Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Remove/Disable start button (Asus crosshair VIII hero)

    The start button is on even when the PC is running, (i don't care if it's on when the pc is off), I was wondering if there's a way to disable only the start led when the PC is running or a way to remove the start button from the motherboard ?

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    There is a BIOS setting on my Crosshair Hero VI, and there should be a similar setting on the VIII. Check ROG effects or some other setting relating to lights. When it's on.. the HD light will flash on and off when the PC is in sleep mode. When it's off, the leds will be off unless you press them. It will temporarily flash when pressing it, but most of the time it will be off. And it won't flash when the PC is in sleep mode.

    You could remove the leds from the motherboard itself (the 2 pin connectors) but the BIOS solution is better. If you want to do that, check the manual for which connector to remove. If you remove the wrong one, the power button won't work.

    Just search your BIOS for all settings relating to lights.. trial and error which one works and then write the setting down, so that you remember where it is, if you want to change it back in the future.

  3. #3
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    351
    Posts
    8,112

    Just remember that removing anything from the board will void your warranty and if you aren't careful you could cause collateral damage. Better to cover unwanted lights with something non-conductive.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,253

    Wow, it's one tiny white LED, black piece of electrical tape of the same size as the switch on top, and you will never see light from it again, and the tape helps it blend into the motherboard.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I thought it was removable. Anyway, "Aura Only" option in BIOS is the solution. But it disable the QCode led too.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,253

    I barely notice this white led, not sure why you have an issue with it. If you don't need the start light one has to wonder how disabling qcode poster which is much larger red led is not also an issue for you as well. I mean it's not like you need qcode poster for system once its stable, do you ?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    I barely notice this white led, not sure why you have an issue with it. If you don't need the start light one has to wonder how disabling qcode poster which is much larger red led is not also an issue for you as well. I mean it's not like you need qcode poster for system once its stable, do you ?
    The QCode poster can be used to display CPU temperature, which is pretty useful
    Last edited by Kugge; 12-26-2020 at 02:11 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,253

    Quote Originally Posted by Kugge View Post
    The QCode poster can be used to display CPU temperature, which is pretty useful
    AIO's can do that and it looks better.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •