Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 42
  1. #31
    New ROGer Array devnulldump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by jnestor View Post
    Can anyone who has upgraded provide more feedback on this firmware upgrade? I have two GT-AX11000's in mesh configuration and am holding off on upgrading until I see some evidence that it is stable and not causing significant new issues.
    @jnestor
    Just like you, I was holding off on the 3.0.0.4.386_41700 update until this morning; so far so good and I haven't noticed any major issues. The only thing I notice so far is the syslog now contains the following message one line per each IoT device I have that is connected to an extender which on a guest network . From what I can see it is just a harmless informational message.

    Feb 28 08:41:54 kernel: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx not mesh client, can't update it's ip


    Thanks
    -Arul
    Last edited by devnulldump; 02-28-2021 at 03:35 PM. Reason: Incorrect statement

  2. #32
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by devnulldump View Post
    @jnestor
    Just like you, I was holding off on the 3.0.0.4.386_41700 update until this morning; so far so good and I haven't noticed any major issues. The only thing I notice so far is the syslog now contains the following message one line per each IoT device I have that is connected to an extender which on a guest network . From what I can see it is just a harmless informational message.

    Feb 28 08:41:54 kernel: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx not mesh client, can't update it's ip


    Thanks
    -Arul
    Thanks @devnulldump! Is your GT-AX11000 standalone or part of a mesh setup?

  3. #33
    New ROGer Array devnulldump's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by jnestor View Post
    Thanks @devnulldump! Is your GT-AX11000 standalone or part of a mesh setup?
    It is not a mesh setup. I don't have a need for it and I wish can completely turn that stupid thing off as I suspect thats where most of the bugs are. In the last firmware, I remember there was option to enable/disable AIMesh and I had it disabled but with this update, it looks like it turns it on by default (hence the stupid "not mesh" message on syslog) though I don't have any mesh nodes added. Need to see if there is a way to turn that off the via nvram command line.

    BTW: While I don't see major problems, I can say it is not as stable as the previous version for sure. So if you did not update, I'd recommend holding. Too many Deauth for stationary, always on devices that don't move and too many "not mesh ... can't update" junk on syslog.

    Code:
    asrouter20@asusrog:/tmp/home/root# cat /tmp/syslog.log| grep "not mesh"|wc -l
    50
    asrouter20@asusrog:/tmp/home/root# cat /tmp/syslog.log| grep Deauth| wc -l
    32

  4. #34
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    114

    Quote Originally Posted by devnulldump View Post
    It is not a mesh setup. I don't have a need for it and I wish can completely turn that stupid thing off as I suspect thats where most of the bugs are. In the last firmware, I remember there was option to enable/disable AIMesh and I had it disabled but with this update, it looks like it turns it on by default (hence the stupid "not mesh" message on syslog) though I don't have any mesh nodes added. Need to see if there is a way to turn that off the via nvram command line.

    BTW: While I don't see major problems, I can say it is not as stable as the previous version for sure. So if you did not update, I'd recommend holding. Too many Deauth for stationary, always on devices that don't move and too many "not mesh ... can't update" junk on syslog.

    Code:
    asrouter20@asusrog:/tmp/home/root# cat /tmp/syslog.log| grep "not mesh"|wc -l
    50
    asrouter20@asusrog:/tmp/home/root# cat /tmp/syslog.log| grep Deauth| wc -l
    32
    same thing, and im not 100% sure if its affecting my router the need to keep on doing factory rests every week, its corrupting or doing something to the router like a sort of memory leak thats makes the router slow to response or completely no functioning

  5. #35
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by cmcher View Post
    i am not using ai mesh but kept getting this :Â*not mesh client, can't update it's ip
    Do i understand it correctly, even if I'm using only the GT-AX11000 router (as in router mode) witthout any AI Mesh configured, the log is written full of messages "[MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip"???
    Does it harm the performance of the router? or can it be solved somehow?

    I'm currently using the router standalone as router and i'm wondering if i should update the firmware to this (current latest) version or if it's better to stay at the current version?

    Anyone having trouble by updating the router to this firmware version by using the router without any mesh nodes?

  6. #36
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    114

    if you dont have any problems with your current firmware then dont update , new updates are not 100% trouble free, it might solve a previous one then add another new problem

    if it aint broken dont fix it

  7. #37
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    114

    heres a update, i have a 2nd ax11000 lets call it new ax11000

    i have the [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip on the first ax11000 its a standlone router i dont have ai mesh node only needed 1 router

    new ax11000 set it up same thing standalone i still get the [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip in the logs, then after a few days i was curios added the first ax11000 as a ai mesh node, now i dont get that random [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip

    wierd i think its a bug

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    31
    Posts
    114

    so i think devnulldump is right asus need to put the off button option back to the ai mesh settings , so it doenst try to keep finding a mesh node and corrupts the router

  9. #39
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by JeffLo View Post
    heres a update, i have a 2nd ax11000 lets call it new ax11000

    i have the [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip on the first ax11000 its a standlone router i dont have ai mesh node only needed 1 router

    new ax11000 set it up same thing standalone i still get the [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip in the logs, then after a few days i was curios added the first ax11000 as a ai mesh node, now i dont get that random [MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip

    wierd i think its a bug

    Thanks for your information. As long as i'm using one standalone ax11000 i will postpone the firmware update. The moment there is a need for a second wireless node, i will setup AI mesh and gonna update all nodes to the latest firmware.

    It's very weird you don't have the error when there is AI mesh configured and when there is no AI mesh you getting also the "[MacAddress] not mesh client, can't update it's ip" errors.
    Seems indeed like a bug to me.

  10. #40
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    the logs were flooded with those rubbish logs that i need to clear it for the router to work properly. hope some one from Asus is looking at thisÂ*

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •