Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    AGESA 1.2.0.0 issues

    I am running an X570 I-Gaming which I have put in the 1.2.0.0 AGESA (BIOS version 3402).

    Overall whilst things seem more stable in respect to things like USB and WHEA and NVME related issues, there are however still some strange oddities I have experienced. Keen to see what others running X570 or B550 are seeing.

    In my case I have noticed that the board runs a lot hotter in idle. Running a stress test for example actually cools the processor with my AIO installed which is totally counter intuitive.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array jacktin PC Specs
    jacktin PC Specs
    MotherboardB550-F Gaming Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 5950X
    Graphics Card #1RTX3080

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    1usmus posted on Twitter that the Asus 1.2.0.0 beta BIOS releases are in beta because they didn't calibrate the VRMs yet. That could account for your weird temp behavior.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    For me this beta (as all previous betas actually) just cause WHEA errors above 3200mem / 1600 infinity fabric clock. Most stable on I have found was 3001 bios. 3800mem / 1900if with relatively low voltages work rock solid without any errors. I'll keep this 3402 for now with 3200mem while waiting proper version.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    47

    Quote Originally Posted by loccc View Post
    For me this beta (as all previous betas actually) just cause WHEA errors above 3200mem / 1600 infinity fabric clock. Most stable on I have found was 3001 bios. 3800mem / 1900if with relatively low voltages work rock solid without any errors. I'll keep this 3402 for now with 3200mem while waiting proper version.
    I had my first WHEA last night in ages, so agree that perhaps this is not as good as I first thought.

    I should note that I am running DOCP/XMP with 3600 RAM so my FCLK is auto set to 1800 fabric.

  5. #5
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    With the previous beta I was able to set FCLK 2000 and Memory at 4000 (DDR4-3600 kit) with no issues at all, first try. Sometimes I had some reboots, always at idle, while doing nothing, never when use or heavy use/test... Lowering to FCLK 1966 / DDR-3933 made it stable.
    With the new beta, computer doesn´t even start. Bios error 07. Had to Clear CMOS, same with FCLK 1966 / Mem 3933, so I had to return to base FCLK 1800.

    Using Strix X-570-E / 5800X / TT Toughram 3600 CL 18-19-19

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    22

    Pretty sure your FCLK 2000 wasn't ever stable, look at hwinfo bottom page and you will see you have a lot of WHEA errors most likely, hence the reboots.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Momo_dk PC Specs
    Momo_dk PC Specs
    MotherboardRog Strix B550-F (Wifi)
    ProcessorAMD RYZEN 7 5800x
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GTZRX
    Graphics Card #1Asus Rog Strix LC RX6800 XT OC
    Power SupplyNXZT c850
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Make sure you reset all your configs in the Bios. It seems with this bios beta, it introduced a lot more fields to be filled out. I found my stable OC of 3800 c16 on 1216 would not work under the new bios. Turns out bunch of "auto" been turned into randomly generated numbers...

    That said, with my 3800 OC back, I only get two WHEA errors, right at the beginning of the stress test.

    Seems like SMA / Resizable BAR no longer works right. When activated, I get a large batch of WHEA errors through out the test. System seems to be struggling too. Best part is when done and letting the machine idle, it goes it to a hard freeze. Can't move mouse or anything. I know the system technically crashed when the RGB lightning in the case drops the static and goes into Rainbow Barf.

    Now if only I could downgrade to the previous stable BIOS, that would be great. Apparently none of the older BIOSes are recognized by the EZ Flash tool...

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array dmbrio PC Specs
    dmbrio PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage IV Black Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-3930k
    Memory (part number)KHX24C11T3K4/16X
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 780 ti ref.
    MonitorASUS VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung EVO 840 120gb
    CPU CoolerEK RIVBE Monoblock
    CaseHAF-X
    Power SupplyOCZ 1250w Gold
    OS Windows 8.1 64-bit

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    Quote Originally Posted by Momo_dk View Post
    Make sure you reset all your configs in the Bios. It seems with this bios beta, it introduced a lot more fields to be filled out. I found my stable OC of 3800 c16 on 1216 would not work under the new bios. Turns out bunch of "auto" been turned into randomly generated numbers...

    That said, with my 3800 OC back, I only get two WHEA errors, right at the beginning of the stress test.

    Seems like SMA / Resizable BAR no longer works right. When activated, I get a large batch of WHEA errors through out the test. System seems to be struggling too. Best part is when done and letting the machine idle, it goes it to a hard freeze. Can't move mouse or anything. I know the system technically crashed when the RGB lightning in the case drops the static and goes into Rainbow Barf.

    Now if only I could downgrade to the previous stable BIOS, that would be great. Apparently none of the older BIOSes are recognized by the EZ Flash tool...
    Beta BIOS can only be reversed via BIOS Flashback.

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    59

    Quote Originally Posted by Momo_dk View Post
    Make sure you reset all your configs in the Bios. It seems with this bios beta, it introduced a lot more fields to be filled out. I found my stable OC of 3800 c16 on 1216 would not work under the new bios. Turns out bunch of "auto" been turned into randomly generated numbers...
    I second this as I had the same issue.
    Do NOT reload your previously saved BIOS profile and settings. With this beta bios just load the optimized defaults and set your other bios flags manually.

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array chrismog2_2 PC Specs
    chrismog2_2 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix Z590-A Gaming WiFi
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-11900K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Trident Z Royal Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) F4-3600C16Q-32GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX3090 Founders Edition
    MonitorGigabyte Aorus AD27QD / Acer Nitro XV340CK
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME TX-1000

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    With a C8F and BIOS version 3202, I can't get my RAM / IF above 3200 / 1600 respectively without introducing instability, usually when coming back to idle, although a couple during gaming sessions (FFXIV specifically - didn't test much else). I started from the DOCP settings and manually set the RAM timings, then just dialed back the RAM and IF frequencies. I got a couple memory dumps out of it, but also some black screen reboots w/ failed dump file creation.

    CPU: 5950X
    RAM: G-SKILL F4-3600C16-8GTRS (4x8GB)

    edit: actually, got a WHEA / dump even at these speeds. Dump file analysis pointed to a L1 cache read error with core 13, and this was consistent with an earlier dump file. Suggestions?

    ================================================== =============================
    Common Platform Error Record @ ffffa30821a02028
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Record Id : 01d6ede4e9a94cdb
    Severity : Fatal (1)
    Length : 936
    Creator : Microsoft
    Notify Type : Machine Check Exception
    Timestamp : 1/18/2021 22:02:49 (UTC)
    Flags : 0x00000000

    ================================================== =============================
    Section 0 : Processor Generic
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor @ ffffa30821a020a8
    Section @ ffffa30821a02180
    Offset : 344
    Length : 192
    Flags : 0x00000001 Primary
    Severity : Fatal

    Proc. Type : x86/x64
    Instr. Set : x64
    Error Type : Cache error
    Operation : Data Read
    Flags : 0x00
    Level : 1
    CPU Version : 0x0000000000a20f10
    Processor ID : 0x000000000000000d
    Instr Pointer : 0x0x00007ffd302c817e

    ================================================== =============================
    Section 1 : x86/x64 Processor Specific
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor @ ffffa30821a020f0
    Section @ ffffa30821a02240
    Offset : 536
    Length : 128
    Flags : 0x00000000
    Severity : Fatal

    Local APIC Id : 0x000000000000000d
    CPU Id : 10 0f a2 00 00 08 20 0d - 0b 32 d8 7e ff fb 8b 17
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
    00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 - 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00

    Proc. Info 0 @ ffffa30821a02280

    ================================================== =============================
    Section 2 : x86/x64 MCA
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Descriptor @ ffffa30821a02138
    Section @ ffffa30821a022c0
    Offset : 664
    Length : 272
    Flags : 0x00000000
    Severity : Fatal

    Error : DCACHEL1_DRD_ERR (Proc 13 Bank 0)
    Status : 0xbc00080001010135
    Address : 0x0000000121362120
    Misc. : 0xd01a0ffe00000000
    Last edited by chrismog2_2; 01-21-2021 at 12:55 AM. Reason: added info

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •