Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Crosshair VIII Hero SSD Issue

    Have the Crosshair VIII Hero and have been running fine for a year. I'm currently running 2 nvme's and I am adding a Crucial MX500 as an additional SSD. When I plug in the SSD to any of the SATA ports I can't boot into the bios or windows. It hangs at the boot screen when it prompts for f1/del. Unplug the ssd and it boots fine.

    I have tried everything I can in the bios. I even updated the BIOS. Exact Same behavior.

    Since I am using 2 nvme's is there something I have to do to get a sata ssd to work?

    Been building systems for a long time but maybe I am missing something simple.

    UPDATE: I had to load optimized defaults for it to see the drive. If I turn advanced tuning back on it loses the drive. If I use the EZ tuning wizard it does still see the drive. What a buggy mess.
    Last edited by GeriatricTech; 01-07-2021 at 06:47 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,006

    Quote Originally Posted by GeriatricTech View Post
    I am adding a Crucial MX500 as an additional SSD. What a buggy mess.
    The problem is the SSD, go looking in there forum for an answer. See if the firmware etc is up to date.
    https://eu.crucial.com/support/ssd-s.../mx500-support

    try another sata cable.

    I read something identical to this issue, and was the SSD but I cant find the information again.
    Last edited by RedSector73; 01-07-2021 at 07:06 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Thanks for the reply.

    I downloaded the Storage Executive software from Crucial. It's sees the drive but shows a firmware error and when I click that it loses the drive. I'm using a new sata cable.

    I am considering taking this SSD back. I am seeing a ton of complaints about it.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 10 64bit Pro
    Network RouterRT-AC87U

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    42
    Posts
    1,006

    Yeah, same, there is a lot of posts with issues. If you have spare NVMe m2 slot use them, Kingston A2000 is a cheap pocket rocket.

    Edit: (you appear full)
    Have to say, Samsung for SSD.

    Avoid any SSD with grey power/sata port connectors over time found they go brittle 'grey bit' and can break off without much effort.

    or

    get M2 PCIe riser card and go Kingston A2000
    Last edited by RedSector73; 01-09-2021 at 05:21 AM.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by RedSector73 View Post
    Yeah, same, there is a lot of posts with issues. If you have spare NVMe m2 slot use them, Kingston A2000 is a cheap pocket rocket.

    Edit: (you appear full)
    Have to say, Samsung for SSD.

    Avoid any SSD with grey power/sata port connectors over time found they go brittle 'grey bit' and can break off without much effort.

    or

    get M2 PCIe riser card and go Kingston A2000
    Interesting info about the grey connectors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •