Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array fatalhalt PC Specs
    fatalhalt PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix B550-I Gaming 2003 BIOS
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super
    Storage #1Firecuda 520 1TB PCIe NVMe 4.0
    Power SupplyCorsair SF750

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    22

    STRIX B550-I 5800X stuck at 551MHz 5.53x multipler and Unusably slow

    Hey guys,

    Thought I seen it all, on system wake up from hibernate my CPU randomly gets stuck on 5.5x multipler even if all threads get saturated and hit 100% usage the CPU doesn't go over 550MHz.

    I did few quick searches on google and did not find anything similar. In my case ALL of the cores won't go above 5.5x multiplier, the workaround is to restart the system and avoid hibernating. I got into habit of hibernating the system to workaround the infamous NVMe disk drop on wakeup from sleep (that I eventually fixed. There's a separate thread I made for that)

    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos b550-i-stuck-on-5.53-multiplier-from-hibernate.jpg  


  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Bios version? 1602 and below were doing weird stuff for me but 1801 has been flawless for now.

  3. #3
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Windows Power saving / Balanced / Performance modes. They got stuck. I had the same problem days ago, same processor.
    Just change modes and see what happens.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array fatalhalt PC Specs
    fatalhalt PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Strix B550-I Gaming 2003 BIOS
    ProcessorRyzen 7 5800X
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14-16GTRS
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GeForce RTX 2070 Super
    Storage #1Firecuda 520 1TB PCIe NVMe 4.0
    Power SupplyCorsair SF750

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    22

    @ElGranPC, good tip, I will take a look at Windows power plan next time the CPU multiplier gets stuck. For reference my system was using "GameTurbo (High Performance)" plan which seems to stem from GameFirst VI application, at some point it applied that plan. I'm not using GameFirst VI anymore as it conflicts with VPN software. I'm back to "Balanced" plan for now with couple tweaks on top like no HDD sleep.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    45

    Did you install ZenStates?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •