Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array BiggShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    2.5G Gaming Port Issue | Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000

    Hoping for some help / troubleshooting steps in regards to the 2.5G Gaming port on the back of the Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX-11000. *

    I just had my GT-AX11000 replaced under warranty, as LAN Port 4 was not working (no internet connection for devices connected to LAN Port 4). *Asus Support sent me a brand new (factory sealed) GT-AX11000. *Once I had the router configured (loaded most recent saved 'config' file), I decided to try the 2.5G Gaming Port. *I connected my Xbox Series X to the 2.5G Gaming Port on the back of the GT-AX11000 (using Cat7 Ethernet cable) and it connected and was working just fine. *After a few hours, I went back to my original configuration (Xbox Series X connected directly to modem). * *

    This morning, I decided to go back to using the 2.5G Gaming Port. *Now, I'm not able to get an internet connection with my Xbox Series X plugged in to the 2.5G Gaming Port on the back of the GT-AX11000. *I've made no changes to any of the settings (as far as I can remember) since it was working the first time I had a successful connection. *

    I sure hope the 2.5G Gaming Port hasn't failed! *Any suggestions or troubleshooting steps is much appreciated. *Thank You.*
    Last edited by BiggShooter; 03-07-2021 at 04:08 PM. Reason: Updated Information

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    431

    When you say you loaded a saved Configuration file, that sort of messes things up. How do you know that file was not incorrect or corrupted?

    Such things as the 2.5 port being set as the WAN port or using LAN 4 configured for Aggregation may be involved.

    Maybe reset the router to its default settings and set it up again with just basic settings and do some testing. Is the xBox the only system involved? You seem to be, by changing from router to modem, changing your WAN configuration and possibly leaving one system in an unknown state in that regard.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array BiggShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    When you say you loaded a saved Configuration file, that sort of messes things up. How do you know that file was not incorrect or corrupted?

    Such things as the 2.5 port being set as the WAN port or using LAN 4 configured for Aggregation may be involved.

    Maybe reset the router to its default settings and set it up again with just basic settings and do some testing. Is the xBox the only system involved? You seem to be, by changing from router to modem, changing your WAN configuration and possibly leaving one system in an unknown state in that regard.
    After a factory reset, I'm still not able to establish a connection using the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) on the GT-AX11000. Frustrating, to say the least. This was a brand new / factory sealed GT-AX11000 sent from ASUS less than a week ago. This will be my second RMA (previous was 02/19) for the same issue (unable to establish internet connection via LAN5 / 2.5G Gaming Port - last time is was LAN4). Unless anyone has any other suggestions, I'm going to contact ASUS for an RMA.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    431

    Have you connected the port to anything beside the xBox? If it worked once but would not when you tried later, could the xBox need to be reset..?

    Do you have a normal computer you could test? The xBox X seems to have a 1 Gb port.

    Do you see any lights on any of the ports which show transmission rates and connectivity? I don't think they even have lights but just checking..

    It is just such a coincidence, to me, that the two ports involved are used for the special configurations.

    Hope you get it worked out.. Let us know..

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array BiggShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    Have you connected the port to anything beside the xBox? If it worked once but would not when you tried later, could the xBox need to be reset..?

    Do you have a normal computer you could test? The xBox X seems to have a 1 Gb port.

    Do you see any lights on any of the ports which show transmission rates and connectivity? I don't think they even have lights but just checking..

    It is just such a coincidence, to me, that the two ports involved are used for the special configurations.

    Hope you get it worked out.. Let us know..
    Yes, I connected two other known working connections (LAN1 - PlayStation 5 | LAN2 - Gaming PC) and WAS NOT able to establish an internet connection using the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5). The LED is not illuminating (white) / blinking (white) for the 2.5GE port when a device is connected to the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5). The STATUS tab in Network Map also displays LAN5 as 'Unplugged' for any device plugged in to the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5).

    When I received the router from Asus on 02/28 and completed the set up / configuration, I was receiving an established connection when my Xbox Series X was plugged into the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5). I also confirmed the successful connection via the 2.5GE LED being illuminated (white) / blinking (white).

    The initial RMA (02/19) was for LAN4 not being able to establish a connection. This time, it the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) that I'm not able to establish a connection. Since I've performed just about all the troubleshooting steps I can think of, I am going to contact ASUS for another RMA. I'm guessing I'll receive another brand new / factory sealed Asus ROG Rapture GT-AX11000, and hopefully this will be the last of any issues.
    Last edited by BiggShooter; 03-08-2021 at 12:23 AM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array BiggShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    **UPDATE**

    I'm still seeing the same issue with the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) showing 'Unplugged' when checking the status. This is the SECOND, brand new / factory sealed ASUS ROG Rapture GT-AX11000 router I've receive from ASUS through the RMA process.

    ORIGINAL PURCHASE: 01/21/2020 - Amazon. LAN4 failed - No connection to internet when using LAN4

    RMA - 02/19/2021 - ASUS. 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) failed - No connection to internet when using 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) - Received brand new / factory sealed GT-AX11000 on 02/28/2021

    RMA - 03/07/2021 - ASUS. 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) failed. No connection to internet when using 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) - Received brand new / factory sealed GT-AX11000 on 03/17/2021

    After setting up / configuring the GT-AX11000 earlier this morning, I'm now not getting an internet connection to any wired device(s) plugged into the 2.5G Gaming Port. Needless to say, I'm beyond frustrated at this point. I contacted ASUS Tech Support and they are escalating the issue to another Tier of Tech Support.

    I'm wondering if the issue stems from five wired devices being connected to the back of the GT-AX11000, which causes the router to "fail" one of the LAN ports? Is anyone using all five LAN ports on the back of their GT-AX11000? This is the configuration I've been using when the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) fails and shows the STATUS as 'Unplugged' when checking Network Map | System Status | Status.

    LAN1 - PlayStation 5
    LAN2 - Alienware Aurora R7 Gaming PC
    LAN3 - Netgear 24-Port Gigabyte Ethernet Unmanaged Switch
    LAN4 - Netgear 24-Port Gigabyte Ethernet Unmanaged Switch 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) - Xbox Series X

    I appreciate any feedback / suggestions.
    Last edited by BiggShooter; 03-25-2021 at 06:01 AM. Reason: Spelling

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    The 2.5G ports on this router is super picky on what it will connect to. I have a motherboard x570 crosshair viii hero wifi with a 2.5G port and it will not connect to this routers 2.5G port on motherboard unless I change speed&duplex in windows manually away from auto negotiation and to 1gbps; alternatively I can telnet into the router and chose speed & duplex for that specific port to be 1gbps and that will work and you can leave windows to auto negotiate. It will not connect at 2.5G. This routers 2.5G chipset is actually rated for 10gbp I believe but isnt able to configure into that mode.

    That said 2.5G does work on both systems separately, but not together. In order to get 2.5G to work I was required to buy a 10gbps pcie network card for my computer which allowed it to work fine. It is likely a routers driver issues, Ive had this router GT-AX11000 RMAd once already at first had hardware revision 2 then got back revision 1, and frankly feel ripped off.

    This is the pcie network card I ordered that works for my situation. Asus XG-C100C 10G Network Adapter PCI-E x4 Card with Single RJ-45 Port https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B072N84DG6/...ing=UTF8&psc=1



    BTW I use CAT 8 Cables.
    Last edited by Synergeticzero1; 03-27-2021 at 05:05 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    431

    A problem I have with this thread is I don't have the capability for high speed data transfers to check the operation. On my system, I was able to get a 1.4 Gbps transfer from an AX Wi-Fi through the 2.5 Gbps router port to a 5 Gbps Ethernet port on my computer.

    The LAN 1 port is a gaming port and as such is given priority over the other ports. This may be manageable in the router interface but perhaps it is involved since you seem to have two gaming systems.

    Further confusion is introduced with the capability of Dual WAN configuration settings regarding use of the 2.5 and/or Lan 4 ports. I have no experience with unmanaged switches such as a 24 port version. Maybe the router just can't handle such a load.. Have you calculated what data transfer rates you are getting from each of those 24 ports?

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array BiggShooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2020
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    Quote Originally Posted by Saltgrass View Post
    A problem I have with this thread is I don't have the capability for high speed data transfers to check the operation. On my system, I was able to get a 1.4 Gbps transfer from an AX Wi-Fi through the 2.5 Gbps router port to a 5 Gbps Ethernet port on my computer.

    The LAN 1 port is a gaming port and as such is given priority over the other ports. This may be manageable in the router interface but perhaps it is involved since you seem to have two gaming systems.

    Further confusion is introduced with the capability of Dual WAN configuration settings regarding use of the 2.5 and/or Lan 4 ports. I have no experience with unmanaged switches such as a 24 port version. Maybe the router just can't handle such a load.. Have you calculated what data transfer rates you are getting from each of those 24 ports?
    I believe the 2.5G Gaming Port on the GT-AX11000 is LAN 5, and it does have priority over other ports. Just to reiterate, I worked upon the initial set up | router configuration w/o any issues. Now, it's failed and nothing I plug into the port will establish a connection to the internet. I'm using CAT7 cables. I've even tried to use the 2.5G Gaming Port as the WAN port, and it won't establish a connection.

    I do have a "open ticket" with ASUS tech support that has been escalated to the next tier tech support. Hopefully I can get some answers tomorrow (Monday). I contacted tech support on late Wednesday evening. I can't imagine I've been so lucky to receive two bad routers that arrived brand new / factory sealed. I do think there is an issue with the 2.5G Gaming Port (LAN5) when LAN1 - LAN4 are being utilized.

    I'm going to ask ASUS if they will send me the AXE-GT11000 to see if I can replicate the same issue as I've experienced with the last two GT-AX11000 routers I've received.
    Last edited by BiggShooter; 03-29-2021 at 01:08 AM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Saltgrass PC Specs
    Saltgrass PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus XIII Hero
    Processori9 11900K
    Graphics Card #1EVGA RTX 3090 FTW
    Sound CardOn Board
    MonitorDell AW3420DW
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro 2 TB
    Storage #2Samsung 860 Pro 1 TB
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212X
    CaseCooler Master
    Power SupplyAntec HCP Platinum 1000
    Keyboard ASUS Strix Flare
    Mouse ASUS Chakram
    Headset/Speakers Logitech wired 5.1
    OS Win 10 Pro
    Network RouterROG Rapture GT-AX11000/AXE11000
    Accessory #1 VR Headset
    Accessory #2 Saitek X52

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    431

    Because you asked, I put a device on all of the ports and the 2.5 Gbps continued to function. But I had no where near the load you seem to have on yours.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •