Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Strix g731gw, black horizontal lines at the bottom of the screen

    Case ID: E21010159035
    Hello and thank you for helping me.
    I have black horizontal lines at the bottom of the screen. The first time they appeared was after closing a certain game.
    They DO NOT appear in screenshots.
    They DO appear in safe mode.
    They DO appear in bios menu.
    They DO appear in clean boot.
    They DO NOT appear in other displays using hdmi
    However, this will get complicated a bit: Changing the refresh rate from 240hz to 60hz then back to 240hz clears the lines for the 240hz, but only if the 60hz had the lines. However it is not a true solution, because turning off the screen or putting the laptop to sleep, brings the lines back.
    Turning off the screen at 60hz removes the lines if they exist, or bring them back if they don't (kind of like a switch).
    The only weird solution I found is to switch from 240hz to 60hz, then turn off the screen if the lines aren't there, then once I have the lines back, switch back to 240hz, and that will clear them. I don't think it is hardware related due to this weird temporary fix.
    I did try a graphics driver clean install using "Display Driver Uninstaller", it didn't help.

    (everything bios, windows, apps, drivers are up to date)
    OS: Windows 10 64bit
    Bios: G731GW.308

    I am posting this here because the Asus support team replied that it is a hardware problem but seeing that it can be fixed (although temporarily) through turning off the screen and switching refresh rate, I think it is more of a software issue related to the display or refresh rate controller.

    Edit: Update: The previous solution works rarely now, however turning off the laptop while using 240hz and then turning it on again, clears the lines (must be a shut down then start up, cuz reboot didn't solve it)
    Video upload:
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos 143819623_244361673863902_3128124865100861184_n.jpg  

    143060271_408596587031943_134236770387385625_n.jpg  

    Last edited by plzletmein101; 03-11-2021 at 12:06 PM.

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    After asking them to reread my email again because it doesn't appear to be hardware related. They just replied yeah it is a bug, and do a factory reset....
    Please any help would be very welcomed

  3. #3
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    618

    Hello plzletmein101,
    Please PM me your SN.
    And may I have a video of the whole issue process? from you have line til you don't or the other way..
    Thank you so much.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Update: The previous solution works rarely now, however turning off the laptop while using 240hz and then turning it on again, clears the lines (must be a shut down then start up, cuz reboot didn't solve it)


    Quote Originally Posted by Blake@ROG View Post
    Hello plzletmein101,
    Please PM me your SN.
    And may I have a video of the whole issue process? from you have line til you don't or the other way..
    Thank you so much.


    I will send you the SN

  5. #5
    Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    618

    Hello plzletmein101,
    Thank you so much for the SN.
    After consulting, please kindly send the device to our service center to check for the panel and cable.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Hey Blake, thank you for your reply
    I currently live in Tunisia, can you tell me which service center can I go to?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •