Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    MCE decoder for WHEA error?

    Hi,
    My guess is that the WHEA error are because of the latest bios 1003 as it did appear some day after I did update the bios.
    I have rolled back to 0901 but as I did have this WHEA issue before I did switch motherboard to Asus I’m a little worried.
    I have replaced everything ram psu gpu etc the only thing I have left is my nvme drivers 3 Samsung 970 plus 1tb and I don’t think they can cause the WHEA error.

    Intel did replace my cpu with a new one it’s possible that I have two faulty cpus but the chance are slim.
    I’m running everything at intel default.

    I have 10900k with the latest rog Maximus z490 hero board.

    A corrected hardware error has occurred.

    Reported by component: Processor Core
    Error Source: Unknown Error Source
    Error Type: Internal parity error
    Processor APIC ID: 2

    The details view of this entry contains further information.



    Can someone check the mce decoder for this line;

    MciStat 0x9000004000010005

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB | SSD Corsair MP510 240GB | SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 21H1/VB/19043.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    567

    Hi,

    Have you tried XMP 2 mode (original XMP profil) instead of XMP 1 mode (ASUS optimized XMP profil) ?

    Also, from you say you are not using an overclock, but verify that ASUS MultiCore Enhancement is disabled, because it is an overclock :


  3. #3
    New ROGer Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Hi,

    Have you tried XMP 2 mode (original XMP profil) instead of XMP 1 mode (ASUS optimized XMP profil) ?

    Also, from you say you are not using an overclock, but verify that ASUS MultiCore Enhancement is disabled, because it is an overclock :

    Hi again,
    Here is my story.

    First I did have 10900k with a MSI meg z490 Ace and it was toughing WHEA errors randomly exactly the same that I did get above with the 1003 BIOS.
    So Intel did replace my CPU with a new one, the WHEA errors did continue so what I did was that I did replace the RAM with new ones - still the same issue.
    Then I did replace the GPU (not for this reason but I did replace it) the WHEA error did continue so I thought OK then I'll replace the motherboard with a new one so I did replace it with the ROG Maximus z490 Hero and at the same time I did replace the PSU with a 1000w Corsair RMx.

    I did receive my Asus board in the end of November and no WHEA errors, but sometimes before it could go a week or more or less sometime between the errors.
    So I did update to the 1003 BIOS 25:de of dec and I did get a WHEA error yesterday. I'm not sure if it was the BIOS or not but I have downgraded to 0901 now.

    In both MSI and Asus board I was Intel Default (disabled MCE, did set 125w and 250w with 56sec same as intel whitepaper says.)
    The only difference now with the Asus board is that with the 0901 I did not change the values manually I did push f1 for intel default during BIOS first boot and then Asus are doing it for me. But as I did it manually with the 1003 and it did trough a WHEA error my guess it's not because of that.
    Maybe you can't set it manually you maybe need to use ASUS own f1 for Intel defaults?

    This WHEA history are driving me crazy, it's a little chance but maybe intel did send me a bad CPU as a replacement? I don't know. And as the WHEA error are not telling me much I want someone to decode it with the decoder but I guess no one has access to it?
    Or maybe it's the 1003 that are causing the issue now? I have been running 0901 for one day without any WHEA errors but I did run 1003 for about 5 days or something like that without any errors also.

    The thing is that I can't force it to give me a WHEA error, now with the 1003 it was when the computer was idling - with the MSI board it was both during idle and also during light load (when I was using Skype for a example but nothing else).

    I have been running memtest86 for 8-passes without any issues from the RAM.

    Edit:
    My RAM says;
    Intel XMP 2.0 (Extreme Memory Profile) Ready

    So I guess I can try XMP 2.0? As I do understand it the XMP1 is optimized from Asus in some settings and XMP 2.0 are tightend settings from the RAM manufactory? Is that right?

    As you can see the MCE are disabled as I have pushed f1 during first boot if you look at the image below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	201228193513.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	182.9 KB 
ID:	87357
    Last edited by rstolpe1988; 12-28-2020 at 06:48 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB | SSD Corsair MP510 240GB | SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 21H1/VB/19043.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    567

    Set Extreme Tweaker like that then tests over several hours/days with BIOS 1003 :

    Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP II (not XMP I)
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement : Disabled (not Auto - Lets BIOS Optimize)

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    Set Extreme Tweaker like that then tests over several hours/days with BIOS 1003 :

    Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP II (not XMP I)
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement : Disabled (not Auto - Lets BIOS Optimize)
    Ok, I have it on XMP 2 now but with 0901 and running memtest86 during night. Im off to work so I cant upgrade bios to 1003 until tomorrow.
    Running 10 passes with memtest86.

    Whats the difference between 1 and 2 profile?
    *Ill change the MCE but its disabled dont know why its set to auto there but according to all settings and tests its disable as its stated below.
    Â*

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array MoKiChU PC Specs
    MoKiChU PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix Z370-F Gaming
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-8700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance RGB DDR4 2666MHz CL16 - 16GB (2 x 8GB)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorASUS ROG Strix XG35VQ
    Storage #1SSD Samsung 970 EVO Plus 500GB
    Storage #2SSD Samsung 960 EVO 250GB | SSD Corsair MP510 240GB | SSHD Seagate 2TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master ML240L RGB
    CaseBitFenix Enso
    Power SupplyCorsair TX850M (850W)
    Keyboard Logitech G413
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad PECHAM MPad-XXL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333
    OS Windows 10 64 bit 21H1/VB/19043.x
    MoKiChU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    567

    Quote Originally Posted by rstolpe1988 View Post
    Ok, I have it on XMP 2 now but with 0901 and running memtest86 during night. Im off to work so I cant upgrade bios to 1003 until tomorrow.
    Running 10 passes with memtest86.

    Whats the difference between 1 and 2 profile?
    I told you previously :

    XMP I mode = ASUS optimized XMP profil
    XMP II mode = original XMP profil

    Quote Originally Posted by rstolpe1988 View Post
    *Ill change the MCE but its disabled dont know why its set to auto there but according to all settings and tests its disable as its stated below.
    Â*
    What you see in Disabled is the Current Status, in Auto it will change dynamically.

    So as indicated previously :

    - Upgrade BIOS to 1003 > Press F1 > Press F7 (Advanced Mode) > Extreme Tweaker tab :

    Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP II
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement : Disabled

    - Press F10 (Save & Exit)

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    I told you previously :

    XMP I mode = ASUS optimized XMP profil
    XMP II mode = original XMP profil



    What you see in Disabled is the Current Status, in Auto it will change dynamically.

    So as indicated previously :

    - Upgrade BIOS to 1003 > Press F1 > Press F7 (Advanced Mode) > Extreme Tweaker tab :

    Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP II
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement : Disabled

    - Press F10 (Save & Exit)
    Hi again,
    I have now the 1003 BIOS and the settings you told me. I have runned memtest86 for 12h and it could not find any issues so I'm guessing XMP 2 is OK.
    I'll now try to run my system for some days and see if the WHEA error are happening again.

    Side note, is it possible that the WHEA error could bee caused from my nvme disks? I did run Samsung test on them and it reports back OK. Also I did run Intel test software and it also reported back that the CPU was OK. But according to my history the WHEA did start 2020-09-22 maybe earlier and I did buy a new NVME driver 2020-08-23 so I was thinking it might be something there? I have basically change everything in my computer beside the nvme disks. But maybe this is not the old issue - maybe this is a new issue with the BIOS or similar and the XMP2 are fixing it.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	184.2 KB 
ID:	87370
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	178.7 KB 
ID:	87371
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	179.4 KB 
ID:	87372
    Last edited by rstolpe1988; 12-29-2020 at 12:37 PM.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by MoKiChU View Post
    I told you previously :

    XMP I mode = ASUS optimized XMP profil
    XMP II mode = original XMP profil



    What you see in Disabled is the Current Status, in Auto it will change dynamically.

    So as indicated previously :

    - Upgrade BIOS to 1003 > Press F1 > Press F7 (Advanced Mode) > Extreme Tweaker tab :

    Ai Overclock Tuner : XMP II
    ASUS MultiCore Enhancement : Disabled

    - Press F10 (Save & Exit)
    this did solve my issue. Thanks.Â*

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •