Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Above 4G decoding for SAM causes crash on ROG Strix X570-E Gaming

    Hi all,

    My Mainbord "ROG Strix X570-E Gaming" doesn't accept to activate "Above 4G decoding". If I try turn it on, the MB will not boot anymore and stay dark. Only a CMOS reset helps to get back online.

    As this is the official way to turn SAM on, I am stuck. What ist the root cause?

    My GPU is a Asus TUF 6900xt. So I am on a complete ASUS setup.

    The CPU is a AMD 5800x.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    385

    Quote Originally Posted by yvesgeiser View Post
    Hi all,

    My Mainbord "ROG Strix X570-E Gaming" doesn't accept to activate "Above 4G decoding". If I try turn it on, the MB will not boot anymore and stay dark. Only a CMOS reset helps to get back online.

    As this is the official way to turn SAM on, I am stuck. What ist the root cause?

    My GPU is a Asus TUF 6900xt. So I am on a complete ASUS setup.

    The CPU is a AMD 5800x.
    CSM needs to be disabled for it to work
    R9 5900X - X570 Crosshair VIII Hero/WiFi(bios 3101) - 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB@3800 - Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black - EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA - NZXT H700 w. Chromax.black fans - Corsair RM850x - 1TB 970 Evo Plus

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Quote Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
    CSM needs to be disabled for it to work
    Can it be disabled with a running Windows 10 Installation or do I have to reinstall the OS again?

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array xeizo PC Specs
    xeizo PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)HP i7-7500U 16GB 256GB NVMe
    MotherboardAsus Crosshair VII Hero
    ProcessorR9 5900X
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3800MHz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA
    Sound CardMotu M2
    MonitorAOC 1440p 27" S-PLS
    Storage #11TB Samsung 970 Plus NVMe
    Storage #2plenty
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
    CaseNZXT H700
    Power SupplyCorsair RM850x
    Keyboard Logitech G710+ MX Brown (50$ on sale)
    Mouse Steelseries Sensei RAW
    Headset Sennheiser HD600
    Mouse Pad Steelseries, hard
    Headset/Speakers Swissonic ASM5 active studio monitors (thomann.de)
    OS Windows10 Pro
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    385

    Quote Originally Posted by yvesgeiser View Post
    Can it be disabled with a running Windows 10 Installation or do I have to reinstall the OS again?
    Depends if you used GPT partition scheme or not, it only works with GPT
    R9 5900X - X570 Crosshair VIII Hero/WiFi(bios 3101) - 32GB G.Skill Trident Z RGB@3800 - Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black - EVGA RTX3070 FTW3 ULTRA - NZXT H700 w. Chromax.black fans - Corsair RM850x - 1TB 970 Evo Plus

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array yvesgeiser PC Specs
    yvesgeiser PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X299-XE
    ProcessorIntel i9 - 10980XE
    Memory (part number)G.Skill
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia 2080 ti
    CPU CoolerGamerstorm
    CaseGamerstorm
    OS Windows 10 Home

    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    9

    Hello,

    I turned off the CSM without any problems for Windows 10. But it was not solving my problem directly. I was forced to reset my BIOS to default as my saved profile was somehow still was not working. I restored all my settings manually and now it works. 4G encoding is now enabled.

    I don't have more performance yet, I have to check how to veriy if this is really active or not.

    I hope this thread will be helpful for others.

    Thank you @xeizo!

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    @yvesgeiser,thanks for the thread! I also have been trying to enable 4G encoding but gave up to no avail.
    Would you share your BIOS version? I am so pumped up knowing this is possible.

  7. #7
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ROG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    170
    Posts
    2,187

    Quote Originally Posted by yvesgeiser View Post
    Hello,

    I turned off the CSM without any problems for Windows 10. But it was not solving my problem directly. I was forced to reset my BIOS to default as my saved profile was somehow still was not working. I restored all my settings manually and now it works. 4G encoding is now enabled.

    I don't have more performance yet, I have to check how to veriy if this is really active or not.

    I hope this thread will be helpful for others.

    Thank you @xeizo!
    Hi,


    Depending on what UEFI revision you're coming from, profiles carried over from earlier AGESA revisions may not work depending on the applied settings. You can save the txt file from within the profile menu if unsure of what settings had been applied.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •