Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 109
  1. #51
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Dicehunter PC Specs
    Dicehunter PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair Hero VIII X570
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5800X PBO
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB - 32GB - 3600MHz *4x8GB*
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti Lightning Z 11GB @ 2000/7500
    Graphics Card #3Corsair Commander Pro
    Graphics Card #4Corsair RGB Fan LED Hub x 2
    MonitorLG 34GN850-B Nano IPS Ultrawide 3440x1440 160Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB + WD Heatsink
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 6TB + 6TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i + 2 x Corsair HDRGB 140mm Fans
    CaseCorsair 680 X - Black + 6 x Corsair HDRGB 120/140mm Fans
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 1000w + Black Cablemod Kit
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini
    Mouse Razer Deathadder V2
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm + Fiio K5 Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus V2 XXL
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Accessory #3 Asus ROG Spotlight
    Dicehunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    385

    Well you don't HAVE to run it at 3600MHz as you would never notice the difference between 3200MHz and 3600MHz if it's purely for 3D modelling etc...

    A lot of memory and anything over 32GB generally speaking do not go well together for stability, You should aim for stability rather than getting 0.1% better performance that 400Mhz will give you.





  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
    Well you don't HAVE to run it at 3600MHz as you would never notice the difference between 3200MHz and 3600MHz if it's purely for 3D modelling etc...

    A lot of memory and anything over 32GB generally speaking do not go well together for stability, You should aim for stability rather than getting 0.1% better performance that 400Mhz will give you.
    try to do long sessions in after effects then understand what 128 gb of ram is needed

  3. #53
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Dicehunter PC Specs
    Dicehunter PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Crosshair Hero VIII X570
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5800X PBO
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB - 32GB - 3600MHz *4x8GB*
    Graphics Card #1MSI RTX 2080 Ti Lightning Z 11GB @ 2000/7500
    Graphics Card #3Corsair Commander Pro
    Graphics Card #4Corsair RGB Fan LED Hub x 2
    MonitorLG 34GN850-B Nano IPS Ultrawide 3440x1440 160Hz
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB + WD Heatsink
    Storage #2Western Digital Caviar Black 6TB + 6TB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i + 2 x Corsair HDRGB 140mm Fans
    CaseCorsair 680 X - Black + 6 x Corsair HDRGB 120/140mm Fans
    Power SupplyCorsair RMi 1000w + Black Cablemod Kit
    Keyboard Razer Huntsman Mini
    Mouse Razer Deathadder V2
    Headset Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 250Ohm + Fiio K5 Pro
    Mouse Pad Razer Gigantus V2 XXL
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Accessory #3 Asus ROG Spotlight
    Dicehunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    385

    Quote Originally Posted by karmal View Post
    try to do long sessions in after effects then understand what 128 gb of ram is needed
    I meant to say a lot of memory and anything over 3200MHz, Not anything over 32GB, Brain fart, Tend not to go too well together hence why most professional workstations that have in excess of 64GB run memory at 2933Mhz.





  4. #54
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by Dicehunter View Post
    I meant to say a lot of memory and anything over 3200MHz, Not anything over 32GB, Brain fart, Tend not to go too well together hence why most professional workstations that have in excess of 64GB run memory at 2933Mhz.

    you can see that you don't work and you don't need speed and capacity .. not all of us are the same in my office there are those who use 256 GB of memory specifically this without problems
    https://www.amazon.it/GSKILL-Trident.../dp/B087B14F68
    maybe you play with the pc I don't .. I work there and the work must make .. your examinations are not very intelligent

  5. #55
    ROG Enthusiast Array DrSlump76 PC Specs
    DrSlump76 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG CROSSHAIR VIII IMPACT
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X
    Memory (part number)CMW32GX4M2C3466C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX RX 480 GAMING OC
    MonitorLG 27UL500
    Storage #1Corsair Force MP600
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 860 EVO
    CPU CoolerWraith Prism
    CaseInWin A1+
    Power SupplyInWin 650W 80 PLUS GOLD
    Keyboard Corsair A70
    Mouse Logitech G403
    OS Windows 10 PRO

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by karmal View Post
    1 kit tested 24 hours with memtest no errors
    2 motherboard always worked with 4 banks of 16GB same brand of memory
    3 I don't know this but with bios 2206 it has been on for 24 hours now and I have not had shutdowns with 128gb of ram .. but still early to say
    4 I have not tested bios lower than 2311 and I am testing them now with 2206 and it seems to be stable even the cpu temperature has dropped
    I do 3D rendering and modeling and with 64gb I find myself tight otherwise I kept the 4 16GB banks which worked perfectly.
    if I buy a memory at 3600mhz and they tell me that it is certified I have to make it work at that working frequency not at 3200mhz otherwise I would buy one at 3200mhz saving money.
    Hi,
    you're having the same problems of mine, but i got a 32GB memory kit not in qvl list, so Asus official support are pissing my off becouse of that.
    With 2206 bios (or older) you will not have any problem.
    With bios 2311 or later, if you try to raise yout fclk over 1600Mhz you will have instability.
    Try it
    Last edited by DrSlump76; 12-30-2020 at 12:45 PM.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array karmal PC Specs
    karmal PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Crosshair VIII Hero (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3950X
    Memory (part number)Hyper X HX436C18FB3K4/128 4x 32GB
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
    MonitorASUS ProArt PA329Q
    Storage #1SCSI\DiskNVMe______Seagate_FireCuda_520_SSD_ZP2000GM30002STNSC014
    Storage #2SCSI\DiskSamsung__SSD_860_QVO_2TBRVQ0
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15 + 3 additional 140mm RGB fans
    CaseCOOLER MASTER MasterCase H500P Mesh
    Power SupplyCORSAIR HX1000i 1000 Watt. FMA (24P) con ventola 12*12 silent Cert. 80 Plus Platinum
    Keyboard Logitecch k520
    Mouse Logitech m310
    OS Windows 10 - Professional 64 Bit Edition
    Network RouterFritzibox 7590
    Accessory #1 Nas Qnap ts 1635ax +
    Accessory #2 12 w-red 12 gb hard drives + 1 ssd 1 gb for operating system
    Accessory #3 creative 5.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    29

    Quote Originally Posted by DrSlump76 View Post
    Hi,
    you're having the same problems of mine, but i got a 32GB memory kit not in qvl list, so Asus official support are pissing my off becouse of that.
    With 2206 bios (or older) you will not have any problem.
    With bios 2311 or later, if you try to raise yout fclk over 1600Mhz you will have instability.
    Try it
    yes I have been trying 2206 for two days and zero reboots with 128 gb of ram at 3600mhz .. this is the proof that nothing is obvious as some say
    Also benefits on temperatures
    Last edited by karmal; 12-30-2020 at 01:24 PM.

  7. #57
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    174
    Posts
    2,270

    Quote Originally Posted by karmal View Post
    you can see that you don't work and you don't need speed and capacity .. not all of us are the same in my office there are those who use 256 GB of memory specifically this without problems
    https://www.amazon.it/GSKILL-Trident.../dp/B087B14F68
    maybe you play with the pc I don't .. I work there and the work must make .. your examinations are not very intelligent
    If the system is for work and stability needs to be unconditional then overclocking FCLK and the memory bus this much likely isn't the scenario you should be chasing, either.

  8. #58
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi

    I am noticing higher temps on this 3101 beta bios as compared to 3003.

    At idle, i'm getting 51C-53C on 3101 and on 3003 i was getting 46C-48C.

    At load, i'm getting 92C on 3101 and on 3003 i was getting 82C.

    Running Crosshair VIII Formula with 5950X on custom water loop.

    Anyone else notice significantly higher temps with this bios?

    Thanks

  9. #59
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    regression

    Updated from 3003 to 3101 and noticed that my boost isn't boosting as high as previous on my 5950x. I flashed and loaded optimized defaults, and I see my peak ST boost isn't hitting 5050 anymore, and a R20 run my MT boost is roughly 50-75mhz lower as well, leading to a 200 point drop.Â*

    What's weird is I saved a profile on 3101 so I wouldn't need to redo my RAM timings, and when I downgraded to 3003 and applied my profile, the same boosting behavior was present until I loaded optimized defaults again, then things went back to normal.
    Â*
    Any ideas what could be causing boost to drop 50-75mhz in both ST and MT? Temps and everything still see fine.

  10. #60
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    67

    Quote Originally Posted by Reliantg View Post
    Updated from 3003 to 3101 and noticed that my boost isn't boosting as high as previous on my 5950x. I flashed and loaded optimized defaults, and I see my peak ST boost isn't hitting 5050 anymore, and a R20 run my MT boost is roughly 50-75mhz lower as well, leading to a 200 point drop.Â*

    What's weird is I saved a profile on 3101 so I wouldn't need to redo my RAM timings, and when I downgraded to 3003 and applied my profile, the same boosting behavior was present until I loaded optimized defaults again, then things went back to normal.
    Â*
    Any ideas what could be causing boost to drop 50-75mhz in both ST and MT? Temps and everything still see fine.
    Did you change your CPU Load Line Calibration ? Try to set it on Auto again, just try and see if you get back your MHz.

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •