Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    Maximus XII Extreme - "This file is not a proper bios" - Bios Rollback

    Hi everyone, currently on my maximus xii extreme I had the bios v.* 1003. I wanted to go back to the previous version 0901. I correctly formatted the usb key and renamed the file to .cap.* When I enter EZ-Flash and ask to read the file I get this error: "This File is not a proper bios." I can't go back!* I tried to download other earlier versions too (0804-0707 ... etc ..) ... nothing always has the same message!* Instead I tried to put the latest bios beta 2004 version and install it without problems!* I can't go back!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array geneo PC Specs
    geneo PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XII Hero
    Processori9-10900k 5.1Ghz AVX0 @ 1.28v core, delid
    Memory (part number)64 GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200/CL14 @ 3600 CL16
    Graphics Card #1Asus ROG Strix 2070 Super A8G
    MonitorEIZO Coloredge CG2730 and Viewsonic QHD displays
    Storage #1Samsung 512 GB 960 Pro
    Storage #21TB 850 x 1 TB 860 EVO RAID0, 6 TB WDC Black and 6TB IronWolf Pro HDD
    CPU CoolerEK-AIO 360 D-RGB
    CaseFractal Design Meshify 2 dark tint
    Power Supply750W Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium
    Keyboard CM Quickfire Rapid TKL
    Mouse Logitech G305
    Headset Bose QC15
    Headset/Speakers Vanatoo T1, Klipsch R-12SWi Sub, Bose QC-15
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterLinksys EA7300
    Accessory #1 Logitech c920e webcam
    geneo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    40
    Posts
    533

    Did you try bios flashback?

  3. #3
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,191

    Redownload the file from the support site and use USB Flashback after renaming the CAP to M12E.CAP

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone@ROG View Post
    Redownload the file from the support site and use USB Flashback after renaming the CAP to M12E.CAP
    Sorry EZ Flash not good? I have already downloaded the bios 20 times and renamed them in .cap but I can't install them ... and the message is always the same ... I also changed the usb stick ... only the latest beta has updated the bios! What else should I do ???

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    62

    Quote Originally Posted by geneo View Post
    Did you try bios flashback?
    What is Flashback bios? I always used EZ Flash from bios ... you can explain why I'm not very experienced ... thanks friend.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array pndiode PC Specs
    pndiode PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS G752VL-DH71
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Extreme
    ProcessorI7-7700K
    Memory (part number)G-Skill F4-3600C19Q-32GTZRB
    Graphics Card #1ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    Graphics Card #2ROG Matrix GTX 980TI -P-6GD5 Bitspower Water Block
    MonitorSAMSUNG S22D300HY (2 ea)
    Storage #1WD Black SN750 1TB
    Storage #2WD Blue 4TB (4 ea)
    CPU CoolerEK PE 360 (Top), PE 240 (Front), and Xres 100 Elite
    CaseROG Strix Helios
    Power SupplyThermalTake Toughpower 1200W
    Keyboard Cerberus
    Mouse Logitech MX Master S2
    Headset ROG Strix Fusion 300
    Mouse Pad Generic
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 3 Series II
    OS Win 10 Pro 20H2
    Network RouterGeneric
    Accessory #1 ROG Aura Terminal
    Accessory #2 ROG 10GB Express
    Accessory #3 Corsair ML140 (4 ea), Corsair ML120 (3 ea)

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    233

    What is Flashback bios?

    Page 2-19 in the User's Manual

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Snacko PC Specs
    Snacko PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Home Built
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel I9-10850k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC
    MonitorTriplescreen + Touchscreen
    Storage #12 x M.2 (1 TB / 2 TB) EVO Plus
    Storage #2WD 2TB 3D Blue SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    Power SupplyCorsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX
    OS Windows 10 Home x64

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    46

    Would clearing the CMOS help?
    Intel I9-10850k / Asus ROG Maximus XIII Hero / G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 64GB (4 x 16GB) DDR4 3200 / Thermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate CPU Cooler 360MM
    Gigabyte RTX 3080 Gaming OC / Corsair 850watt CMPSU-850TX / 2 x M.2 (1 TB / 2 TB) EVO Plus/ /2x SanDisk 250gb SSDs (Raid0 total 500gb) / WD 2TB 3D Blue SSD

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    346

    What do you mean you renamed the file to .cap? If you are using EZ Flash, that is already set on the actual file name.

    Why are you changing the Bios so much? I haven't had problems with any of them.. except 2004, which would not install when first released but was corrected later in the day.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I'm having the exact same problem with a Z490-E. Were you able to find a solution?

  10. #10
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,191

    Quote Originally Posted by theotorm View Post
    Sorry EZ Flash not good? I have already downloaded the bios 20 times and renamed them in .cap but I can't install them ... and the message is always the same ... I also changed the usb stick ... only the latest beta has updated the bios! What else should I do ???
    Renaming is only a function needed for USB Flashback, use this feature as suggested above if wanting to roll back.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •