Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Morbeious PC Specs
    Morbeious PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI WT72 6QN
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorI7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 OC
    Sound CardRealTek
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms
    Storage #1NVMe Samsung SSD 950 - M2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseIN WIN 303
    Power SupplyTermalTake 750 Gold
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse Razer Naga
    Headset Asus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Morbeious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    New Build, need Help system stability

    Hi Gang,

    New system build, I've taking pictures of my setting with CPU-z and provided a link below. The system seems to freeze sometime; I used the CPU Step Up in AI suit which got me to 3369mhz, but when I try to go higher my system crashes and the bios craps out. Can anyone tell me what I may have done wrong. I thought it would be easy to do these simple overclocks with AI Suit II. Everything in my bios is at the default expect for when I use AI Suit to overclock.






    My systen components are listed in my sig..

    Plz Help ..

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array martin_metal_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    777

    Your link dosent work, use photobucket or just upload the picture in a new post using this :
    http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showth...S-WHEN-POSTING!

    Also for you issue, did you left all the setting in the bios on auto? If yes that could be the issue.
    Send us back a working pic of CPU-z and add all your system spec with the more detail you can.
    Martin_metal_88


    Colenzo :Coolermaster ATCS 840 | Gigabyte's EP55-UD5 | Intel Core I7 860 @ 3.8Ghz | 4GB G.skill Trident 1600 | MSI GTX460 1GB HAWK Twin frozr | WD 640 black + WD 1TB green + WD 1TB Blue | Pionner DVR-216 | Silverstone Strider Plus 850W | Coolermaster Hyper 212 plus in push pull fan config |

    Ask for more!

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Morbeious PC Specs
    Morbeious PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI WT72 6QN
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorI7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 OC
    Sound CardRealTek
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms
    Storage #1NVMe Samsung SSD 950 - M2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseIN WIN 303
    Power SupplyTermalTake 750 Gold
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse Razer Naga
    Headset Asus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Morbeious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Ok, I got them working now.. Hmm, all settings are on Auto, so i need to make them fix? if I do that will the AI Suit still work for O/C?

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
    Your link dosent work, use photobucket or just upload the picture in a new post using this :
    http://www.asusrog.com/forums/showth...S-WHEN-POSTING!

    Also for you issue, did you left all the setting in the bios on auto? If yes that could be the issue.
    Send us back a working pic of CPU-z and add all your system spec with the more detail you can.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array martin_metal_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    777

    It's better to do it manually in the bios. Auto setting can go up and down so sometime it can be unstable. Also some time it go to far so it can damage your hardware.
    Martin_metal_88


    Colenzo :Coolermaster ATCS 840 | Gigabyte's EP55-UD5 | Intel Core I7 860 @ 3.8Ghz | 4GB G.skill Trident 1600 | MSI GTX460 1GB HAWK Twin frozr | WD 640 black + WD 1TB green + WD 1TB Blue | Pionner DVR-216 | Silverstone Strider Plus 850W | Coolermaster Hyper 212 plus in push pull fan config |

    Ask for more!

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Morbeious PC Specs
    Morbeious PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI WT72 6QN
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorI7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 OC
    Sound CardRealTek
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms
    Storage #1NVMe Samsung SSD 950 - M2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseIN WIN 303
    Power SupplyTermalTake 750 Gold
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse Razer Naga
    Headset Asus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Morbeious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
    It's better to do it manually in the bios. Auto setting can go up and down so sometime it can be unstable. Also some time it go to far so it can damage your hardware.
    Got you point, thanks. I got it over clock to 3712mhz and it seems to be stable, did it in the bios.. I also stepped up my memory to 2000mhz, the only real interesting change I see now is my video card is no longer at 51c it went up to 71c right after boot.. not sure why its running hotter.. I didn't overclock it.. because its oc'ed out of the box.

  6. #6
    TeamROG Moderator Array xeromist PC Specs
    xeromist PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Dell Inspiron 15 7567
    MotherboardMSI x470 Gaming Plus
    ProcessorAMD 2600X
    Memory (part number)16GB Crucial Ballistix Elite 3600
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX 1080 Strix
    MonitorBenQ BL3200PT
    Storage #1Intel 600p NVMe
    CPU CoolerWraith
    Casecustom Antec 900
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000
    Keyboard Logitech Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech MX500
    Headset Plantronics 777 with Oregon Aero upgrade
    xeromist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Reputation
    309
    Posts
    7,670

    Make a note of your settings and revert the BIOS to default; does your gpu temp drop back down? Not that this is an issue, that temp is well within acceptable limits. I'd be more worried about what the load temp is.
    * Support disease research with Folding@Home *

    < < < Click the drop-down above my avatar for my PC specs!

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Morbeious PC Specs
    Morbeious PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI WT72 6QN
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorI7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 OC
    Sound CardRealTek
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms
    Storage #1NVMe Samsung SSD 950 - M2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseIN WIN 303
    Power SupplyTermalTake 750 Gold
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse Razer Naga
    Headset Asus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Morbeious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by xeromist View Post
    Make a note of your settings and revert the BIOS to default; does your gpu temp drop back down? Not that this is an issue, that temp is well within acceptable limits. I'd be more worried about what the load temp is.
    Ok, after going back to defaults it went back to its normal 52c.. interesting.. I will be getting new video cards this weekend.. so its not that big of an issue. I hope

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array martin_metal_88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    777

    When you Oc'ed in bios did you touche the PCI setting? If yesthis can be the issue. Anyway, I wouldn't be surprise to find out that your videoc ard sensor are going crzy with CPU OC. 8800 is getting old so some hardware incompatibility can come reality. Anyway, give us some update with the new GPU
    Martin_metal_88


    Colenzo :Coolermaster ATCS 840 | Gigabyte's EP55-UD5 | Intel Core I7 860 @ 3.8Ghz | 4GB G.skill Trident 1600 | MSI GTX460 1GB HAWK Twin frozr | WD 640 black + WD 1TB green + WD 1TB Blue | Pionner DVR-216 | Silverstone Strider Plus 850W | Coolermaster Hyper 212 plus in push pull fan config |

    Ask for more!

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Morbeious PC Specs
    Morbeious PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)MSI WT72 6QN
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Formula
    ProcessorI7-6700
    Memory (part number)Corsair DDR4-3200 4x8
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 OC
    Sound CardRealTek
    MonitorASUS MG28UQ Black 28" 4K UHD 1ms
    Storage #1NVMe Samsung SSD 950 - M2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i V2
    CaseIN WIN 303
    Power SupplyTermalTake 750 Gold
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse Razer Naga
    Headset Asus
    OS Windows 10
    Network RouterAsus
    Morbeious's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    16

    Quote Originally Posted by martin_metal_88 View Post
    When you Oc'ed in bios did you touche the PCI setting? If yesthis can be the issue. Anyway, I wouldn't be surprise to find out that your videoc ard sensor are going crzy with CPU OC. 8800 is getting old so some hardware incompatibility can come reality. Anyway, give us some update with the new GPU
    I didn't touch anything with a PCI setting, I think its just in incompatibility issue.. Maybe the MB overs clocks the PCI bus when over clocking the CPU with the Auto over clocking setting in the bios, I believe thats more or less the case. either way I should be getting a new GPU on Friday... YeepEEE

  10. #10
    Scott Allen Cassell
    Guest
    the only thing that seems to have gone wrong here is that it overclocked to much you should use asus overclocking built in technoligy before i would use one from any one else. thats it it has over clocked a bit to much thats all

Similar Threads

  1. Partial system freezing (input still responsive)
    By John25 in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-29-2012, 03:06 AM
  2. System will not shut down without holding power button
    By Tony Kilburn in forum ROG Gaming Notebooks
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-19-2011, 05:31 PM
  3. Help tweaking my system
    By gcwebbyuk in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-24-2010, 06:11 AM
  4. new pc build
    By martyh in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 05:06 PM
  5. 222+ BCLK stability
    By Neuromancer in forum Other Series Motherboards
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-09-2010, 10:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •