Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Gskill ddr464gb 4 sticks 3600mhz and rog crosshair VIII formula problems

    Hi, I bought a package of G.SKILL F4-3600C16Q-64GTZNC 64GB 4x16GB DDR4 3600MHz Memory Module and my pc got instability issues sometimes with AMD Ryzen 9 5950x when I put the ram on 3600mhz, how can I fix this?, my motherboard is Asus Rog Crosshair VIII Formula, I bought this ram because they are on Asus QVL list

    Pc specs:
    Mainboard: Asus Rog Crosshair VIII Formula
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Ram: G.SKILL F4-3600C16Q-64GTZNC 64GB 4x16GB DDR4 3600MHz Memory Module
    Video card: MSI Ventus RTX 3090
    Water Cooling: Rog Ryujin 360
    Power supply: Seasonic 1300w platinum
    Case: Lian Li Razer

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array D_BRASCO PC Specs
    D_BRASCO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CH8DH
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Geforce 3090 FE
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK Custom loop
    CaseLian Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200I
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Elecom HUGE
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900P
    Accessory #1 Toshiba HDWG180 (5090A05KFBEG)
    Accessory #2 Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 (PKV331P1GN0EDY)

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    I had to raise my DRAM voltage to 1.36 from 1.35 to run 64G 4x16 and stabilize my Dark Hero. I'm on Bios 3204

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by D_BRASCO View Post
    I had to raise my DRAM voltage to 1.36 from 1.35 to run 64G 4x16 and stabilize my Dark Hero. I'm on Bios 3204
    Thanks, ill try that

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by D_BRASCO View Post
    I had to raise my DRAM voltage to 1.36 from 1.35 to run 64G 4x16 and stabilize my Dark Hero. I'm on Bios 3204
    Hey!, this fixed the problem so far, thanks!

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Quote Originally Posted by Darthpibe View Post
    Hey!, this fixed the problem so far, thanks!
    Hi @Darthpibe, what you mean by instability issues? Post issues? Instability in windows under hard workloads, gaming? I have the exact same memory model and the dark hero. In my case everything worked perfect under load with the XMP activated but with XMP when PC is on idle at night it freezes and the MB led is on DRAM(Yellow) with 00 code. The only solution is to use the power switch from the PSU in order to boot again.

    I've tried the to set the voltage to 1.36 and it seams that is working. What I've also found is that disabling the "Power Down mode" in BIOS DRAM Timings settings also make the PC stable on idle wit v1.35.

    For me this raises two questions. Is the motherboard faulty and unable to undervolt properly the RAM on idle? Do we just have bad binned memory?

    BTW, do you have AI Suite installed? My BIOS version is also 3204

    Thanks
    Last edited by suizman; 02-08-2021 at 02:36 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array D_BRASCO PC Specs
    D_BRASCO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CH8DH
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Geforce 3090 FE
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK Custom loop
    CaseLian Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200I
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Elecom HUGE
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900P
    Accessory #1 Toshiba HDWG180 (5090A05KFBEG)
    Accessory #2 Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 (PKV331P1GN0EDY)

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    The problem with my DH was in the Bios/HWINFO you could see the motherboard was already under volting the DRAM to like 1.34v with DOCP enabled. DOCP is supposed to be 1.35v at 3600mhz for my GSkill modules. After raising the voltage to 1.36v my DRAM voltage in Bios/HWINFO now reads 1.35-1.36v and stabilized the system from random crashes.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hmm, strange I was also looking voltages into HWInfo all this time and it always showed 1.352. And an hour ago somehow it registered 1.344. Even with 2s scraping rate.

    The thing is that once disabled manually the "Power Down mode" the system is no longer crashing. Btw when your system crashed can you seed the DRAM led with static yellow color and the q-code 00?? Mine seams it's resting the PC attempt to POST and then freezes with that code. But I cannot confirm it 100% becaouse as I told it only crashed at night on idle while I'm sleeping.. And I don't wanna turn on HWInfo logging because it will probably prevent the RAM undervolting because of the scraping.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •