Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Z590 & Memory Support

    Hello all,

    I've just completed building a new system with the Maximus XIII Hero, and I'm having a problem with the memory. I'm using the same kit that worked with the Maximus X. It is 4 DIMMs of G.Skill F4-4133C19-8GTZR. It's not on the QVL list, but similar to G.Skill parts which are on the list. The issue is that the memory works when using 2 DIMMs in single channel, but when trying dual channel, the system fails to post with a code 55. That happens with both standard timings and XMP 1. I've tried all the currently available bios' with the same result. The CPU is a 10700K.

    Is there some solution to getting it to work, or will I need to buy a new kit of memory? Quite a bit of cost associated with that. Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Enthusiast Array EncodeGR PC Specs
    EncodeGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-11700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL17 Memory Kit - Black (HX436C17PB4AK4/32)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming X 8GB
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell Ultrasharp U2520D 25" QHD IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 Nvme PCIe 4.0, 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 Nvme PCIe 3.0, 1 TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12A
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X Glass - Black
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 850W Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL Lightspeed, Tactile
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V2
    Headset Sennheiser Game-Zero Headset
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Sheath XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A14 PWM (x6)
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Halos Lux
    Accessory #3 Phanteks Neon Digital-Rgb

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    55

    Hey there, do you have the latest bios flashed ?
    Try flashing or even re-flashing (0402) bios, and the do a cmos clear.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I've not had any success getting the memory to work in dual channel. It doesn't appear that the bios allows re-flashing 0402. Clearing CMOS doesn't help. I've tested each stick individually and they work fine, both standard timings and XMP 1. It works with 2 DIMMS in single channel. It's really quite baffling.

    I could buy a new kit from the QVL list, but if there is a flaw in the motherboard, it would be wasted money. The memory should work in dual channel. I have no idea what to do now.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    124


  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array EncodeGR PC Specs
    EncodeGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-11700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL17 Memory Kit - Black (HX436C17PB4AK4/32)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming X 8GB
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell Ultrasharp U2520D 25" QHD IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 Nvme PCIe 4.0, 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 Nvme PCIe 3.0, 1 TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12A
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X Glass - Black
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 850W Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL Lightspeed, Tactile
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V2
    Headset Sennheiser Game-Zero Headset
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Sheath XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A14 PWM (x6)
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Halos Lux
    Accessory #3 Phanteks Neon Digital-Rgb

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Lotzi View Post
    Is this another Beta Bios (0610) for Maximus XIII Hero ?

    I wouldn't recommend flashing anything that is not officially confirmed by ASUS. I mean i don't know, could be just fine. It's just... Last time i tried to upgrade from Bios (0402) and flash the Beta Bios (0603) it completely broke my computer, couldn't even post and had to do a roll back to 0402 with Flashback.
    Last edited by EncodeGR; 03-18-2021 at 12:26 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    124

    The Bios 0610 runs much smoother then other ones

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array EncodeGR PC Specs
    EncodeGR PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-11700K
    Memory (part number)Kingston HyperX Predator RGB 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL17 Memory Kit - Black (HX436C17PB4AK4/32)
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1070Ti Gaming X 8GB
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    MonitorDell Ultrasharp U2520D 25" QHD IPS
    Storage #1Samsung 980 Pro M.2 Nvme PCIe 4.0, 500 GB
    Storage #2Samsung 970 Evo Plus M.2 Nvme PCIe 3.0, 1 TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12A
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Evolv X Glass - Black
    Power SupplyAsus ROG Thor 850W Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech G915 TKL Lightspeed, Tactile
    Mouse Razer Basilisk V2
    Headset Sennheiser Game-Zero Headset
    Mouse Pad Asus ROG Sheath XL
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z333 2.1 Speakers
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
    Accessory #1 Noctua NF-A14 PWM (x6)
    Accessory #2 Phanteks Halos Lux
    Accessory #3 Phanteks Neon Digital-Rgb

    Join Date
    Feb 2021
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    55

    Quote Originally Posted by Lotzi View Post
    The Bios 0610 runs much smoother then other ones
    alright i'll give it a try, thanks !

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    784

    it sounds like pin connection issue, reseat the cpu in the socket

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array Legolas PC Specs
    Legolas PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus X Hero Wifi AC
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 8600k oc 5Ghz
    Memory (part number)Samsung DDR4 16GB
    Graphics Card #1ASUS NVIDIA GTX 1080
    MonitorASUS MS246
    Storage #1Samsung MZVPV256
    Storage #2Samsung MZVPV256
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110I v2
    Power SupplyPC 1200W Turbo-Cool 1200
    Keyboard ASUS SK2045

    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    293

    Hello Micas, I like to provide some tips.
    The IMC memory controller on CPU is running at 2933Mhz with CPU so you are actually overclocking when it runs above 2933Mhz.

    First of all, DId you buy the F4-4133C19-8GTZR as a dual channel kit or single memory module? Usually the F4-4133C19-8GTZR comes in 2 which is F4-4133C19D-16GTZR
    For dual channel, please install A2 and B2. If it doesn't work, please try these steps:
    1) run at 2133Mhz with A2 and B2 and see if it works
    2) If it works, please try XMP
    3) If XMP profile doens't work alone, please keep XMP enable but manually lower the DRAM frequency until it boots properly and no qcode 55
    4) If you want to go higher than step 3, for 4133Mhz or higher ,it requires increasing CPU VCSSA voltage to give the processor it needs to boot propery and be stable. If you want to keep the step 3 DRAM frequency if you want less stress on the memory
    Sincerely,
    Legolas

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Reputation
    21
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Lotzi View Post
    I've flashed this BIOS and the MB runs great. It updates a lot of stuff inside the MB. Can i ask how did you find this updated version of BIOS ?
    It doesnt appear in the official support pages of the ASUS website.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •