Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    New Build Crosshair VIII Hero Will Not Enter BIOS/EUFI

    Hello ROG Forum Members,

    In my new clean build (no OS installed) and first startup and after POST, I cannot get into the Asus BIOS/UEFI to configure for OS installation. When the ROG splash screen comes up it is displaying the message to Press Delete or F2 to enter BIOS, which I've been doing since Power On. I do not know if it's just not seeing the keyboard or what. I've tried 3 different keyboards and every USB port to no avail. I flashed the latest BIOS but this did not resolve the problem.

    Here's my system configuration:

    CPU AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
    Motherboard Asus ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
    RAM Crucial Ballistix RGB 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3600, CAS Latency 16, 16-18-18, 1.35V
    Storage Two Seagate Firecuda 520 2TB M.2 Internal Solid State Drives, SSD PCIe Gen 4 X 4 NVMe 1.3
    Backup Storage Seagate IronWolf 10TB NAS Hard Drive
    GPU MSI GeForce RTX 3090 SUPRIM X 24GB 384-Bit GDDR6X Video Card
    Power Supply Seasonic PRIME PX-850, 850W 80+ Platinum

    I can't get ASUS Tech Support because the Hero Mobo was purchased at Best Buy and and Asus requires they provide tech support for it -- but, that's just not something their people know -- so of no help. (Note to self, don't buy complex internal computer parts at Best Buy again...)

    Would very much appreciate any suggestions!

    Kind regards,

    ValinHawK
    Last edited by ValinHawK; 12-31-2020 at 10:14 PM. Reason: Spelling Error

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array dzo888 PC Specs
    dzo888 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI) | BIOS 3204
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 9 3900XT
    Memory (part number)G-SKILL F4-3600C16Q-64GTZN | (16-16-16-36-52)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA RTX 3090 FOUNDERS EDITION
    MonitorSAMSUNG U28D590D & DELL P2210 & LG OLED55CXAUA
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 970 EVO 500GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2SAMSUNG 860 EVO 1TB SSD SATA & WD BLACK 1TB WD1003FZEX SATA
    CPU CoolerNOCTUA NH-D15
    CaseTHERMALTAKE LEVEL 20 HT SNOW
    Power SupplyENERMAX REVOLUTION D.F. 850W
    Keyboard LOGITECH G513 CARBON GX BLUE
    Mouse LOGITECH G PRO WIRELESS
    Headset SONY WH-H900N
    Headset/Speakers KLIPSCH PROMEDIA 2.1 THX
    OS MICROSOFT WINDOWS 10 PRO
    Network RouterTP-LINK ARCHER C4000
    Accessory #1 HP REVERB G2 VR HEADSET

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    8

    With the computer off, have you tried pulling the CR2032 battery out of the motherboard for several minutes and then place it back in?

    Normally, after pulling the battery or after performing a BIOS update, the BIOS would transition from the Logo screen to the Detailed screen and at the bottom of the screen, show a message requesting you to press F1 or F2 on the keyboard to get you into the BIOS to update your BIOS settings before continuing to boot.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Quote Originally Posted by ValinHawK View Post
    I can't get ASUS Tech Support because the Hero Mobo was purchased at Best Buy and and Asus requires they provide tech support for it -- but, that's just not something their people know -- so of no help. (Note to self, don't buy complex internal computer parts at Best Buy again...)
    Not following why it matters where you purchased it from to Asus tech.

    You mention three keyboards tried, multi USB ports, but what are the keyboards you tried ?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Not following why it matters where you purchased it from to Asus tech.

    You mention three keyboards tried, multi USB ports, but what are the keyboards you tried ?
    Thanks RedSector. Where the mobo was purchased from was the explanation of why I was unable to get Asus tech support. One has to enter the mobo's serial number and from that they know it was sold through Best Buy and won't help with it.

    All the keyboards tried are wired with USB interface connections. The keyboards were from Alienware, Saitek, and Roccat.

    Thanks!

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    I've had an issue before where a USB keyboard don't work with motherboard not ch8. Of the ones you listed. I have used a Roccat on ch6 & ch8, so this should work. Cold comfort at this stage, I know.

    I was not aware of support being dependant on where you buy from. best buy in au or usa ?

    Is there a qcode on the poster ?
    What is cooling your CPU and did it have it's own mounting hardware ?
    Last edited by RedSector73; 01-01-2021 at 01:21 AM.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    I've had an issue before where a USB keyboard don't work with motherboard not ch8. Of the ones you listed. I have used a Roccat on ch6 & ch8, so this should work. Cold comfort at this stage, I know.

    I was not aware of support being dependant on where you buy from. best buy in au or usa ?

    Is there a qcode on the poster ?
    What is cooling your CPU and did it have it's own mounting hardware ?
    The mobo finishes with a Q Code of 02 which is unable to boot -- of course no OS installed yet. No tones on POST but since new build can't be sure the chasis speaker is working.

    Purchased at Best Buy online in USA. Custom water cooling loop to a Bitspower CPU/VRM monoblock.

    Thanks for the help!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    Q code 02 is the issue we need to deal with. It means, AP initialisation before microcode loading. I would not worry about speaker or beep code, the Qcode poster is superior in every way.

    I want you to check;
    (1) above the CPU to the left are both EATX connectors in and fully seated.
    (2) Is the RAM fully seated into the slots. Also consider, using only two to start with (till you have boot / can enter the bios) in slots 2 & 4 from CPU or even one, just in the 4th slot from the CPU till you have boot and can enter the BIOS.
    (3) remove the graphics card, then replace it in the PCIe slot, ensure the connectors for the power are fully seated and that card is fully seated in the PCIe slot, the top PCIe (closest to the CPU).
    (4) If modular PSU check all power into it is connected / seated correctly.
    (5) Since your CPU/VRM monoblock changed the hardware holding the CPU, and sometimes possible to have that this hardware incorrectly orientated (some can be put on backwards) typically the insulated side faces to the motherboard. edit: found this guide, can be downloaded off this link https://shop.bitspower.com/index.php...roduct_id=7365 take note of item (3), (4), (6) and (7) are correct to the guide, when they were installed.

    Hope you find this helpful.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 01-01-2021 at 02:42 AM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array catch36 PC Specs
    catch36 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rog CrossHair VIII WiFi
    Processor3900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW (2 X 16GB)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 1080Ti
    Sound CardCreative ZxR
    MonitorDell 24"
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket NVMe 1TB Gen4
    CPU CoolerArtic Cooling Liquid Freezer II-280
    CasePhanteks Eclipse P600S
    Power SupplyEVGA 1000w G3
    Keyboard Microsoft Wired 600 USB
    Mouse Logitech USB 325
    OS Windows 10 v20H2

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Which one of the 4 motherboard LED's lights are on when the Q-code 02 is on the display during boot . if any of them stay on, there's your problem.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    43
    Posts
    877

    I should have posted this first to check,

    Make sure you updated to latest bios using this method correctly.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Q code 02 is the issue we need to deal with. It means, AP initialisation before microcode loading. I would not worry about speaker or beep code, the Qcode poster is superior in every way.

    I want you to check;
    (1) above the CPU to the left are both EATX connectors in and fully seated.
    (2) Is the RAM fully seated into the slots. Also consider, using only two to start with (till you have boot / can enter the bios) in slots 2 & 4 from CPU or even one, just in the 4th slot from the CPU till you have boot and can enter the BIOS.
    (3) remove the graphics card, then replace it in the PCIe slot, ensure the connectors for the power are fully seated and that card is fully seated in the PCIe slot, the top PCIe (closest to the CPU).
    (4) If modular PSU check all power into it is connected / seated correctly.
    (5) If your CPU/VRM monoblock changed the hardware holding the CPU, that this hardware is correctly orientated (some can be put on backwards) typically the insulated side faces to the motherboard.

    Hope you find this helpful.
    Thank you RedSector! I don't know why I remembered what Q Code 02 is so incorrectly. I remember reading that before but haven't even Googled it to help understand what it means. It's been 25 years since I've put together a computer and am learning the latest technology along the way now. I'll perform your recommendations in the morning.

    On the CPU power, I only have the 8 pin connector attached because the manual said with the 8 it was optional to also add the 4. I'll run the 4 pin as well.

    I'll leave only one of the 8 GB DRAM sticks in the A1 slot, farthest away.

    I currently have the graphics card vertically mounted with the PCI extention cable inserted in the second PCIe slot. Does it have to be in the first slot? I put it in the second to improve access and air flow. The ROG splash screen does come up on the monitor. Should I directly mount the card or just move the extension cable to the first slot?

    I'll verify all power cables are well seated.

    I have the insulated/rubber gasket of the waterblock mounting hardware on the backside of the PCB in contact with the PCB. So don't think I'm shorting any PCB traces there. Good thing to check since that is something I can see people getting mixed up on as I had to think through it myself given the poor instructions provided.

    I'll report back on the results in the morning (USA Mountain Time).

    Thank you for the help and happy new year!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •