Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Dark Hero + 3080 + 5950x = graphics crashes? I don't know what to check for!

    Dark Hero, 5950x, 128gb 3200 Corsair, ROG Strix 850W, TUF OC 3080

    I've been having this problem since first building this PC:

    Whilst gaming the game will randomly freeze & crash to desktop. Very occasionally I'll get the same thing outside a game whilst working - desktop freezes for a couple of seconds, the output to my second screen will go dead (can reactivate it by replugging HDMI), and then everything carries on as normal.

    For all these crashes I get the same report in Event Viewer: "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

    The same thing happens with a 3080 or a 3090 so I'm pretty sure it's not a graphics card issue.
    I've run a lot of memory tests so I'm also sure the ram is fine.
    I've also done a lot of CPU/ram torture tests and never had any errors.

    The one thing I've noticed is that a crash is more likely in a game that stresses the GPU: Cyberpunk is far more likely to crash than a 2d platformer, for example.

    Could this be a power issue? A motherboard issue? I don't really know what to test for anymore, so I was hoping someone here would have some ideas...

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array D_BRASCO PC Specs
    D_BRASCO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CH8DH
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Geforce 3090 FE
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK Custom loop
    CaseLian Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200I
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Elecom HUGE
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900P
    Accessory #1 Toshiba HDWG180 (5090A05KFBEG)
    Accessory #2 Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 (PKV331P1GN0EDY)

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    I have a similar system with a 3090FE, but my power supply is 1200 watts. I've not experienced any driver failures and I have been playing Cyberpunk 2077

    Have you tried to use the Hotfix driver?

    Nvidia GeForce Hotfix Driver 461.51

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Reputation
    11
    Posts
    32

    Have you tried a DDU, updated your GPU Bios?

    Whats your PSU?

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by D_BRASCO View Post
    I have a similar system with a 3090FE, but my power supply is 1200 watts. I've not experienced any driver failures and I have been playing Cyberpunk 2077

    Have you tried to use the Hotfix driver?

    Nvidia GeForce Hotfix Driver 461.51
    I was still on 461.41 so will try the hotfix and report back, thanks.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan69 View Post
    Have you tried a DDU, updated your GPU Bios?

    Whats your PSU?
    I DDU whenever I update the drivers. I thought I was on the latest Bios but I ran the bios update just to be sure. It said it updated but looking in the NVidia control panel it doesn't seem like the bios version has changed. We'll see what happens though!

    PSU is an 850W Asus Strix

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array D_BRASCO PC Specs
    D_BRASCO PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG CH8DH
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 5950x
    Memory (part number)64GB G.Skill F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Geforce 3090 FE
    Storage #1Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    Storage #2Seagate FireCuda 520 2TB PCIe Gen4
    CPU CoolerEK Custom loop
    CaseLian Li Dynamic 011 XL ROG
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1200I
    Keyboard Corsair K95
    Mouse Elecom HUGE
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z5500
    OS Windows 10 PRO
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC1900P
    Accessory #1 Toshiba HDWG180 (5090A05KFBEG)
    Accessory #2 Hitachi HDS724040ALE640 (PKV331P1GN0EDY)

    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hardware Unboxed just released a YouTube video referencing his own system using the ASUS ROG Stix 850 power supply shutting down if he uses the CPU heavily and plays a game. Maybe it's a power supply problem.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by D_BRASCO View Post
    Hardware Unboxed just released a YouTube video referencing his own system using the ASUS ROG Stix 850 power supply shutting down if he uses the CPU heavily and plays a game. Maybe it's a power supply problem.
    I've updated the vbios and drivers as suggested and still getting the same issue, so seems increasingly unlikely that it's a gpu problem and might be a psu issue as you're suggesting. I don't have another psu to swap out for testing, are there any diagnostic tools I can run to monitor the power output from the psu, or maybe monitor what's going on with the graphics card just before it craps out? I only have the one event in Event Viewer that corresponds with the error and it doesn't really give much to go on....

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    315

    Are you using a riser cable for the GPU ?
    -Desktop-
    Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero / AMD 5800x / 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RBG (CMT32GX4M4C3600C18) @ 3800 /2x Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 (Raid 0)/ 1x Samsung 860 Evo SSD / Corsair AX1200 PSU / ASUS Strix Helios Case / Corsair HydroX Custom Loop D5, CX7, XG7 420+280 Rad/ Asus Strix 3090 / Asus PG35VQ Ultrawide Monitor / Corsair Commander PRO 3x ql120, 4x ql140 fans / Edifier 1850DB Speakers + T5 Sub /
    Asus Theta 7.1 Headset

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Quote Originally Posted by HK-47 View Post
    Are you using a riser cable for the GPU ?
    Hi, I'm embarrassed that I had to look that up! But no I'm not using one.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array HK-47's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    315

    Have you tried to run the PCIE slot the GPU is in at GEN 3 instead of auto? I have to run like this because the riser cable I have installed or i get the same kind of issues as you. That why I asked about the riser cable. Im wondering if maybe your CPU has issues with GEN 4 even though you aren't using a riser cable. Anyways something to try.
    -Desktop-
    Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero / AMD 5800x / 32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum RBG (CMT32GX4M4C3600C18) @ 3800 /2x Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 (Raid 0)/ 1x Samsung 860 Evo SSD / Corsair AX1200 PSU / ASUS Strix Helios Case / Corsair HydroX Custom Loop D5, CX7, XG7 420+280 Rad/ Asus Strix 3090 / Asus PG35VQ Ultrawide Monitor / Corsair Commander PRO 3x ql120, 4x ql140 fans / Edifier 1850DB Speakers + T5 Sub /
    Asus Theta 7.1 Headset

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •