Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI) BIOS 1003 WHEA errors

    Hi,
    I did update yesterday to the new BIOS version 1003 and now today I did get a WHEA error.

    A corrected hardware error has occurred.

    Reported by component: Processor Core
    Error Source: Unknown Error Source
    Error Type: Internal parity error
    Processor APIC ID: 2

    The details view of this entry contains further information.

    It's a corrected so It's not to bad but still. I'm hoping you guys are fixing it as soon as possible.
    The CPU are not overclocked, It's on Intel Default.
    It's a 10900k CPU.

    Need to add that it's intermitting happening so it's not all the time and I can't force it to happen either.
    I'll try to roolback to the 0901 or the 0804 I did skipp the 0901 version so I'm not sure if the issue was in the 0901 version or not. But I'll try it out and report back. It was no issues with the 0804 version anyway.
    Last edited by rstolpe1988; 12-27-2020 at 07:48 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    It is probably the microcode. I had to increase my core voltage with the newer microcode. 901 has the same microcode as 1003.

    There are a couple of things you can do:

    1. Roll back to 804
    2. Mod the 103 BIOS to use the older microcode.
    3. Raise the voltage a tad

    Mind you, the newer microcode has some vulnerabilities patched.

    BIOS 901 and 1003 have microcode revision E2. BIOS 804 has CA.
    Last edited by geneo; 12-27-2020 at 09:03 PM.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    I did find even more issues in the Event Viewer:
    : The embedded controller (EC) returned data when none was requested. The BIOS might be trying to access the EC without synchronizing with the operating system. This data will be ignored. No further action is necessary; however, you should check with your computer manufacturer for an upgraded BIOS.

    Asus what have you done with this BIOS version?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    Quote Originally Posted by rstolpe1988 View Post
    I did find even more issues in the Event Viewer:
    : The embedded controller (EC) returned data when none was requested. The BIOS might be trying to access the EC without synchronizing with the operating system. This data will be ignored. No further action is necessary; however, you should check with your computer manufacturer for an upgraded BIOS.

    Asus what have you done with this BIOS version?
    That EC event is normal - nothing to worry about. I believe I had it with my Z390 Gigabyte MB as well.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    It is probably the microcode. I had to increase my core voltage with the newer microcode. 901 has the same microcode as 1003.

    There are a couple of things you can do:

    1. Roll back to 804
    2. Mod the 103 BIOS to use the older microcode.
    3. Raise the voltage a tad

    Mind you, the newer microcode has some vulnerabilities patched.

    BIOS 901 and 1003 have microcode revision E2. BIOS 804 has CA.
    Ok I see, so what I need to do is to rollback to 804 to fix the issue? I don't want to manually adjust the voltages to the vcore etc. I'm to old for it I just want to run everything as I use to do without any issues and just have Intel Default settings.
    I'm hoping they are fixing the issue soon then. I guess that Asus will fix it with a new BIOS later on?

    I can't see that I need anything in the new BIOS as the old one did run stable for me and I have a MSI 2080 Super so the BAR update I don't need.

    Edit:
    The WHEA error don't cause any BSOD as it's a corratable problem. But still it's anoying. And it don't happen all the time either it seem to happen randomly. Sometime after one day etc.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    I believe it is an Intel processor microcode change. Nothing Asus can do about that if so. Maybe Intel will update the microcode and that weill fix it. Wouldn't hold my breath though - it means Intel would need to fix it and Asus would need to include it in a BIOS update - unless you mod the BIOS.

    The correctable WHEA will likely eventually lead to a uncorrectable one and crash your system. If you can live with that...

    I run 1003 modded with the older CA microcode.
    Last edited by geneo; 12-27-2020 at 09:50 PM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    rstolpe1988 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG MAXIMUS XII HERO (WI-FI)
    Processori9 10900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZN
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce RTX 2080 SUPER GAMING X TRIO
    MonitorAsus TUF VG27AQL1A
    Storage #1Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua d15s (dual fans)
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000x

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    27

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    I believe it is an Intel processor microcode change. Nothing Asus can do about that if so. Maybe Intel will update the microcode and that weill fix it. Wouldn't hold my breath though - it means Intel would need to fix it and Asus would need to include it in a BIOS update - unless you mod the BIOS.

    The correctable WHEA will likely eventually lead to a uncorrectable one and crash your system. If you can live with that...

    I run 1003 modded with the older CA microcode.
    I did take a look and the bios version that I did use before the WHEA errors is the 0901 and not 0804 I did confirmed it now as in the 0804 you can’t change the fan curve after 75c in the Q-Fan and I did have it set to 80c so I did have the 0901.

    Also Asus can adjust how the vcore are adjusting during the auto setting to match the microcode.
    But I guess that I maybe need to start to adjust the damn vcore. I hate to adjust stuff by hand.Â*

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    422

    I just jumped to the 2002 version. Haven't had any time to test but seems OK so far..

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus XII Hero (WiFi)
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    Sound CardOn-board
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro; 980 1TB
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black, 6TB IronWolf Pro
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB w/Phanteks 120 T30 fan, 2 Noctua Chromax case fanss
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium Plus
    Keyboard Glorious GMMK TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Mouse Pad Perixx dx-2000
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub
    OS Windows 11 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    Accessory #2 Sabrent DS-SC5B 5-Bay USB-C HDD docking station
    Accessory #3 xrite i1 Display monitor calibration
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    52
    Posts
    564

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    I just jumped to the 2002 version. Haven't had any time to test but seems OK so far..
    Is there an ME firmware update that comes with 2002?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    422

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    Is there an ME firmware update that comes with 2002?
    Not that I see..

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •