Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3601beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Still getting random reboots/Event 41's with 3202...

    Not sure what the answer is... GSkill 3600 C16 4x16, running DCOP, otherwise pretty much auto everything, DF Cstates Disabled. Voltage adjustments needed maybe? Doesn't happen often, but when it does it seem to always be the wrong time. Twice in past 2 weeks or so.

    Not running a 5000 series cpu yet, still on a 3900X, but planning to upgrade once availability clears up so have been running the newer bios. Is the answer just to go back to 2206? Or 1302?

    First time was while suspended/afterhours, recent time I was actually on the PC, and noticed my USB mouse/keyboard stopped working, and a few seconds later the PC rebooted. I want to say I recall something about USB and PCIE 4 issues maybe? I am running PCIE4 Video card and two PCIE4 NV Me's. Or could have been coincidence.
    Last edited by 78Staff; 01-27-2021 at 02:11 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array mdzcpa PC Specs
    mdzcpa PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VIII Dark Hero
    Processor5900X 4.6ghz All core 1.3V, 5ghz single DOC
    Memory (part number)Gskill NEO 3600 CAS 14 32GB (4x8)
    Graphics Card #1ROG Strix RTX 3080
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorROG PG348Q
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 512GB for OS & APPS
    Storage #2Samsung 980 Pro M.2 1TB for GAMES
    CPU CoolerROG Ryujin 360
    CasePhanteks 500A Mesh
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime 1000W Titanium
    Keyboard Corsair K70 LUX RGB
    Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
    Headset Corsaur Virtuoso
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM300 Wide Desk Mat
    OS WIN 10 Pro
    Network RouterLinksys VELOP
    Accessory #1 ROG 751JY Laptop for Moobile Gaming
    Accessory #2 Koolance EXC-800 Chiller
    Accessory #3 25+ years of overclocking

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    80
    Posts
    1,002

    Someone posted on the AMD user forums that increasing RAM voltage helped with random reboots with 3000 series CPUs on the new BIOS. He bumped from 1.35 to 1.4v. Worth a shot.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    82

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Someone posted on the AMD user forums that increasing RAM voltage helped with random reboots with 3000 series CPUs on the new BIOS. He bumped from 1.35 to 1.4v. Worth a shot.
    I'm running at 3600 (128GB) and using a 3900X. Lowering the SOC voltage is a better first try and poss safer. 1.06250 stopped any failed starts or reboots. Not seen it now in about 200 boots. A definite fix here, give it a try.

    Edit - seen it at about 220 boots! Eurgh!
    Last edited by primeshooter; 02-05-2021 at 10:24 AM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3601beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    I played with voltages a bit, also tried 3204... seems like reboots got worse and fans ran louder too for some reason too. Lots more WHEA's also. I suspect it's just a 4 dimm deal still. I've reverted back to 1302 and have been solid for 24+ hours... will keep testing.

    I may just move back to my RipJaw single ranks 3200 C14's, they are rock solid with every bios I've tried. Just tried to get on that 3600 bandwagon but TBH for my uses I don't think the 3600 makes any real world difference (no gaming, mostly content/lightroom/etc).

    If I ever score at 5900/5950 I'll revisit any maybe switch to some 2x32's.

  5. #5
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,214

    Hello, 4 DIMMs should not be an issue. If the instability is due to overclocking the infinity fabric clock, you'd need to dial that out. I'm running a 5950X with 4x8GB @ 3733 CL14.

    You can try adjusting VSOC both lower and higher. As these are signal rails less voltage can be just as beneficial as more, so test methodically. 0.900 - 1.15v.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array 78Staff PC Specs
    78Staff PC Specs
    MotherboardCrossHair VIII Hero WiFI 3601beta
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5950X
    Memory (part number)GSkill RipJaws 3200 C14 4x8
    Graphics Card #1PowerColor Radeon RX 5700XT
    MonitorViewSonic 38" VP3881
    Storage #1Sabrent Rocket 4 Plus 2TB/1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Evo 4Tb x3
    CPU CoolerArtic Freezer II 420
    CasePhanteks P600S
    Power SupplySeasonic PX-1000
    Keyboard Logitech G915
    Mouse Logitech G Pro Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro X Wireless
    Headset/Speakers Creative Pebble V2
    Network RouterRT-AC88U
    Accessory #1 Asustor AS5304T

    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Hello, 4 DIMMs should not be an issue. If the instability is due to overclocking the infinity fabric clock, you'd need to dial that out. I'm running a 5950X with 4x8GB @ 3733 CL14.

    You can try adjusting VSOC both lower and higher. As these are signal rails less voltage can be just as beneficial as more, so test methodically. 0.900 - 1.15v.
    No infinity fabric overclock, just strait up DCOP. My 4x8's run fine also, but they are single rank, while the 4x16's are dual rank. I've put the RipJaws 4x8 SR's back in and have been running latest bios at DCOP settings with no issue so far since yesterday. TBH, I don't noticed a downgrade in performance (other than less total memory of course) for my uses swapping from 3600 C16's down to 3200 C14's, in real world use at least. I'm going to stick with these, and if I ever get ahold of a 59xx I will revisit memory again.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Reputation
    55
    Posts
    60

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    No infinity fabric overclock, just strait up DCOP. My 4x8's run fine also, but they are single rank, while the 4x16's are dual rank. I've put the RipJaws 4x8 SR's back in and have been running latest bios at DCOP settings with no issue so far since yesterday. TBH, I don't noticed a downgrade in performance (other than less total memory of course) for my uses swapping from 3600 C16's down to 3200 C14's, in real world use at least. I'm going to stick with these, and if I ever get ahold of a 59xx I will revisit memory again.
    If you want to do one more try:
    - Use BIOS 3204, flash it with the BIOS Flashback as BIOS 3202 clearly states "This Beta BIOS can only be reversed by BIOS Flashback.".
    - After that, please try to disable "PSS support" in Advanced > CPU configuration. Let me know if the spontaneous reboots stopped.

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,214

    Quote Originally Posted by 78Staff View Post
    No infinity fabric overclock, just strait up DCOP. My 4x8's run fine also, but they are single rank, while the 4x16's are dual rank. I've put the RipJaws 4x8 SR's back in and have been running latest bios at DCOP settings with no issue so far since yesterday. TBH, I don't noticed a downgrade in performance (other than less total memory of course) for my uses swapping from 3600 C16's down to 3200 C14's, in real world use at least. I'm going to stick with these, and if I ever get ahold of a 59xx I will revisit memory again.
    Enabling DOCP will scale the FCLK automatically.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    82

    Quote Originally Posted by mdzcpa View Post
    Someone posted on the AMD user forums that increasing RAM voltage helped with random reboots with 3000 series CPUs on the new BIOS. He bumped from 1.35 to 1.4v. Worth a shot.
    Is this safe. Is this different to the SOC voltage? F4-3600C18Q-128GTZR is my ram and it says 1.35 V?

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,214

    Quote Originally Posted by primeshooter View Post
    Is this safe. Is this different to the SOC voltage? F4-3600C18Q-128GTZR is my ram and it says 1.35 V?

    You can play with values up until around 1.5v. Beyond this is poor tuning and unsuitable for daily use.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •