Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Bios 3301 Availability / Install problems

    Anyone else have trouble with getting their hands on this BIos?

    In my case I downloaded it and copied the file to a USB stick, the same as always. Then I used the renamer, same as always. Then I plugged the drive in and went to the BIos. Then from the Bios the "Tool" installer would not see the file on the drive--hence I had to install via the Internet. However, via the Internet, it auto installed 3201 vs 3301, sigh.

    I also have a Crosshair 8 Formula, and do the exact same thing, and have no problem getting the latest Bios via a USB drive. Also, oddly, with the Crosshair I cannot download any Bioses via the Internet, but with the R6EO that is not a problem--using the exact same steps (albeit it installs only out of date Bioses).

    What the... I am confused.

    And yeah, you can flash it via the back panel, but the process is kind of a hassle.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 01-11-2021 at 10:03 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Yer, always do bios flashback from the back panel. The safest way. Never from EZ flash or internet: asking for trouble......

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Quote Originally Posted by Riicckk View Post
    Yer, always do bios flashback from the back panel. The safest way. Never from EZ flash or internet: asking for trouble......
    Really, huh? Is this the concensus? You say, "the safest way?" This is not to challenge this idea or you and who you are, but who is saying this? And why?

    In my case I find it easy to do if from the Bios, and do not use EZ Flash. The instructions in the manual for doing it from the back panel are extremely poor and so I find that process to be difficult and hard get right. I have literally done it with my R6EO motherboard after half a dozen attempts only, and because of my setup with the flashing button hard to see and having to lean way over and with a lot of cables etc. find it a real pain. Also, doing the exact same process with my Crosshair 8 Formula simply does not work, and has never worked, even after a full hour of attempts.

    I do not have any Asus software installed outside of the Bios. As for doing it from the Internet, the Bios tool for updating will not work properly via a USB stick. The Bios tool for my R6EO does not see the USB stick for some reason--while on my C8F, it works fast and easy.

    Anyhow, thanks for your reply. I think anytime Asus is involved on the software side, there are bound to be a lot of headaches no matter what you do.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 01-13-2021 at 10:43 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    301

    Downloaded, renamed and copied to USB in Bios slot. Shut machine down, pushed button until flashing and took a break while loading. Damned difficult procedure, required thought.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Well, sorry. My Crosshair VIII Formula just doesnt work when you do that. The R6EO does, but the C8F just does not seem to function properly. Sigh. I spent an hour trying and it would not work. I did the exact same procedure with both rigs and it worked for the one, but just would not work for the other.

    Also, the back of my rigs are hard to access because of my setup. Maybe you don't understand.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    Really, huh? Is this the concensus? You say, "the safest way?" This is not to challenge this idea or you and who you are, but who is saying this? And why?

    In my case I find it easy to do if from the Bios, and do not use EZ Flash. The instructions in the manual for doing it from the back panel are extremely poor and so I find that process to be difficult and hard get right. I have literally done it with my R6EO motherboard after half a dozen attempts only, and because of my setup with the flashing button hard to see and having to lean way over and with a lot of cables etc. find it a real pain. Also, doing the exact same process with my Crosshair 8 Formula simply does not work, and has never worked, even after a full hour of attempts.

    I do not have any Asus software installed outside of the Bios. As for doing it from the Internet, the Bios tool for updating will not work properly via a USB stick. The Bios tool for my R6EO does not see the USB stick for some reason--while on my C8F, it works fast and easy.

    Anyhow, thanks for your reply. I think anytime Asus is involved on the software side, there are bound to be a lot of headaches no matter what you do.
    Not difficult at all; very easy. Safest way. Takes 5min tops on my Omega. Google for flashing method. And you an Orange belt. Ha!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array cekeu PC Specs
    cekeu PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Encore
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-10920X
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27UQ
    Keyboard ROG Strix Flare
    Mouse ROG Chakram Core

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Reputation
    32
    Posts
    203

    Quote Originally Posted by Super Gnome View Post
    Anyone else have trouble with getting their hands on this BIos?

    In my case I downloaded it and copied the file to a USB stick, the same as always. Then I used the renamer, same as always. Then I plugged the drive in and went to the BIos. Then from the Bios the "Tool" installer would not see the file on the drive--hence I had to install via the Internet. However, via the Internet, it auto installed 3201 vs 3301, sigh.

    I also have a Crosshair 8 Formula, and do the exact same thing, and have no problem getting the latest Bios via a USB drive. Also, oddly, with the Crosshair I cannot download any Bioses via the Internet, but with the R6EO that is not a problem--using the exact same steps (albeit it installs only out of date Bioses).

    What the... I am confused.

    And yeah, you can flash it via the back panel, but the process is kind of a hassle.
    If you use the easy flash utility in the BIOS to upgrade to the new bios then you should not rename this bios. Rename it is only required to use the flashback bios on the rear panel. if it is not a modded bios

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    301

    I keep a small FAT formatted USB stick set aside just for bios updates. It is USB 2.0, slow, and works every time. You could install an extension cable on the update port to make it accessable.

    It's not the motherboard's fault you can't access the back panel. Complain to the engineer that designed the physical install.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Quote Originally Posted by cekeu View Post
    Rename it is only required to use the flashback bios on the rear panel.
    Hmm... Interesting. I will try that next time. Renaming works fine with the Crosshair 8 Formula in the front panel. It is different with an R6EO?

    Quote Originally Posted by Riicckk View Post
    Not difficult at all; very easy. Safest way. Takes 5min tops on my Omega. Google for flashing method. And you an Orange belt. Ha!
    It is a physical problem. I have to move a ton of stuff to access the back panel. That would take half an hour to an hour. The front panel works fine with the Crosshair 8 Formula. Why it does not work with the R6EO the same way is puzzling.

    Regarding being an Orange Belt. I often help people when I know how something works, and if they like the help and choose to appreciate my help, I get a rep boost. I take time out of my day to help others--and some people appreciate that. I do not laugh at others when something that works with one system does not work with a near identical other system. I do not work in the tech industry either. Have a nice day.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 01-18-2021 at 12:13 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Super Gnome PC Specs
    Super Gnome PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Rampage VI Extreme Omega / ROG Crosshair VIII Formula
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9980XE / AMD 3950x
    Memory (part number)Corsair LPX Vengeance DDR4 2666MHz 128 GB / Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB DDR4-3200 32GB DDR4 3200MH
    Graphics Card #1Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    Graphics Card #2Asus 2080 Turbo / Asus 2080 ti Turbo
    MonitorJAPANNEXT JN-VT500UHD 4K 50-inch LCD
    Storage #1Crucial MX500 1 TB / Sabient SB-ROCKET-NVMe4-500
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Pro 1 TB / ADATA XPG SX5500 Pro 3D NAND NVMe Gen3x4 PCIe M.2
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360 / NZXT Kraken X62
    CaseThermaltake View 71 TG / Thermaltake View 31
    Power SupplyCORSAIR AXi Series, AX1600i 1600 watt / Thermaltake Toughpower iRGB 1200 watt
    Accessory #1 Noctua 140mm 3000 RPM x 4 / Noctua 140 mm 3000 RPM x 2
    Accessory #2 Gigabyte GC-A 2WAY NVLINK RGB (3-slot) / ROG NVLINK Bridge 3-Slot A

    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    400

    Quote Originally Posted by G75rog View Post
    It's not the motherboard's fault you can't access the back panel. Complain to the engineer that designed the physical install.
    I am not blaming anyone. What I do not understand is how the software works properly in one system, but not in the other. The instructions for flashing from the back panel are poor. And, despite this, I have done the procedure in my R6EO. However, that same procedure does not work for the Crosshair 8 Formula.

    It is not an ideal world. Ideally, you could flash from the front panel the same way you do from the back. Also, ideally, you would have the options to update your Bios in any way you choose, without the glitches that are ever present and pervasive across nearly all Asus software. If you have never had problems with Asus software, you would be very fortunate. I have been using Asus hardware for years, and have absolutely always had problems with the software--as have countless others. If you don't believe me look at all the posts made on a daily basis about problems with Asus software!!

    In fact, I have removed all software from my systems but that which is necessary. It is all bloatware in my view. However, in the case of a Bios, I know of no way around using what Asus provides. Not only that, the instructions in Asus manuals are often extremely poor. English is not that hard to get right, but, as with Asus software, something that should be simple is made complicated for the user by a needless lack of insight. Is it really hard for a proofreader and/or manual writer to take a few moments to get the instructions right and easy for the reader to follow? No, it is not--much in the same way it is for a programmer to envision the user experience. But then we can't all be Steve Jobs, can we? Maybe not, but Asus gets very low marks when it comes to software quality and clarity of instructions.

    Again, have a nice day. And feel free to criticize as you see fit. It makes no difference to me.
    Last edited by Super Gnome; 01-18-2021 at 12:29 AM.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •