Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 61
  1. #51
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    36

    Remove any CPU and GPU overclock, and try undervolting your 3080 a bit - those cards can have large power spikes which may be the cause of your crash.
    I'd try another PSU too, perhaps a higher end 1000w gold+ or better for that build.

  2. #52
    ROG Enthusiast Array edplaysdrums PC Specs
    edplaysdrums PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5950x
    Memory (part number)CMK128GX4M4E3200C16
    Graphics Card #1TUF 3080 OC
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    Power SupplyROG STRIX 850W

    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    28

    Quote Originally Posted by criznittle View Post
    Remove any CPU and GPU overclock, and try undervolting your 3080 a bit - those cards can have large power spikes which may be the cause of your crash.
    I'd try another PSU too, perhaps a higher end 1000w gold+ or better for that build.
    Hi, thanks for your help. I did try switching off all CPU and GPU overclocks and got the same results. I haven't tried undervolting the GPU, could you recommend a sensible amount to undervolt by? I've never tried that before.

    I hear you about the PSU, but I'm on my second one now - a Corsair 850W Platinum+ which is well over the power requirements for the system. I don't really want to keep blowing money on increasingly larger PSUs when it's not guaranteed to help!

  3. #53
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by edplaysdrums View Post
    Dark Hero, 5950x, 128gb 3200 Corsair, ROG Strix 850W, TUF OC 3080

    I've been having this problem since first building this PC:

    Whilst gaming the game will randomly freeze & crash to desktop. Very occasionally I'll get the same thing outside a game whilst working - desktop freezes for a couple of seconds, the output to my second screen will go dead (can reactivate it by replugging HDMI), and then everything carries on as normal.

    For all these crashes I get the same report in Event Viewer: "Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

    The same thing happens with a 3080 or a 3090 so I'm pretty sure it's not a graphics card issue.
    I've run a lot of memory tests so I'm also sure the ram is fine.
    I've also done a lot of CPU/ram torture tests and never had any errors.

    The one thing I've noticed is that a crash is more likely in a game that stresses the GPU: Cyberpunk is far more likely to crash than a 2d platformer, for example.

    Could this be a power issue? A motherboard issue? I don't really know what to test for anymore, so I was hoping someone here would have some ideas...

    Thanks!

    Can we PLEASE get more info on this issue?

    I'm in a VERY similar boat, specs below:

    5950x/Dark Hero/3090ftw3/4x16gbddr4/1200W PSU

    I've RMA'd swapped out every component except the mobo and memory, about to try another motherboard but for the love of god, why is this happening with all top of the line components?! We've all spent close to $5k+ on builds for them to act up? AGESA/WHEA/BSODs??!

    I'm about to RMA the proc again but also try a different board but does anyone have any insights??

    Usually its an Event ID 41 (63) crash Kernel power and I will sometimes see the WHEA error but most of time it is just an abrupt /random restart. I could LITERALLY be doing NOTHING and it will restart!

  4. #54
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Quote Originally Posted by edplaysdrums View Post
    Hi, thanks for your help. I did try switching off all CPU and GPU overclocks and got the same results. I haven't tried undervolting the GPU, could you recommend a sensible amount to undervolt by? I've never tried that before.

    I hear you about the PSU, but I'm on my second one now - a Corsair 850W Platinum+ which is well over the power requirements for the system. I don't really want to keep blowing money on increasingly larger PSUs when it's not guaranteed to help!
    Yeah I bought a $400 1200W Asus THOR because I thought my HX1000i was giving out after a few years....same issues >_< although I do love the power wattage display on the THOR so may keep it lol

  5. #55
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array RedSector73 PC Specs
    RedSector73 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)FA506IU-AL130T x 2
    MotherboardROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO (WI-FI)
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12-Core Processor
    Memory (part number)4 x G.SKILL F4-3800C14D-16GTZN 14-16-16-36 Samsung B-Die
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Aorus RTX 2080 Ti Xtreme WaterForce (GV-N208TAORUSX W-11GC)
    Sound CardArctis DAC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG348Q
    Storage #1ADATA SX8200PNP 1TB
    Storage #22 x Samsung SSD 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCoolermaster Liquid Pro Master 360
    CaseEVGA DG-87 Gunmetal Grey Gaming Case
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G2 750W Gold Power
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
    Mouse Corsair Gaming Sabre RGB Gaming Mouse
    Headset ARCTIS Pro Wireless
    Mouse Pad Cooler Master MP750 RGB Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad Extra Large
    OS Windows 11 64bit Pro
    Network RouterPfSence Intel i5-10210U 6 Port
    Accessory #1 TP-Link Gigabit 8&6 Port Switches

    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Reputation
    65
    Posts
    1,235

    Quote Originally Posted by DarkPhantom View Post
    Usually its an Event ID 41 (63) crash Kernel power and I will sometimes see the WHEA error but most of time it is just an abrupt /random restart. I could LITERALLY be doing NOTHING and it will restart!
    What is on your CPU for cooling and any chance you overtightened it ? (maybe try 1/4 turn back off on the cooler screws and see if changes anything)

    Also, do you have EATX above the CPU on the left side of motherboard, both connected ?
    Last edited by RedSector73; 07-12-2021 at 11:54 PM.

  6. #56
    ROG Enthusiast Array dante`afk PC Specs
    dante`afk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero XI Z390
    Processor9900k @ 5.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB g.skill tridentZ RGB 4266
    Graphics Card #1FE 2080Ti 2160/8000 @ Bitspower block
    Sound Cardasus xonar dx 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB PCIe NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 512GB PCIe NVMe
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller IV, 2x Mo-Ra3 420, 8x NF A20
    CaseLian Li-O11
    Power Supplycorsair ax1200i
    Keyboard Masterkey Pro L
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
    Headset Beyerdynamics DT 990pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    Headset/Speakers klipsch promedia 2.1
    OS W10 x64pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U
    Accessory #1 PS4 Pro, Xbone S, KS8000 65" 4k SUHD
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive, S, maxnomic classic office
    Accessory #3 MBP 2018 Touch, Nikon D3100, OnePlus 6T

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by edplaysdrums View Post
    Dark Hero, 5950x, 128gb 3200 Corsair, ROG Strix 850W, TUF OC 3080

    I've been having this problem since first building this PC:
    Quote Originally Posted by DarkPhantom View Post
    Can we PLEASE get more info on this issue?
    Crazy that this thread is almost half a year old and this issue still exist

    @darkphantom
    @edplaysdrums

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...-of-RAM-issues

    I upgraded recently to 64GB of RAM and started to have similar issues. I tried all sort of things for days, uninstalling and reinstalling drivers, windows, different PCI-E slots, gen3/4 settings, with OC, without OC. All memtest/cpu tests came back fine without errors. However as soon as I'd load up anything 3D related I'd get a WHEA BSOD within a few seconds.

    Only solution was to remove the additional 32GB of RAM and stay with 32GB 2x16 sticks and it went away.

    Can you remove your RAM and just use 2 sticks and see how it goes? Would be interesting to see if you have the same outcome.

  7. #57
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Quote Originally Posted by edplaysdrums View Post
    Hi, thanks for your help. I did try switching off all CPU and GPU overclocks and got the same results. I haven't tried undervolting the GPU, could you recommend a sensible amount to undervolt by? I've never tried that before.

    I hear you about the PSU, but I'm on my second one now - a Corsair 850W Platinum+ which is well over the power requirements for the system. I don't really want to keep blowing money on increasingly larger PSUs when it's not guaranteed to help!
    Hello edplaysdrums, did you update to latest bios 3601 and update latest driver for VGA. I recommend to uninstall AMD chipset and install the 2.11.26.106 - https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._20210202R.zip
    Last edited by thomas_yiu@ROG; 07-22-2021 at 12:18 AM.
    Sincerely,
    TY

  8. #58
    ROG Enthusiast Array dante`afk PC Specs
    dante`afk PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Hero XI Z390
    Processor9900k @ 5.3Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB g.skill tridentZ RGB 4266
    Graphics Card #1FE 2080Ti 2160/8000 @ Bitspower block
    Sound Cardasus xonar dx 7.1
    MonitorASUS ROG PG279Q Gsync @ 165hz - 2x Qnix2710 @ 120hz
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB PCIe NVMe Samsung 960 EVO 512GB PCIe NVMe
    Storage #2SanDisk Ultra II 960GB - WD caviar black 3x 4tb
    CPU CoolerHeatkiller IV, 2x Mo-Ra3 420, 8x NF A20
    CaseLian Li-O11
    Power Supplycorsair ax1200i
    Keyboard Masterkey Pro L
    Mouse Roccat Kone Pure Optical
    Headset Beyerdynamics DT 990pro
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito
    Headset/Speakers klipsch promedia 2.1
    OS W10 x64pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N56U
    Accessory #1 PS4 Pro, Xbone S, KS8000 65" 4k SUHD
    Accessory #2 HTC Vive, S, maxnomic classic office
    Accessory #3 MBP 2018 Touch, Nikon D3100, OnePlus 6T

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    57

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas_yiu@ROG View Post
    Hello edplaysdrums, did you update to latest bios 3601 and update latest driver for VGA. I recommend to uninstall AMD chipset and install the 2.11.26.106 - https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/m..._20210202R.zip
    why install and old version of the chipset driver?

  9. #59
    Mastermind19 Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    119

    Our AMD chipset has all the drivers need for the board. We also qualify the AMD chipset driver that we have.
    Sincerely,
    TY

  10. #60
    ROG Member Array neikosr0x PC Specs
    neikosr0x PC Specs
    Motherboardx570 Crosshair Dark Hero
    ProcessorRyzen 5900x
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 4000cl18 @ 3600 cl16
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia RTX 3080
    MonitorSamsung G7
    Storage #1Samsung Evo 970 Plus
    Storage #2Western Digital SN850
    CPU CoolerCorsair H115i RGB
    CasePhanteks P500A
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Corsair K70
    Mouse Corsair
    Headset JBL quantum 800
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    May 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by transdogmifier View Post
    I'm inclined to believe that most of these issues would go away if people would just buy a better PSU...and not the 100 to 150 dollar special.
    I have a Corsair RM1000X Gold and also having the same issue... Tried with 2 different PSU and the same happens.

    Quote Originally Posted by thomas_yiu@ROG View Post
    Our AMD chipset has all the drivers need for the board. We also qualify the AMD chipset driver that we have.
    Emmm, Are you suggesting that the chipset drivers from Asus website are a better choice than the ones at the AMD's website?

    regards
    Last edited by neikosr0x; 07-23-2021 at 04:34 PM.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4 5 6 7 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •