Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    199

    RAMPAGE IV EXTREME RAID Fails after Bios Update

    Every freaking time i update my bios,

    my RAID Config gets all messed up!

    ive had to reinstall windows 4 times now!

    i am sure that my SATA configs is set to RAID mode every time.

    MY RAID config says that one disk is a non-member!

    has anyone else with this motherboard been experiencing this problem?

    is there any way to fix it?

    i am running a Stripe on two SSDs

    thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I always have to set it to raid after a bios update but never have a disk not recognized or raid fail after update.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    199

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    I always have to set it to raid after a bios update but never have a disk not recognized or raid fail after update.
    Yeah i always have to set it back to RAID as well but for some reason after i do that,
    it shows Failed at the Intel RAPID STORAGE TECHNOLOGY Screen and there does not seem to be a way to repair it

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    You should probably list your specs and one of the smart guys here will help you, I had similar problem and one of my SSD's needed replaced. Is it the same drive every time, try switching drives on the ports and see if it's the same drive or same port that's causing the problem.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array jblanc03's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    199

    asus Rampage IV extreme
    I73960x

    16GB Corsair GT dominator 2133mhz memory

    4 Intel 510 SSDs

    GTX580 3way sli

  6. #6
    Banned Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    80

    Quote Originally Posted by jblanc03 View Post
    asus Rampage IV extreme
    I73960x

    16GB Corsair GT dominator 2133mhz memory

    4 Intel 510 SSDs

    GTX580 3way sli
    As soon as you re- enable raid and exit your bios, Instead of a "Hot" reboot, shut your computer off. then turn it on for a cold boot.
    This should work fine.


    Question: Are you updating or restoring the bios from a overclock crash?

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array HiVizMan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Reputation
    354
    Posts
    25,742

    I am unable to duplicate this using Intel 520 drives (only 2).
    To help us help you - please provide as much information about your system and the problem as possible.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Gnarly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    149

    All of a sudden I am having the exact same problem. It is the same drive every time (I have six). I am switching from 0. Striped is no good. I need redundancy. Hiviz, I wish I had bought Intel drives. They have the weirdest and most unique sizes! But I suspect they are quality.
    This is a bummer! Looking forward to calling Microsoft again. Not to mention installs for 5 hours.

    Jeremy
    Rampage IV
    Intel 3960 @ 5.1 24/7
    32gb G Skill Ripjawas @2400 MHZ (F3-17000CL11Q2-64GBZLD)
    Asus HD 7970's x3 (Swiftech Kimodo Water Blocks)
    Cosmos II (10 LED Fans w-built in fan controller)
    Corsair AX 1200 PSU
    Cusrom Water; Chipset/CPU/Cards/ETC
    All Votex PWM Fans (German Engineered); Best I have ever used

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Same today with my system. Two sets of RAID0 disk pairs.
    D: 1.1TB Programs
    E: 3.7 TB Data

    I managed to get the pairs back as raid sets, but now Windows wants to Initialize. Intel Rapid Storage sees them and says they are fine.

    I have not disconnected the drives at all, so the connections are the same as before the BIOS upgrade.

    In my opinion, the BIOS upgrade process should include the ability to keep settings or print the settings prior to upgrade.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array lenehan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    544

    It does only with the latest bios to export setting to the usb thumber drive.
    Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •