Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    198

    W-3175X + Asus Dominus Extreme + Strix RTX3090 OC HyperThreading GPU usage issue

    Hello,

    I already opened a support ticket to NVIDIA but maybe over there might be another owners of this Dominus Extreme board on this forum?

    I have both i9-7980XE (18c/36t) and W-3175X (28c/56t). On 7980XE everything is fine with Asus Strix RTX3090 OC. But with W-3175X, the GPU usage goes as low as 63 % on 3DMark Time Spy resulting in only 13-14k overall score. The CPU test performance is as expected as well as Cinebench etc. However, there is a fix for low GPU usage on W-3175X, by disabling hyperthreading to make it a 28c/28t CPU, then CPU usage is pegging at 99-100% constantly and getting good scores, 19-20k. Another option is to disable at least 8 cores in BIOS, then performance is not as good as by disabling HT but if all cores and HT are enabled, the performance takes a huge nosedive. I have tried all the Windows performance plans and options in the Nvidia Control Panel and disabling G-Sync etc. Curious if the same issue is on AMD Threadripper CPUs as well like 3960X, 3970X or 3990X. Also the issue is present on 461.x and 457.x drivers.

    Also score of old Fire Strike is 27k HT on vs 33K HT off. Cyberpunk gets a nice boost in FPS also with HT disabled.

    HT on: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/17971572

    Is this NVIDIA or ASUS issue? Unfortunately I don't have an AMD GPU to test, but it would be nice to test as well to rule out the board..
    Main: Xeon W-3175X - Dominus Extreme - 48 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB + Intel 600P 1TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-7980XE - H150i Pro - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    301

    Even my Apex with a 7900X and it's 8 NVME drives has better overall performance with HT disabled.

    I studied the Dominus when it was released and discovered it's a monster Xenon crippled by the C621 workstation chipset and it's workarounds. The Dimm2 NVME drives share bandwidth with PCIE X16 2,3,and 4. Boo. Had they done a proper chipset to keep the NVME and PCIE lanes seperate I would have bought one.

    Then you go and put a PCIE 4 3090 in a PCIE 3 slot and cripple it from the start.
    Disable HT (which removes the HT overhead) and enjoy the monster.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    198

    Quote Originally Posted by G75rog View Post
    Even my Apex with a 7900X and it's 8 NVME drives has better overall performance with HT disabled.

    I studied the Dominus when it was released and discovered it's a monster Xenon crippled by the C621 workstation chipset and it's workarounds. The Dimm2 NVME drives share bandwidth with PCIE X16 2,3,and 4. Boo. Had they done a proper chipset to keep the NVME and PCIE lanes seperate I would have bought one.

    Then you go and put a PCIE 4 3090 in a PCIE 3 slot and cripple it from the start.
    Disable HT (which removes the HT overhead) and enjoy the monster.
    Thanks, but not using any DIMM.2 ports, currently using only the Strix 3090 in primary slot and Asus Hyper X16 card in third slot. 3090 is running in PCIe 3.0 so unlikely the issue is there, and like I wrote 2080TI worked fine. So that's why I am suspecting something fishy is going on with the new card or drivers.
    Main: Xeon W-3175X - Dominus Extreme - 48 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB + Intel 600P 1TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-7980XE - H150i Pro - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array xarot PC Specs
    xarot PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus GL504GM
    MotherboardAsus Rampage VI Extreme
    Processori9-7980XE
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum 64GB CL16-18-18
    Graphics Card #1Palit RTX2080TI
    Sound CardIntegrated
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 1.2 TB PCIe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO Full Nickel
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Primo
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Blackstorm Mech RGB
    Mouse Steelseries Rival 310
    Headset Sennheiser HD555
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Extended
    OS Windows 10 x64
    xarot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    44
    Posts
    198

    Oh, actually found something similar from AMD side. Maybe it indeed is the drivers or maybe it's just a 3DMark thing. Have to do further testing with Cyberpunk...

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/forum...960x.18903344/
    Main: Xeon W-3175X - Dominus Extreme - 48 GB Corsair Dominator Platinum DDR4-3200 - Palit RTX2080TI H2O - Phanteks Enthoo Primo - Corsair AX1500i - Samsung 960 PRO 1 TB + Intel 600P 1TB
    HTPC: i7-6950X - X99-M WS - 32 GB G.Skill RipjawsV DDR4-2400 - GTX1070 - Bitfenix Pandora - Corsair AX860 - Intel 750 400 GB + Samsung 1 TB 850 EVO
    All around: i7-7980XE - H150i Pro - Rampage VI Extreme - 64 GB G.Skill 4000 CL18-19-19-39 - Strix RTX2060 - In Win 101C - Samsung 960 EVO 512 GB

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    There are benchmarks / programs that do not work well with beyond a certian number of threads, it is possible that is the case. Also like the other user with 7900x mentioned the hyper threading on the skylake-x chips does seem to nosedive performance more than previous (like 6950x/5960x). I have it disabled on my 7980xe as the performance is much worse with it enabled.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •