Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING: DRAM orange alert light and instant shutdown

    Hi everyone. The barebone sytem I am building is made up of

    AMD Ryzen 3 3200G with Radeon Vega 8 Graphics
    Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING
    Tridentz DDR4-3200 8GBx2

    I also have a hard drive and a bluray-drive, but although I have been able to boot, it keeps shutting down and gives me the alert signal. I got into the bios, to see if I could get any additional info, but none available.

    I tested booting with either of the two 8Gig sticks, but it still chrashes eventually. I was able to go halfway through installing window before it tried to reboot and then the orange light came on again.

    I was told by Asus that the DRAM I am using is not supported, but I see that some of you are using TRIDENTZ with this motherboard. Does anyone have any suggestion to settings I could try in the bios to see if it stops the system from crashing, before I throw them in the bin (£80).

    Unfortunately I bought them months ago so I don't believe ebuyer will allow me to swap them for another pair that is supported.

    THank you for your help in advance!

  2. #2
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by BadGnollo View Post
    Hi everyone. The barebone sytem I am building is made up of

    AMD Ryzen 3 3200G with Radeon Vega 8 Graphics
    Motherboard ROG STRIX B450-F GAMING
    Tridentz DDR4-3200 8GBx2

    I also have a hard drive and a bluray-drive, but although I have been able to boot, it keeps shutting down and gives me the alert signal. I got into the bios, to see if I could get any additional info, but none available.

    I tested booting with either of the two 8Gig sticks, but it still chrashes eventually. I was able to go halfway through installing window before it tried to reboot and then the orange light came on again.

    I was told by Asus that the DRAM I am using is not supported, but I see that some of you are using TRIDENTZ with this motherboard. Does anyone have any suggestion to settings I could try in the bios to see if it stops the system from crashing, before I throw them in the bin (£80).

    Unfortunately I bought them months ago so I don't believe ebuyer will allow me to swap them for another pair that is supported.

    THank you for your help in advance!

    My name is Adrian from the ASUS Customer Loyalty Team here at our North America Corporate Office. Please provide us the complete specification of your system along with the Part number of your DRAM as there are many "versions" of the Trident DRAM. You can also try breadboarding your system to help debug the unit as well:

    1. Try taking the motherboard out of the case and set it on an insulated surface.
    2. Install JUST the CPU/cooler, and 1 stick of memory in the first slot.
    3. Plug in the 2 PSU cables to the MB. Connect the motherboard, and connect the monitor to the integrated video if it has it.
    4. Turn on the PSU. Momentarily short the 2 pins that the case's power button wires would connect to for starting. (You can also drag the case close enough to use the button's wires if you wish).



    If the issue persists please email me at cl-adrian@asus.com.:

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Adrian@ROG View Post
    My name is Adrian from the ASUS Customer Loyalty Team here at our North America Corporate Office. Please provide us the complete specification of your system along with the Part number of your DRAM as there are many "versions" of the Trident DRAM. You can also try breadboarding your system to help debug the unit as well:

    1. Try taking the motherboard out of the case and set it on an insulated surface.
    2. Install JUST the CPU/cooler, and 1 stick of memory in the first slot.
    3. Plug in the 2 PSU cables to the MB. Connect the motherboard, and connect the monitor to the integrated video if it has it.
    4. Turn on the PSU. Momentarily short the 2 pins that the case's power button wires would connect to for starting. (You can also drag the case close enough to use the button's wires if you wish).



    If the issue persists please email me at cl-adrian@asus.com.:
    Thanks Adrian, I can do easily steps 1 to 4, but what do I do once I booted into the bios?
    Not sure what breadboarding is.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Screenshot attached Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tridentZ.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	159.9 KB 
ID:	87668

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by cl-Adrian@ROG View Post
    My name is Adrian from the ASUS Customer Loyalty Team here at our North America Corporate Office. Please provide us the complete specification of your system along with the Part number of your DRAM as there are many "versions" of the Trident DRAM. You can also try breadboarding your system to help debug the unit as well:

    1. Try taking the motherboard out of the case and set it on an insulated surface.
    2. Install JUST the CPU/cooler, and 1 stick of memory in the first slot.
    3. Plug in the 2 PSU cables to the MB. Connect the motherboard, and connect the monitor to the integrated video if it has it.
    4. Turn on the PSU. Momentarily short the 2 pins that the case's power button wires would connect to for starting. (You can also drag the case close enough to use the button's wires if you wish).



    If the issue persists please email me at cl-adrian@asus.com.:
    The issue obiously persists, nobody has offered any real help so far. Does anyone know what I should try in the bios to get this thing running

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    62

    Quote Originally Posted by BadGnollo View Post
    The issue obiously persists, nobody has offered any real help so far. Does anyone know what I should try in the bios to get this thing running
    First try this. SOC voltage, lower to 1.06250 and tell me if it fixes it? You'll need to press manual and type that in.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •