Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Above 4G decoding for SAM causes crash on ROG Strix X570-E Gaming

    Hi all,

    My Mainbord "ROG Strix X570-E Gaming" doesn't accept to activate "Above 4G decoding". If I try turn it on, the MB will not boot anymore and stay dark. Only a CMOS reset helps to get back online.

    As this is the official way to turn SAM on, I am stuck. What ist the root cause?

    My GPU is a Asus TUF 6900xt. So I am on a complete ASUS setup.

    The CPU is a AMD 5800x.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    382

    Quote Originally Posted by yvesgeiser View Post
    Hi all,

    My Mainbord "ROG Strix X570-E Gaming" doesn't accept to activate "Above 4G decoding". If I try turn it on, the MB will not boot anymore and stay dark. Only a CMOS reset helps to get back online.

    As this is the official way to turn SAM on, I am stuck. What ist the root cause?

    My GPU is a Asus TUF 6900xt. So I am on a complete ASUS setup.

    The CPU is a AMD 5800x.
    CSM needs to be disabled for it to work
    R9 5900X - X570 Crosshair VIII Hero/WiFi(bios 3101) - 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB@3800 - Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black - EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA - NZXT H700 w. Chromax.black fans - Corsair RM850x - 1TB 970 Evo Plus

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    CSM needs to be disabled for it to work
    Can it be disabled with a running Windows 10 Installation or do I have to reinstall the OS again?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    382

    Quote Originally Posted by yvesgeiser View Post
    Can it be disabled with a running Windows 10 Installation or do I have to reinstall the OS again?
    Depends if you used GPT partition scheme or not, it only works with GPT
    R9 5900X - X570 Crosshair VIII Hero/WiFi(bios 3101) - 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB@3800 - Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black - EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA - NZXT H700 w. Chromax.black fans - Corsair RM850x - 1TB 970 Evo Plus

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hello,

    I turned off the CSM without any problems for Windows 10. But it was not solving my problem directly. I was forced to reset my BIOS to default as my saved profile was somehow still was not working. I restored all my settings manually and now it works. 4G encoding is now enabled.

    I don't have more performance yet, I have to check how to veriy if this is really active or not.

    I hope this thread will be helpful for others.

    Thank you @xeizo!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •