?
    Last edited by Stenslaen; 12-23-2020 at 12:52 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array AS185 PC Specs
    AS185 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Lenovo Y700-17ISK
    MotherboardZenith Extreme
    ProcessorAMD 1950X
    Memory (part number)8 x G Skill F4-3200C16D-32GTZKW @ 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia Titan RTX
    Sound CardIntegrated SupremeFX
    MonitorMSi G27C4
    Storage #16 x PNY 2TB XLR8 CS3030
    Storage #23 x 1TB Crucial MX500
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water3.0 Ultimate
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 900D
    Power SupplyCooler Master MasterWatt Maker 1200W
    Keyboard Razer Ornata Chroma
    Mouse Razer Mambe TE / Logitech USB TrackMan Wheel
    Mouse Pad steelseries Cyberpunk 2077 edition
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5300e
    OS Windows 10 Home x64
    Accessory #1 Asus Hyper M.2 X16 Card V2
    Accessory #2 Asus DIMM.2 card in slot
    Accessory #3 KingMod Corsair 900D Silencing Kit
    AS185's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    85

    Hey Stenslean,

    I have the exact processor and only a bit more random access memory installed (128GB). I was witnessing all types of problems when I overclocked my RAM frequency to 3200MHz. At first it was working fine.
    So I thought so as it seems. I researched a lot for the information on the internet to achieve the best setting's. In the end, I realized that to achieve the desired optimum settings for 3200MHz, it takes a lot, I mean a lot of knowledge. All of the information on the internet is for amateurs (like me) but the rest is somewhere else and you won't find it on the internet.
    Stenslean, try maybe reverting your RAM to default frequency (2666MHz) and see how it goes from there. You have a beast of a setup with that graphics card. Nowadays, I'm running everything at stock speed and somehow it appears faster than it was overclocked. My monitor is 1080p with 165Hz refreshing rate. Every single game I run is at the highest possible settings and I'm getting a lot framerates (anywhere from 136 to 150).

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •