Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Zenith Extreme continues to get code 68 (Check CPU)

    Hello Gamers!,

    Well things have not been going well. At this point I have gone through 2 boards and 2 CPUs with the same exact issue. Every time I try to boot the board I get a post code 68 check CPU. This is with 2 different types of memory, as well as only using one stick and moving it around to different slots. I have reseated the CPU multiple times and like I stated at the beginning of this rant this has been seen with 2 full sets of hardware. I have kept every other peripheral disconnected to keep my variables down. No SATA, no NVMe, no GFX card attached. Completely just the board, the CPU, and the PSU. Can anyone please help me understand what is going wrong? Below are the parts connected for this testing:

    Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 DRAM 2133MHz (PC4 17000) C13 Memory Kit.
    PSU: CORSAIR HX1000 Series CP-9020139-NA 1000W ATX12V v2.4 / EPS12V 2.92 80 PLUS PLATINUM Certified Full Modular Power Supply
    Mother Board: ROG Zenith Extreme Socket TR4, AMD X399
    CPU: AMD Threadripper 1900X 8 cores 16 threads

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    Hey ryan_crane

    tech is rubbish when it doesn't function right?

    Not sure what to think there if that's two sets of hardware I'd start to suspect the CPU power supply? You got another PSU about you can test?

    I presume you have both 8pin ATX connectors fully populated with correct PSU-CPU cables?
    Last edited by Arne Saknussemm; 02-22-2018 at 05:29 PM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    I don't have another PSU and its been impassible to get one in town with all the crypto mining. Ive been at work all day, but ill mess around with the power connectors to both the board and the modular PSU to make sure its all hooked up right. Do you think it could be from the 12v connector? Thats the only part I have a cable extension attached. Thank you for the advice! Ill update with my findings.

    -Ryan

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    505
    Posts
    13,689

    I'm not sure that PSU comes with dual connectors for the ATX 8pin connectors on the board...AFAIK they should both be powered...

    And sure...check without the extension for troubleshooting

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array gupsterg PC Specs
    gupsterg PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VII Ranger
    Processori5 4690K
    Memory (part number)HyperX Savage 2400MHz 16GB
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire R9 Fury X (1145/545 Custom ROM)
    MonitorAsus MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Evo 250GB
    Storage #2HGST 2TB
    CPU CoolerThermalRight Archon SB-E X2
    CaseSilverstone Temjin 06
    Power SupplyCooler Master V850
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud
    OS Win 7 Pro x64 / Win 10 Pro x64
    gupsterg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    103
    Posts
    1,017

    Corsair HX 1000 has 2x 8 pin CPU plugs. Real strange that 2 differing mobos/CPU/RAM do the same .

    So gotta be a common dominator, which seems like PSU, as Arne states to try another. Unless something being done wrong by installer (no disrespect to you OP ).
    Intel Defector AMD Rebel

    TR 1950X - Custom WC - Asus Zenith Extreme Alpha - G.Skill Trident Z 3400MHz C14 QC - RX VEGA 64
    R5 3600 - Custom WC - Asus Crosshair VII Hero Wifi - G.Skill Ripjaws V 3800MHz C16 - Sapphire HD 5850 Toxic

    24/7 OC: i5 4690K @ 4.9GHz CPU@1.255v 4.4GHz Cache@1.10v - Archon SB-E X2 - Asus Maximus VII Ranger
    Sapphire Fury X (1145/545 ~17.7K GS 3DM FS)

  6. #6
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Hi All,

    I have an ASUS Zenith II Extreme Alpha with a threadripper 3970x. Running fine for 6 months on mild oc. Added new (Gen 3) PCI card with PCIE M.2 ssd AND decided to fine tune my overclock by changing Sense MI sqew in BIOS.

    Increased fabric clock to up memory speed and oc failed.... reboot into code 68 (check cpu) loop!!! Everything here says its screen of doom with RMI required.

    ASUS owners manual says code 68 is 'PCI host bridge initialization' error. So I took out the new PCI card and all mem except one stick. Finally rebooted into BIOS... where I wound back my oc and re-adjusted Sense MI sqew. Until I hit the right combo, I still had a few code 68 epidoses while putting mem sticks back in...

    Eventually learned after a code 68 I had to wait about an hour before I could boot into BIOS again. Maybe heat related too?

    So, I am back to 128GB mem with a 'mild' oc (4.2GHz all cores with single core boost up to 4.55ish, CPU core voltage capped at 1.375(SVI2 TRN in HWInfo) with - offset manual voltage). Seems to be running great!!

    There is hope if you have code 68. Remove PCI devices and wind back any PCI related oc.

    Good Luck

    GD

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •